$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

4 stars
View map of 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
48 reviews
Awesome Getaway

Hotel staff was very friendly. Clean. The tub in the bathroom was amazingly huge. Definitely will... See full review

  • Krystal J.
  • Feb 9, 2015
awesome couple trip

Hotel was very clean but the room had some stains. Staff was very friendly and seemed to be genuine... See full review

  • Alvis P.
  • Jul 29, 2015

Harrah's New Orleans Casino & Hotel is the height of decadence. Enjoy views of the Mississippi River from the luxury rooms or grab a culture break with a walk to the French Quarter. Take a shopping trip in nearby Canal Street or just relax with a cocktail and a meal at one of the hotels nine bar-restaurants. Winner of the AAA Four Diamond Award, Harrah's New Orleans Casino & Hotel is the place to go for elegant rooms, star treatment, and fantastic nightlife. Highlights also include the fitness facilities, 24-hour dining, and room service.

Rooms
The oversized rooms at Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel make everyone feel like royalty. Gold hangings and fixtures greet guests and deep red bedspreads complete with silk sheets add to the theme of luxury. Choose between a luxury or premium room featuring a deluxe king bed or two queens both complete with Simmons Beautyrest pillow-top mattress. Sink back into the bathtub or take a shower in the elegant bathrooms and make use of the Gilchrist and Soames bath products. Accessible rooms and facilities are available for disabled guests.
Highlights
 
  • Winner of the AAA Four Diamond Award

  • Situated only a short walk away from some of the city's main attractions

  • Lively nightlife and entertainment including gaming and live music

Nearby attractions
 
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (377 ft./0.12 km)

  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.1 mi/0.22 km)

  • French Quarter (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

  • Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)


Policies

Resort fee is $14.99 plus tax/room per night collected upon check out.  Fee includes use of basic Wi-Fi for two devices per room/day; unlimited local calls; and access to the fitness center for two registered guests per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel Rooms

Luxury
One King or Two Queens. When you cross the threshold of your surprisingly spacious Harrah's luxury room, you'll want to take a moment to savor the elegant appointments and original artwork. But your strongest urge will probably be to sink into the exclusive-to-Harrah's, pillow-top Simmons Beautyrest mattress. It might have something to do with the fact that it's 5 am and you've been up all night. But we really think it's the mattress.
New Orleans Suite
Our beautiful junior suites are located in the corner of each guest floor and offers our guest a scenic view of either the French Quarter, Warehouse District or the always mighty, Mississippi River. The themes of these suites encompass the essence of New Orleans charm with their beautiful and classic colors and decor.
Premium
Luxurious Premium Room! Your eyes are drawn to the magnificent view of the sun rising over the Crescent City and making the Mississippi sparkle. Slip into a spa-style waffle weave robe, and sink into the exclusive-to-Harrah's pillow-top Simmons Beautyrest mattress. Amenities include Electronic safe, Mini refrigerator, Lightweight waffle robes, Cable/pay-per-view movies, High-speed wireless internet access, $10.95 per day, On-command internet access through television, Simmons Beautyrest pillow-top mattress, Centium satin sheets, Separate bathtub and shower stall, Premium bath amenities by Gilchrist & Soames, Iron/ironing board, Coffee maker, and Telephone equipped with data port and voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Dining

Bambu
Bambu serves Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Vietnamese classics, as well as Chef Toy's own Asian-fusion creations, serving classics such as Cantonese Barbecued Duck, Honey Wasabi Shrimp, and Pecan battered deep-fried shrimp. Bambu is located near the Canal Street entrance of the casino. It has an upscale yet casual feel, with dcor inspired by the city of Shanghai. Symbols of good luck, including fish sculptures, bamboo and water, are featured prominently along with a unique collection of backlit Asian ceramics.
The Besh Steakhouse
With 150 seats set amidst blue water-like crystal puddles and a dazzling amber bar, The Besh Steakhouse at Harrah's is not your traditional steakhouse. Complete with George Rodrigue's Blue Dog artwork and an open brushed-silver kitchen, gourmets and food critics alike will be swept away with the sleek and contemporary aura of the newest addition to dining grandeur at Harrah's New Orleans. The restaurant is a combination of Chef Besh's own ideas with traditional steakhouse menu items along with New Orleans influences mixed together. Wine is also considered an integral part of the restaurant with hand-selected cellar choices to accompany whichever menu items you choose to indulge yourself.
Lucky Dogs
Hot dog lovers can now find a longtime favorite and celebrated tradition - the famous Lucky Dog - at Harrah's New Orleans. Look for the unique Lucky Dog hot dog wagon inside the casino near the poker room and stop by for a quick bite.
Riche
Serving signature French cuisine within a warm, intimate setting illuminated by a lively open grill area and oyster bar. The tantalizing menu features flavors of garlic, mushroom, and aged cheeses which enhance luxurious cuts of meat and fish, braised, baked and poached to an authentic French taste. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.
528 Music Club
528 on Fulton Street is a music enthusiast's dream! This cozy club perfectly blends classic New Orleans with modern luxury. Savor Italian hors d'oeuvres and sample superb wines while you enjoy exceptional live entertainment. (Live entertainment weekly, Wednesday-Saturday. Open nightly.)
Gordon Biersch Brewer Restaurant
There's a new brewery right across the street from Harrah's New Orleans, and people are flocking there like crazy! Gordon Biersch has great food featuring American cuisine influenced by bold international flavors. It also offers fresh beer specializing in authentically brewed German lagers. Plus, Biersch offers outside dining. A restaurant sure to turn every hour into a happy one - you won't want to miss it. Ope for lunch & dinner daily.
The Buffet at Harrah's
From the Pacific rim to Creole and French fare, The Buffet at Harrah's is complete with something scrumptious for everyone. Our staff provide you with upscale culinary treats featuring indigenous traditional fare including award-winning Creole gumbo, Kolby steamship round, smoked salmon, Tur-duck-Hen, various smoked sausages and jumbo shrimp cocktail, just to name a few. Dine with convenience and comfort in our 400-seat seven-station buffet complete with all your favorites. And don't forget the famous "Sweet Treats" dessert bar! With over 40 different items to choose from, you may have a tough time deciding. Come into Harrah's to try it all. Open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night.
Grand Isle
Grand Isle Restaurant - From the Coast to the Crescent City! There are two things most Louisianians hold dear to their hearts: their local heritage and great food, particularly fresh seafood. Enjoy both at local chef and caterer Joel Dondis' premiere Grand Isle concept Restaurant. The menu ranges from regional specialties to Dondis' favorite recipes. Oysters on the half shell and shrimp by the pound promise to bring the coast to Fulton Street.
Fuddrucker's
Home of the "World's Greatest Hamburger", which you dress to your liking, using our signature dressing bar. Also serving a variety of other delicious sandwiches, soups, salads and real ice cream shakes.
McAlister's Select
Provides the most delicious deli sandwiches, salads, spuds, desserts and of course, McAlister's Famous Sweet Tea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alvis P.
Business
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

awesome couple trip

Hotel was very clean but the room had some stains. Staff was very friendly and seemed to be genuine with their service. Only real negative was casino staff. More then one employee seemed irritated with helping not to mention to be at work in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krystal J.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Awesome Getaway

Hotel staff was very friendly. Clean. The tub in the bathroom was amazingly huge. Definitely will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WAIS A.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

not worth the value

The hotel we located appropriately from a convenice standpoint but the service was lousy. I upgraded to a suite but there was no TV service and had to move to another room. Also ordered room service but they were out of the two items I wanted to order. Never had such experiences in hotels before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WHY SHUD I HAF 2
Business
Harrah's New Orleans
Aug 24, 2014

Harrah's NO is CHINTZY!

Everywhere about this hotel speaks MONEY($$$$) COMING IN TO Harrah's but nothing going out for CUSTOMER COMFORT! Where is the fresh fruit or lollipos(candy) in th lobby? Why are sheets not changed daily or at least every other day? The shower was draining ever so slowly until I was standing in 6 inch water before I was finished showering! I called room service and attendant came and FIXED the problem. Next day same problem so I just decided to spend the rest of my showers standing in 6 inch water not draining properly. This operation makes TOO MUCH CASINO $$$$ to run an operation this CHINTZY A FASHION!!! Bobby Jones

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelerjudy
Business
Lubbock,Texas
Jun 29, 2014

Anniversary trip

Liked the hotel although carpet was worn. The sink drain needed to be cleaned out badly. The casino was so tight it was impossible to win even a little. The rooms were spacious and the staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LongVin
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Apr 9, 2014

Excellent hotel - average casino

As Hotel's go it was pretty good and roomy. My only complaints were that the casino staff was unattentive and I never received a drink I ordered and the dealers had no way of requesting drink service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EdgarB2013
Business
San Antonio
Mar 26, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

If I could place no stars I would; however, I gave them the lowest rating. First, the staff members at the hotel stole $2,500 from the safe in my suite. Even though a maintenance guy entered my room for no reason, they would not reimburse me. Then, some one placed my account on collections, and no one knows why. I affected my credit and I had to pay a collection agency. Then, I called them to find out and they played dumb. So in essence, they stole from me twice. I am a Seven Star Members and I will NEVER stay at this dump again. DO NOT STAY IN THIS PLACE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

They will still your money at this place!!!

Review of Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mona T
Business
Stockton ca
Dec 28, 2013

Vacation

Overall, the room was very good. Twice we had to request face cloths . I requested wi-fi the first day but the staff did not explain about the code written on the card that holds the key so therefore I was not able to get access until I finally asked about it on the third day. It would have helped if if the check in people would have explained this. I did receive access on the third day when I inquired about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manka M.
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 30, 2013

Our stay in New Oreleans

The hotel let us check in early (before designated check in time) at no extra cost. Very nice rooms and comfy beds. Our room didn't have a very good view but we weren't facing the river. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harrah's New Orleans Casino and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB in NYC
Business
New Orleans
Jul 16, 2013

Nice getaway

The hotel was clean. The staff warm and friendly. We were out late one night and tried to get into the hotel at an entrance with a long line. The worker was checking people's ID's. so we tried to ever they another door and tried to show our room key as proof we were guest and not party goers. The sec guard a gentleman in a yellow jkt. Denied us entry and was very nasty. My companion and I are both over 40. Had a room key and just wanted to get to out room. After a full day of sight seeing. We had to exit walk all the way to another entrance with no line. My only complaint. But I felt that was serious enough to complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top