$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

French Market Inn

3 stars
View map of 509 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
56 reviews
awesome in the quarter

We loved everything about this hotel. Tons of charm and close to all the happenings. The staff was... See full review

  • suzy1972
  • Feb 22, 2015
Good times

Awesome staff. Good rooms and great location. We will be back. See full review

  • mychal p.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Historic hotel offers central French Quarter location, courtyard

Brush up on your New Orleans history at this historic inn. French Market Inn was built in the 1800s for Baron and Baroness Joseph Xavier de Pontalba, and it was the government house when Louisiana was still a French colony. Today's budget-minded tourists can appreciate the proximity to the party without paying Bourbon Street prices. The hotel's staff is eager to make reservations and help with vacation planning. 

Highlights
  • Quaint courtyard
  • Convenient French Quarter location
  • Emphasis on personal service
Rooms

The 127 guest rooms surround a courtyard. Rooms are individually decorated, some with antiques, brass beds and exposed brick walls.  Each room features basic conveniences, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable TV and a coffee maker.

Features

French Market Inn has no food service, but it is steps from the bustling French Market. Nearby Marie Laveau's Voodoo Bar is a fun, moodily lit spot for a drink. The hotel's courtyard makes for a quiet picnic location.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)
  • Short walk to Riverfront Streetcar line

Attractions
  • Bourbon Street
  • Jackson Square
  • French Market
  • Cigar Factory New Orleans and Museum
  • Jax Brewery
  • Woldenberg Park
Policies and fees
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a fee of $4.95 per night for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed French Market Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

French Market Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room complete with One Queen size bed. Maximum 2 guests recommended per room.

Amenities

General
Concierge

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 56
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephanie K.
Business
Rochester
Feb 20, 2015

Great architecture and location, horrible everything else

No fridge, no breakfast. When we checked in, there were dirty towels in the bathroom and a giant red puddle of something sticky on the nightstand. I tried to make coffee the first day and the coffee pot didn't work. I tried again the second day and realized the maid hadn't restocked the coffee supply or noticed that I had accidentally left the filters in from the previous day. I left it as a test and the maid didn't touch it for the full week of our stay. Staff was rude to us, insisting that we wear bracelets (like the kind you wear at the water park) because it happened to be the week of Mardi Gras. Security would not let us in unless we wore the bracelets. I initially tried negotiating with the staff, making it clear that we were on a family vacation (with children) and would be coming and going during daylight hours. We were hardly the typical Mardi Gras guests. I explained that the bracelets might make us targets as tourists to be robbed (after all, the area is notorious for it's crime rate). And the staff would not compromise. I asked if I could simply carry the bracelets and was told, "no." When I pay $300/night for a hotel, I expect to be treated with more respect. The building itself is beautiful, if you're looking for authentic New Orleans architecture. And it's located right at the heart of the best parts of the French quarter. We hit every museum, monument, and attraction quickly and with ease because they are all within walking distance (less than two miles).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ian989
Business
Washington State
Nov 16, 2014

Good value, good location

From the outside, it may not look like much, but true to the French Quarter, the courtyard is charming and private. Once inside, you'd never know how close to everything you are. Yes, the room was tiny, but the beautiful brick walls and modern bathroom made up for that. Downsides?: We didn't have a window. That was a little weird and left us a bit disoriented about the time of day. We also had a weak cell phone signal as a result, but the wi-fi was strong and we just had a short walk outside to get our phones working. I plan on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to Mother's Restaurant. Totally worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fallsinheels
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 30, 2014

One night stay was excellent!

From the moment I got to the area (and got lost getting there) the experience was great. I called the hotel and told them where I was and the front desk clerk gave me block by block instruction on how to get there and where to park when I got there since there is no one street parking. She told me parking in front was okay. When I got there another front desk clerk helped me and I asked her for a renovated room. She told me they all were and she'd take care of me. Boy did she! The room they gave us was really awesome. The only compliant I have is that the shower doesn't have a soap holder or shelf of any kind to put shampoo or soap on. Other than that, everyone that helped us out was really great and helpful. The hotel is in perfect proximity to Jackson Square and to be honest, anywhere you really want to go. We walked all up Decatur, through the quarter all the way up to Rampart and Basin and back down Conti to the hotel and didn't ever feel like we'd walked super far. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suzy1972
Business
ardmore, ok
Nov 18, 2014

Family getaway

We absolutely loved every thing about this hotel. It is the perfect location to walk to all the sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The market café is wonderful and very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suzy1972
Business
N/A
Feb 22, 2015

awesome in the quarter

We loved everything about this hotel. Tons of charm and close to all the happenings. The staff was wonderful. They even babysit my grandchild's hermit crab while we were out. I hope to stay there if we go back to Nola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top