$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 13, 2014

French Market Inn

3 stars
501 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
217 reviews
Excellent Location

The hotel was in the perfect location, close to absolutely everything. My room was really nice and... See full review

  • Jade22
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great place to stay

The hotel was under construction but still clean and quiet. Great place to stay and close to... See full review

  • Rotten
  • Nov 3, 2013
Historic hotel offers central French Quarter location, courtyard

Brush up on your New Orleans history at this historic inn. The hotel was built in the 1800s for Baron and Baroness Joseph Xavier de Pontalba, and it was the government house when Louisiana was still a French colony. Today's budget-minded tourists can appreciate the proximity to the party without paying Bourbon Street prices. The hotel's staff is eager to make reservations and help with vacation planning. 

Highlights
  • Quaint courtyard
  • Convenient French Quarter location
  • Emphasis on personal service
Rooms

The 127 guest rooms surround a courtyard. Rooms are individually decorated, some with antiques, brass beds and exposed brick walls.  Each room features basic conveniences, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable TV and a coffee maker.

Features

This hotel has no food service, but it is steps from the bustling French Market. There is a door in the lobby connecting to CC's Cafe for caffeine and snacks. Nearby Marie Laveau's Voodoo Bar is a fun, moodily lit spot for a drink. The hotel's courtyard makes for a quiet picnic location.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)
  • Short walk to Riverfront Streetcar line

Attractions
  • Bourbon Street
  • Jackson Square
  • French Market
  • Cigar Factory New Orleans and Museum
  • Jax Brewery
  • Woldenberg Park
Policies and fees
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a fee of $4.95 per night for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

French Market Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room complete with One Queen size bed. Maximum 2 guests recommended per room.

Amenities

General
Concierge

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed French Market Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9552 -90.0642
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong Airport -MSY- 12 miles
Area description
501 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130, USHeart of French Quarter - 2 blocks to Bourbon Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.1 mi

Dining

CC's Coffee House
The coffee house fronts Decatur and connects to the hotel lobby, for the convenience of our guests. CC's will also provide our guests with a continental breakfast for a minimal charge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
34 out of 217
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

1
dobby
charlotte nc
Jun 30, 2012

sorry for inconvience

the hotel is under construction they should have closed up no wi fi no or computers hammers banging at 7 am staff forgetting to cleas our room forgetting our wakeup call

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

1
Wispa
Atlanta GA
Apr 22, 2009

Not a very good hotel !

The Carpets were flithy,The toilet seat was broken and maintance said you just need to be careful when yoy sit on it.No hot water the first night maintance said that the water heater had gone out the day before.Shower fauset was not working correctly.it had to be in the off position for the not so hot water.Great lack of privacy as the sheer curtain could seen through when the light was on in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
LA
Aug 20, 2009

Worst Hotel Experience of My Life!!!

This was an absolutely horrible experience. We didn't even get past the front desk! As per [...] (who was 100% useless), several of the cleaning staff quit and they were extremely short staffed so they had rooms available but they weren't clean and they weren't going to clean them. Therefore, we could stay in a smoking room. Even when informed that we had an asthmatic infant in our party, that was still the only option. At that point, we decided to go to another hotel. The care and service we received at the Omni Royal a block away was beyond this world. There are not enough words to explain the difference between the staff at the 2 hotels. Additionally, they have refused to refund our money because choosing smoking and non smoking is 'simply a preference' as per the GM [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
May 8, 2010

Uhmmm, No.

Well in advance, we had requested a room with handicap accomodations. When I asked the desk clerk about it, I knew right off we were going to have a problem. Her response was simply that there was an elevator---and nodded towards somewhere. The room we were actually assigned was the farthest possible away from the lobby. On the way there we did however get a birds eye view of filthy wood work and door frames, a barely ventilated elevator without AC and badly stained carpet, and something I have never encountered before, a windowless room off the stairwell without even a single picture on the wall. If I had been in a wheelchair, I would never have gotten to it. Outlet covers also appeared to be a luxury item that was not included with the room. The room itself did appear to be considerably cleaner than the hotel main, and beds were fine. The furniture was newer and much in keeping with the French style. This was not my first stay in NO, but it will definitely be my last at this hotel. It was a Thursday night, and not a crowded weekend, as if that should have made any difference. Overall,this was one of the more negative hotel experiences I have ever had, and that's saying alot. The picture on their main page has to be an artists rendition. It's idealized, and bares no resemblance that I saw to reality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

1
abadessa
new york
Dec 7, 2010

Would not return to this hotel

Carpet was dirty and dingy, housekeeping was poor, shower leaked onto bathroom floor,bathroom ceiling was peeling and tub was chipped, could not get wireless connection. Front desk staff was helpful and pleasant, but did not make up for the deterioration of the room. This place needs help!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

2
Autumnwind
Pensacola, FL
Apr 25, 2009

Anniversary Time

When we checked in, the hotel clerk gave us room 101 like it was something special. She said, "It's right off the courtyard." Little did we know, it was right next door to the employee bathroom, ice machine and under the stairs leading to the next floor. The location was excellent for the money and I might stay there again, but the room left much to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

2
Misses New Orleans
Flint, MI
Apr 18, 2010

Location was great, cleanliness was bad

Hotel location was great. 2 blocks from Jackson Square and across the street from the Mississippi. I did expect the hotel to have its drawbacks due to the fact it was built in the 1830's. I think our hotel room had the original carpet. Bad stains looked like previous guests couldn't hold their Hurricane's. We wouldn't let our 18 month old off the bed which came with a blanket with multiple holes in it. Way too overpriced for lack of general cleanliness issues. On a positive note the bathrooms were well upgraded and clean. Need to let you know that upgrade to King size Deluxe room means no windows! Doubt we would stay there again for what we paid unless they put in all new carpeting. Also, $4.95 fee per night for phone and internet we didn't use seems excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just 3 blocks from French Market.

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

2
occasional casual travler
Boston
Apr 29, 2012

great time in New Orleans

the location of the hotel is very good (3 blocks from Bourbon St), but at this time the hotel is under renovation and as a result, some services suffered--we had no maid service the first day, had a problem with the drainage in the shower that was never solved, and actually had to call the front desk for toilet tissue. if I recommended this hotel, it would be a qualified recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

had dinner at the Court of 2 sisters--excellent food, and very good service, well worth it.

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Gulfport, MS
Jun 3, 2007

Almost Ready

Historic French Market Inn is in a great location ,but they're not completly ready for summer guest. Our room seemed to be in the middle of reconstruction. The door had been cut a little short and we had to stuff towels under it to keep critters out. Also, we had 4 adults staying in the room, but housekeeping would only bring in 2 towel, so we have to send for 2 more clean towels everyday. The bathroom had been totally redone except for the bathtub, which was covered with mortar and paint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
USA
Jul 6, 2008

A Horrible Week-End Stay

The only good thing about my stay was the check in staff and location.The Manager was unviting and very unwelcoming with no customer care appreciation.The nite representive was very unwelcoming and no customer care service as well.The Hotel room floors(carpet) was unfit even for a dog.The beds were not close to standards.Paint peeling off the wall in the bathroom.The only place to sit (chair)was very uncomfortable,unsafe and dirty.The room was very very small.Cheking out was as horrible. Very Dissatified, rm 405

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top