$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

French Market Inn

3 stars
View map of 509 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
53 reviews
awesome in the quarter

We loved everything about this hotel. Tons of charm and close to all the happenings. The staff was... See full review

  • suzy1972
  • Feb 22, 2015
Good times

Awesome staff. Good rooms and great location. We will be back. See full review

  • mychal p.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Historic hotel offers central French Quarter location, courtyard

Brush up on your New Orleans history at this historic inn. French Market Inn was built in the 1800s for Baron and Baroness Joseph Xavier de Pontalba, and it was the government house when Louisiana was still a French colony. Today's budget-minded tourists can appreciate the proximity to the party without paying Bourbon Street prices. The hotel's staff is eager to make reservations and help with vacation planning. 

Highlights
  • Quaint courtyard
  • Convenient French Quarter location
  • Emphasis on personal service
Rooms

The 127 guest rooms surround a courtyard. Rooms are individually decorated, some with antiques, brass beds and exposed brick walls.  Each room features basic conveniences, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable TV and a coffee maker.

Features

French Market Inn has no food service, but it is steps from the bustling French Market. Nearby Marie Laveau's Voodoo Bar is a fun, moodily lit spot for a drink. The hotel's courtyard makes for a quiet picnic location.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)
  • Short walk to Riverfront Streetcar line

Attractions
  • Bourbon Street
  • Jackson Square
  • French Market
  • Cigar Factory New Orleans and Museum
  • Jax Brewery
  • Woldenberg Park
Policies and fees
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a fee of $4.95 per night for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed French Market Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

French Market Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room complete with One Queen size bed. Maximum 2 guests recommended per room.

Amenities

General
Concierge

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 53
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swimlady60
Business
Mississippi
Jan 16, 2014

Over night visit

This hotel is very nice for the price. Location is good and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony and Samantha
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 12, 2014

Windows?

Great location, friendly staff and good value. Only complaint is that our room didn't have any windows! Weird right? I know. Other than that it was Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Business
PA
Mar 18, 2014

French Market Inn Review

Good Experience overall. Good location in French Quarter. Clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlleyParis
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 1, 2014

Charm and character!

My boyfriend and I booked the trip to NOLA to get a break from long Michigan winter. We consulted several friends who had been there before and heard about French Market Inn by word of mouth. It was a great value for inside the French Quarter and had wonderful ambiance. The room was small, but cozy. The courtyard was beautiful. Rooms could have been better insulated, but we didn't mind too much. There seemed to be constant construction going on around us, but it was only a minor inconvenience. The location, wonderful staff, character of hotel and value made it worth it. I look forward to returning in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peteyvegas
Business
Freehold, N.J.
May 6, 2014

Perfect location--small room.

Let me get the bad out of the way first. This was the smallest room I've ever been in. There was a fridge cabinet with no fridge and about a half of a closet. Therefore, only 4 sock drawers were available. Meanwhile, the location was perfect. Could not be better. The rooms were clean and staff very friendly and helpful. The courtyard between the buildings was very down home New Orleans and it included a small (7x12'?) pool which we needed the first couple of days. We were able to navigate the French Quarter entirely in about 20 minutes and it was convenient to Uptown and the Garden District. We were never away from any site more than 20-30 minutes. I would go back there in a heartbeat but not for 8 days. I need a dresser and full sized closet. If the hotel was to remedy the space situation (nothing could be done about the size of the room, of course), we would return in a heartbeat. If you're looking for amenities or big hotel services, this is not for you. But if you need a clean room in a perfect location with a very nice staff. This is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go by word of mouth on dining. There are some large restaurants that make you think they're very good when in fact, not so good. Do not miss an opportunity to dine at the Commanders' Palace. A must do!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exotic Larry
Business
LaGrange, Tx.
May 25, 2014

good location

Good location, comfortable rooms at a great price. Only complaint would be the bathroom hair dryer and shower soap dish needs to be mounted on the wall not on the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PGB from boston
Business
Boston Ma.
Nov 14, 2014

Great Hotel

Perfect location , easy walk to everything. The room was very comfortable, clean, with a nice flat screen tv. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast around the corner at Johnny's Poor Boy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Around the World Educator
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 19, 2014

Location and Southern Charm

I definitely recommend this hotel. It was a bit noisy, so pack earplugs. Despite the noise, the location and the architectural charm of exposed brick and a charming courtyard are wonderful and would bring me back to this hotel for sure on my next trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French Quarter is great, but a very short walk takes you over to Frenchman St. for a less touristy, artsy local side of Nola.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fit and Fab
Business
Arlington, TX
Dec 2, 2014

Holiday Weekend

We were given a fabulous room. It is a maze in the hotel but it added to the allure of the location. Great friendly staff. There is no refrig which would have been nice and only one ice machine which happened to be a trek away from the room. The hotel is just in a great place. Check in & out is a little harried and we actually missed the hotel entrance twice because it is so small but well worth the find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grill - Diner type atmosphere, they pack you in tightly so everyone can find a seat but really good food and very well priced especially for the quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tisha C.
Business
Lake Charles
Jan 7, 2015

Perfect getaway

We were there for a little birthday weekend getaway. The hotel was in an ideal location in the quarter. Rooms were clean and bed was super comfortable, wanted to take it home with me, lol. Love the quaint old world style. Courtyard was quiet and beautiful. Staff was great and always helpful. Patrick the courtyard resident cat was really sweet and quite a home away from home treat. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots great dining and attractions within walking distance of the hotel. No real need to drive anywhere once we arrived.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top