$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

French Market Inn

3 stars
View map of 509 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alisa R.
Couples
Oakland
Jan 7, 2015

NOLA stay

Very nice hotel in center of French Quater. Walked everywhere, staff was fine/nice. Very small room but nicely decorated in French Quater look. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LN2013
Couples
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Great Value

Great Value! Small room, nothing fancy but was more than enough space for two people to relax comfortably. We were within walking distance to just about everything (Cafe du Monde, Bourbon St, Frenchman St) We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and traffic outside of the hotel was terrible (not their fault), we had a difficult time pulling in to a spot in order to have our car parked. Leaving on Monday morning posed no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori M.
Friends
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Great for the budget-conscious

We arrived very early and were unable to check in at that time but the hotel held out luggage for us so we could explore a bit and get something to eat. A few (very short) hours later, the room was ready and we were checked in early. We opted for a room with no windows (cheapest option) and were very happy with our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the French quarter who doesn't want to spend an arm and a leg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tiledel
Couples
Saint Louis
Jan 24, 2015

Weekend in the French Quarter

The French Market Inn was swell. Our room was cozy - one skylight and no actual window, but we really didn't miss it. Didn't hear the sounds from the street and only sometimes heard the people outside. Staff was friendly. Location was great for the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt P.
Friends
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

Charming, but it's NOLA

Hotel is very close to the middle of activities, but not so close as to be offputting--superb location. Staff is incredibly helpful/knowledgeable. Rooms are a charming combination of old world and modern amenities. Our only issue was noise level of the other clientele. Late one night, a large and drunken party checked in right across the hall--yes, we should have expected it in New Orleans. But it was only after two warnings in three hours from the hotel staff that the noise level came back down enough for us to sleep. Hotel staff did everything they could short of bouncing the offenders, and moved us to another room as soon as one became available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayreen Green
Friends
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

One night in New Orleans

The hotel was great. Quite, pretty, clean and the people were friendly. I dropped my money on the floor when I checked in and went o get my things and the bell man brought it over to me and said he thought I might have dropped it. Big thumbs up! The only negative was the person in the room next door turned their TV on VERY loud, very early. Not the hotels fault. Close to walk anywhere in the French Quarter and my room had a window in it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at this Hotel! It was really really nice.

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn
Couples
Amherst
Feb 9, 2015

Great long weekend in Nola

The French Market Inn was definitely a huge surprise. You get to the doorway and don't think too much about the outside, with hippies sitting just around the corner on the floor, but once you walk in, you are definitely transported to a high-end looking hotel feel. I loved the mix of the old (courtyard, building, rustic-ness) and the old (new pool, great lobby). The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The one thing you cannot beat is location. We walked everywhere from our hotel and it was an easy walk to almost everywhere (except the Garden District). Also, I love cats and Patrick (hotel cat that lives by the stairs) is so cute and very friendly. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Nola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fiorella's has the best fried green tomatoes and fried chicken EVER. Bartender is not friendly but everyone else is amazing!

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fabi
Couples
Salt Lake City
Feb 25, 2015

Great hotel in a nice location

We came to New Orleans for a long weekend. This hotel is very well located, right in the French quarter. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and located in the back of the hotel in a quiet area ( we had to go through a lovely patio to access our room). The only minus point is that the room was not very well insulated in terms of noise (we could sometimes hear the neighbors walking around).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moebiwan
Couples
Gulf Breeze
Feb 24, 2015

Short trip to the quarter

My partner and I stayed for two nights and had a great time in the city and at the hotel. The room (and entire hotel) was clean, inviting, and very comfortable for us and the location was perfect. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Donz
Couples
Greensboro
Feb 23, 2015

Weekend Couples Trip!

This hotel was in a perfect location, walking distance from everything. The value for the money was good, the hotel is an old building so noise was an issue (not from the outside, but from neighboring rooms) Room was VERY small but very nice and very clean. Staff was wonderful. Breakfast would be nice, but there were some great, walkable places nearby. Overall, a very nice choice for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top