$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

French Market Inn

3 stars
501 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
23 reviews
French Quarter Charm

We weren't sure what to expect because we got such a great price. It was a better experience than I... See full review

  • Gail 0622
  • Sep 13, 2014
New Orleans Weekend

This accommodation could not have been better, Recently remodeled historic building is just the deal. See full review

  • Sunbear 61
  • Sep 3, 2014
Historic hotel offers central French Quarter location, courtyard

Brush up on your New Orleans history at this historic inn. The hotel was built in the 1800s for Baron and Baroness Joseph Xavier de Pontalba, and it was the government house when Louisiana was still a French colony. Today's budget-minded tourists can appreciate the proximity to the party without paying Bourbon Street prices. The hotel's staff is eager to make reservations and help with vacation planning. 

Highlights
  • Quaint courtyard
  • Convenient French Quarter location
  • Emphasis on personal service
Rooms

The 127 guest rooms surround a courtyard. Rooms are individually decorated, some with antiques, brass beds and exposed brick walls.  Each room features basic conveniences, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable TV and a coffee maker.

Features

This hotel has no food service, but it is steps from the bustling French Market. Nearby Marie Laveau's Voodoo Bar is a fun, moodily lit spot for a drink. The hotel's courtyard makes for a quiet picnic location.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)
  • Short walk to Riverfront Streetcar line

Attractions
  • Bourbon Street
  • Jackson Square
  • French Market
  • Cigar Factory New Orleans and Museum
  • Jax Brewery
  • Woldenberg Park
Policies and fees
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a fee of $4.95 per night for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9552 -90.0642
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong Airport -MSY- 12 miles
Area description
501 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130, USHeart of French Quarter - 2 blocks to Bourbon Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed French Market Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

French Market Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room complete with One Queen size bed. Maximum 2 guests recommended per room.

Amenities

General
Concierge

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alabamaguys
Near Mobile, Alabama
Jan 7, 2013

Great Location

Great experience staying at this hotel. Excellent location to French Quarter and Market. Walking Distance to many attractions. Great room. Only complaint was at 1:30 am the guest above us got back to their room where their kids proceeded to use their bed as a trampoline unitl 3:30 am. We will be sure to stay again at this great little hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maspero's is a great place to eat, and in walking distance. Affordable and great food.

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeerTourist
San Diego, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Good Location. Room recently renovated.

The room I stayed in had recently been redone. It's much better than a couple of years ago. The hotel itself is situated in the French Quarter and is very near the Mississippi. Nearby there is both a coffee shop and a brewery/restaurant. In the center of the hotel buildings is a nice courtyard, which is a good place to get away from the noise of the quarter. One issue I had is that the cleaning staff was loud and tended to come by far too early (9 AM was typical) for a hotel in the French Quarter. I hung the "do not disturb" sign, yet could hear the staff talking loudly in the hall or playing music in the room across the hall while cleaning. One morning, with the sign up, they telephoned the room to see if I needed extra towels. I had been out late and didn't appreciate it. I'd like to see coffee available in the lobby. It was difficult to find any on Christmas morning. Overall, the location is good and the rooms are nice. Just be prepared to be woken early, regardless of how late you might have been out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crescent City Brewhouse is about 3 doors down. Good beer, fresh oysters, good food, and polite staff.

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony and Samantha
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 12, 2014

Windows?

Great location, friendly staff and good value. Only complaint is that our room didn't have any windows! Weird right? I know. Other than that it was Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swimlady60
Mississippi
Jan 16, 2014

Over night visit

This hotel is very nice for the price. Location is good and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KB7727
Newport Beach, CA
May 23, 2014

awesome hotel

great hotel, lovely patio and pool area and it is in a great location in NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coonassadeaux
Jennings, la
Jul 10, 2014

Location and value

Just took a couple of nights in town to have fun. Location was great for visiting the Quarters!! Everything just a short walk away. I booked the room in advance and searches for cheaper dates. Just a little research a nd got the two night for under $130

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMA TravelinMom
Williamsburg, Virginia
Jun 2, 2014

Best Location for Value

We stayed at FMI about 9 years ago and decided to try again and were exceptionally pleased with the renovations done since then. A perfect blend of modern-ness with that true New Orleans' feel. Our favorite is sitting in the brick courtyard with a drink at the end of the evening, quiet and removed from all the activity on Decatur. Check-in was effortless and our room was ready before noon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Chocolate Pecan Crunch at Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House.

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KB7727
Newport Beach, CA
Apr 22, 2014

Great location in French quarter and awesome hotel patio

The hotel patio is beautiful, staff was very friendly and helpful with checking in early and keeping our bags after we checked out while we were still in town. It is in a great spot in the French quarter, right on Decatur street but it isn't too loud or anything especially if your room is by the patio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlleyParis
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 1, 2014

Charm and character!

My boyfriend and I booked the trip to NOLA to get a break from long Michigan winter. We consulted several friends who had been there before and heard about French Market Inn by word of mouth. It was a great value for inside the French Quarter and had wonderful ambiance. The room was small, but cozy. The courtyard was beautiful. Rooms could have been better insulated, but we didn't mind too much. There seemed to be constant construction going on around us, but it was only a minor inconvenience. The location, wonderful staff, character of hotel and value made it worth it. I look forward to returning in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jones of mississippi
Mississippi
Feb 3, 2014

Good trip

Very good location.... Working on hotel, that wasn't said or told. Had great time, staff was perfect!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peteyvegas
Freehold, N.J.
May 6, 2014

Perfect location--small room.

Let me get the bad out of the way first. This was the smallest room I've ever been in. There was a fridge cabinet with no fridge and about a half of a closet. Therefore, only 4 sock drawers were available. Meanwhile, the location was perfect. Could not be better. The rooms were clean and staff very friendly and helpful. The courtyard between the buildings was very down home New Orleans and it included a small (7x12'?) pool which we needed the first couple of days. We were able to navigate the French Quarter entirely in about 20 minutes and it was convenient to Uptown and the Garden District. We were never away from any site more than 20-30 minutes. I would go back there in a heartbeat but not for 8 days. I need a dresser and full sized closet. If the hotel was to remedy the space situation (nothing could be done about the size of the room, of course), we would return in a heartbeat. If you're looking for amenities or big hotel services, this is not for you. But if you need a clean room in a perfect location with a very nice staff. This is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go by word of mouth on dining. There are some large restaurants that make you think they're very good when in fact, not so good. Do not miss an opportunity to dine at the Commanders' Palace. A must do!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search