$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

French Market Inn

3 stars
501 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
32 reviews
Family getaway

We absolutely loved every thing about this hotel. It is the perfect location to walk to all the... See full review

  • suzy1972
  • Nov 18, 2014
Great stay

Love this place! Great location, friendly staff. Would highly recommend staying here. See full review

  • Anthony S.
  • Oct 6, 2014
Historic hotel offers central French Quarter location, courtyard

Brush up on your New Orleans history at this historic inn. The hotel was built in the 1800s for Baron and Baroness Joseph Xavier de Pontalba, and it was the government house when Louisiana was still a French colony. Today's budget-minded tourists can appreciate the proximity to the party without paying Bourbon Street prices. The hotel's staff is eager to make reservations and help with vacation planning. 

Highlights
  • Quaint courtyard
  • Convenient French Quarter location
  • Emphasis on personal service
Rooms

The 127 guest rooms surround a courtyard. Rooms are individually decorated, some with antiques, brass beds and exposed brick walls.  Each room features basic conveniences, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable TV and a coffee maker.

Features

This hotel has no food service, but it is steps from the bustling French Market. Nearby Marie Laveau's Voodoo Bar is a fun, moodily lit spot for a drink. The hotel's courtyard makes for a quiet picnic location.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)
  • Short walk to Riverfront Streetcar line

Attractions
  • Bourbon Street
  • Jackson Square
  • French Market
  • Cigar Factory New Orleans and Museum
  • Jax Brewery
  • Woldenberg Park
Policies and fees
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a fee of $4.95 per night for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed French Market Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

French Market Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room complete with One Queen size bed. Maximum 2 guests recommended per room.

Amenities

General
Concierge

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alabamaguys
Near Mobile, Alabama
Jan 7, 2013

Great Location

Great experience staying at this hotel. Excellent location to French Quarter and Market. Walking Distance to many attractions. Great room. Only complaint was at 1:30 am the guest above us got back to their room where their kids proceeded to use their bed as a trampoline unitl 3:30 am. We will be sure to stay again at this great little hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maspero's is a great place to eat, and in walking distance. Affordable and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeerTourist
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Good Location. Room recently renovated.

The room I stayed in had recently been redone. It's much better than a couple of years ago. The hotel itself is situated in the French Quarter and is very near the Mississippi. Nearby there is both a coffee shop and a brewery/restaurant. In the center of the hotel buildings is a nice courtyard, which is a good place to get away from the noise of the quarter. One issue I had is that the cleaning staff was loud and tended to come by far too early (9 AM was typical) for a hotel in the French Quarter. I hung the "do not disturb" sign, yet could hear the staff talking loudly in the hall or playing music in the room across the hall while cleaning. One morning, with the sign up, they telephoned the room to see if I needed extra towels. I had been out late and didn't appreciate it. I'd like to see coffee available in the lobby. It was difficult to find any on Christmas morning. Overall, the location is good and the rooms are nice. Just be prepared to be woken early, regardless of how late you might have been out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crescent City Brewhouse is about 3 doors down. Good beer, fresh oysters, good food, and polite staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swimlady60
Business
Mississippi
Jan 16, 2014

Over night visit

This hotel is very nice for the price. Location is good and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KB7727
Business
Newport Beach, CA
May 23, 2014

awesome hotel

great hotel, lovely patio and pool area and it is in a great location in NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony and Samantha
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 12, 2014

Windows?

Great location, friendly staff and good value. Only complaint is that our room didn't have any windows! Weird right? I know. Other than that it was Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liz party it up
Business
denver, co
Jan 21, 2014

VERY CONFORTABLE

the bed was the best ever slept in. hit the pillow and went right to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChloeBecca91
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jan 20, 2014

Nice hotel, okay stay

For starters, I reserved our room for 4 ppl. When we arrived, the hotel lady said I only reserved for 2 so she charged us $120 extra. We got free wifi which was nice. When we reached our room, I checked my email and it said I resereved for four ppl, so I took my IPAD down and showed her and she gave me my money back with apologies for it being messed up. Also, parts of the hotel were being renovated so in order to get to our room, we had to take the elevator to the second floor, then walk through the part that was being renovated and then up a staircase to the third floor landing. The elevator did not reach the third floor. Set up was weird. Seemed like a hassle for the bellhop. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was very clean and bed was super comfy. Bring an extra blanket. No comforter on the bed. Only two thin blankets and sheets but extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Native New Orleanian
Business
New Orleans area
Feb 1, 2014

Great location to be in the heart of the action

Wonderful place with great historic feel. We were there at an off time so if you want a quiet location among the rooms make sure you mention that to the staff. They have rooms away from the street action. But if you want to step out onto the street and be steps away from everything , this is the right place. Check out Johnny's poor boys (and breakfast) around the corner for a casual old New Orleans neighborhood joint. Very good and not expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hoi Polloi ladies boutique. Napoleon house for drinks around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jones of mississippi
Business
Mississippi
Feb 3, 2014

Good trip

Very good location.... Working on hotel, that wasn't said or told. Had great time, staff was perfect!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Business
PA
Mar 18, 2014

French Market Inn Review

Good Experience overall. Good location in French Quarter. Clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlleyParis
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 1, 2014

Charm and character!

My boyfriend and I booked the trip to NOLA to get a break from long Michigan winter. We consulted several friends who had been there before and heard about French Market Inn by word of mouth. It was a great value for inside the French Quarter and had wonderful ambiance. The room was small, but cozy. The courtyard was beautiful. Rooms could have been better insulated, but we didn't mind too much. There seemed to be constant construction going on around us, but it was only a minor inconvenience. The location, wonderful staff, character of hotel and value made it worth it. I look forward to returning in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top