$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

French Market Inn

3 stars
View map of 509 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
53 reviews
awesome in the quarter

We loved everything about this hotel. Tons of charm and close to all the happenings. The staff was... See full review

  • suzy1972
  • Feb 22, 2015
Good times

Awesome staff. Good rooms and great location. We will be back. See full review

  • mychal p.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Historic hotel offers central French Quarter location, courtyard

Brush up on your New Orleans history at this historic inn. French Market Inn was built in the 1800s for Baron and Baroness Joseph Xavier de Pontalba, and it was the government house when Louisiana was still a French colony. Today's budget-minded tourists can appreciate the proximity to the party without paying Bourbon Street prices. The hotel's staff is eager to make reservations and help with vacation planning. 

Highlights
  • Quaint courtyard
  • Convenient French Quarter location
  • Emphasis on personal service
Rooms

The 127 guest rooms surround a courtyard. Rooms are individually decorated, some with antiques, brass beds and exposed brick walls.  Each room features basic conveniences, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable TV and a coffee maker.

Features

French Market Inn has no food service, but it is steps from the bustling French Market. Nearby Marie Laveau's Voodoo Bar is a fun, moodily lit spot for a drink. The hotel's courtyard makes for a quiet picnic location.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)
  • Short walk to Riverfront Streetcar line

Attractions
  • Bourbon Street
  • Jackson Square
  • French Market
  • Cigar Factory New Orleans and Museum
  • Jax Brewery
  • Woldenberg Park
Policies and fees
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a fee of $4.95 per night for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed French Market Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

French Market Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room complete with One Queen size bed. Maximum 2 guests recommended per room.

Amenities

General
Concierge

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jade22
Business
New York, NY
Mar 13, 2014

Excellent Location

The hotel was in the perfect location, close to absolutely everything. My room was really nice and cozy. The staff was very cordial and informative; they made excellent recommendations. It's 2 blocks from Cafe du Monde, couple of blocks from Bourbon Street, very close to many great restaurants. I highly recommend and will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the airport shuttle, it's better than taking a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Compliance to go
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 8, 2014

A hidden gem

After reading a few reviews I was a trifle apprehensive about staying here. I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was beautiful with a lovely view of the inner courtyard. Every amenity was available. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had a wonderful stay and would visit again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StaceK
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 29, 2014

Perfect stay

Our stay at the French Market Inn was perfect. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel is located within walking distance of many attractions, and it was very clean. I highly recommend this hotel and the next time we visit New Orleans, this is where we will stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunbear 61
Business
Palm Springs CA
Sep 3, 2014

New Orleans Weekend

This accommodation could not have been better, Recently remodeled historic building is just the deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants that are only a very short walk , prove to be just WONDERFUL for authentic New Orleans Cuisine at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gail 0622
Business
Virginia
Sep 13, 2014

French Quarter Charm

We weren't sure what to expect because we got such a great price. It was a better experience than I could have hoped for. I understood from other reviewers that the room would be small but it was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The courtyard is beautiful and very relaxing. The area is very safe and within walking distance to anywhere in the French Quarter. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I hope to have the opportunity to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anthony S.
Business
Stamford, Ct.
Oct 6, 2014

Great stay

Love this place! Great location, friendly staff. Would highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suzy1972
Business
ardmore, ok
Nov 18, 2014

Family getaway

We absolutely loved every thing about this hotel. It is the perfect location to walk to all the sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The market café is wonderful and very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terje B.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

French Market Inn

French Martket Inn is a wonderful maze of historic buildings around a central courtyard. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for the French Quarter. You are close to the action but have none of the drawbacks of noise on the street. Johnny's Po-Boy around the corner on St. Louis is a treat for a real local breakfast. At French Market Inn you get quality and atmosphere for a reasonable price. I plan to stay there when I return to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When at the French Market Inn take your breakfast or lunch at Johnny's Po-Boy restaurant just around the corner from the hotel on St. Louis. Its a local place with good New Olreans food for a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margaret B.
Business
Kalamazoo
Jan 25, 2015

Great Location

Located a minute from Bourbon St, this location cannot be beat. This hotel was clean, and small but cute. I paid for an interior room, and they upgraded me because they had open rooms (it was a Tuesday-Thursday stay). Id recommend this hotel. Friendly staff, and as I said the location cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emberdragon Jessie
Business
Irwin
Feb 9, 2015

Fun Mini Vacation

The hotel was nice and very quaint. The room was clean, it had the historic feel of an old inn. The staff was super friendly and the room had working a/c (we went in August so this was a must). I would most definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont just settle for the popular restaurants, you can eat at a less crowded restaurant for the same price and the food is just as great if not better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top