$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

French Market Inn

3 stars
View map of 509 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
56 reviews
awesome in the quarter

We loved everything about this hotel. Tons of charm and close to all the happenings. The staff was... See full review

  • suzy1972
  • Feb 22, 2015
Good times

Awesome staff. Good rooms and great location. We will be back. See full review

  • mychal p.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Historic hotel offers central French Quarter location, courtyard

Brush up on your New Orleans history at this historic inn. French Market Inn was built in the 1800s for Baron and Baroness Joseph Xavier de Pontalba, and it was the government house when Louisiana was still a French colony. Today's budget-minded tourists can appreciate the proximity to the party without paying Bourbon Street prices. The hotel's staff is eager to make reservations and help with vacation planning. 

Highlights
  • Quaint courtyard
  • Convenient French Quarter location
  • Emphasis on personal service
Rooms

The 127 guest rooms surround a courtyard. Rooms are individually decorated, some with antiques, brass beds and exposed brick walls.  Each room features basic conveniences, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable TV and a coffee maker.

Features

French Market Inn has no food service, but it is steps from the bustling French Market. Nearby Marie Laveau's Voodoo Bar is a fun, moodily lit spot for a drink. The hotel's courtyard makes for a quiet picnic location.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)
  • Short walk to Riverfront Streetcar line

Attractions
  • Bourbon Street
  • Jackson Square
  • French Market
  • Cigar Factory New Orleans and Museum
  • Jax Brewery
  • Woldenberg Park
Policies and fees
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a fee of $4.95 per night for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed French Market Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

French Market Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room complete with One Queen size bed. Maximum 2 guests recommended per room.

Amenities

General
Concierge

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jesse G.
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Awesome location, that's about it.

We started off being blindsided about parking fees, valet is $28/day but if you get there during the week you can park across the street for $27/day and avoid their weekend rates. Then, the bellboys left us as we were checking in and we had to load our own bags onto the cart and then search the hotel for our room, which wouldn't have been so bad if the hotel didn't have such a confusing layout for someone who's never been there. Then, I asked the lady at the front desk if she could arrange a cab for us, after taking all our info she told me to go talk to the bellboy. Ok, why not tell me that from the beginning? So it's a different guy from when we got abandoned at check-in and I ask if he could arrange a cab, so he says yes and walks out into the middle of the street and starts trying to flag one down. It's starting to rain, we are dressed to go to a wedding, we are paying hundreds of dollars a night for this hotel, from what we gather the bellmen don't do anything besides give the false advertisement of service, and after about 2 minutes, literally 2 minutes of trying to get a cab, he comes back inside and tells us to walk down the street for a few blocks and get our own cab! I immediately go to the front desk and tell them what's going on and they send someone else out to start flagging them down. I understand cabs don't take calls in the French Quarter, but if you're a hotel that promises that kind of service, don't tell your paying customers to walk out in the rain dressed for a wedding because you don't feel likearranging a cab, or helping carry our bags and showing us where our room is. The only reason I would recommend this hotel is because of the location, but for the price, you can find a lot better service and better quality rooms than here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeerTourist
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Good Location. Room recently renovated.

The room I stayed in had recently been redone. It's much better than a couple of years ago. The hotel itself is situated in the French Quarter and is very near the Mississippi. Nearby there is both a coffee shop and a brewery/restaurant. In the center of the hotel buildings is a nice courtyard, which is a good place to get away from the noise of the quarter. One issue I had is that the cleaning staff was loud and tended to come by far too early (9 AM was typical) for a hotel in the French Quarter. I hung the "do not disturb" sign, yet could hear the staff talking loudly in the hall or playing music in the room across the hall while cleaning. One morning, with the sign up, they telephoned the room to see if I needed extra towels. I had been out late and didn't appreciate it. I'd like to see coffee available in the lobby. It was difficult to find any on Christmas morning. Overall, the location is good and the rooms are nice. Just be prepared to be woken early, regardless of how late you might have been out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crescent City Brewhouse is about 3 doors down. Good beer, fresh oysters, good food, and polite staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swimlady60
Business
Mississippi
Jan 16, 2014

Over night visit

This hotel is very nice for the price. Location is good and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KB7727
Business
Newport Beach, CA
May 23, 2014

awesome hotel

great hotel, lovely patio and pool area and it is in a great location in NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony and Samantha
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 12, 2014

Windows?

Great location, friendly staff and good value. Only complaint is that our room didn't have any windows! Weird right? I know. Other than that it was Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephanie K.
Business
Rochester
Feb 20, 2015

Great architecture and location, horrible everything else

No fridge, no breakfast. When we checked in, there were dirty towels in the bathroom and a giant red puddle of something sticky on the nightstand. I tried to make coffee the first day and the coffee pot didn't work. I tried again the second day and realized the maid hadn't restocked the coffee supply or noticed that I had accidentally left the filters in from the previous day. I left it as a test and the maid didn't touch it for the full week of our stay. Staff was rude to us, insisting that we wear bracelets (like the kind you wear at the water park) because it happened to be the week of Mardi Gras. Security would not let us in unless we wore the bracelets. I initially tried negotiating with the staff, making it clear that we were on a family vacation (with children) and would be coming and going during daylight hours. We were hardly the typical Mardi Gras guests. I explained that the bracelets might make us targets as tourists to be robbed (after all, the area is notorious for it's crime rate). And the staff would not compromise. I asked if I could simply carry the bracelets and was told, "no." When I pay $300/night for a hotel, I expect to be treated with more respect. The building itself is beautiful, if you're looking for authentic New Orleans architecture. And it's located right at the heart of the best parts of the French quarter. We hit every museum, monument, and attraction quickly and with ease because they are all within walking distance (less than two miles).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liz party it up
Business
denver, co
Jan 21, 2014

VERY CONFORTABLE

the bed was the best ever slept in. hit the pillow and went right to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChloeBecca91
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jan 20, 2014

Nice hotel, okay stay

For starters, I reserved our room for 4 ppl. When we arrived, the hotel lady said I only reserved for 2 so she charged us $120 extra. We got free wifi which was nice. When we reached our room, I checked my email and it said I resereved for four ppl, so I took my IPAD down and showed her and she gave me my money back with apologies for it being messed up. Also, parts of the hotel were being renovated so in order to get to our room, we had to take the elevator to the second floor, then walk through the part that was being renovated and then up a staircase to the third floor landing. The elevator did not reach the third floor. Set up was weird. Seemed like a hassle for the bellhop. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was very clean and bed was super comfy. Bring an extra blanket. No comforter on the bed. Only two thin blankets and sheets but extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Native New Orleanian
Business
New Orleans area
Feb 1, 2014

Great location to be in the heart of the action

Wonderful place with great historic feel. We were there at an off time so if you want a quiet location among the rooms make sure you mention that to the staff. They have rooms away from the street action. But if you want to step out onto the street and be steps away from everything , this is the right place. Check out Johnny's poor boys (and breakfast) around the corner for a casual old New Orleans neighborhood joint. Very good and not expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hoi Polloi ladies boutique. Napoleon house for drinks around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jones of mississippi
Business
Mississippi
Feb 3, 2014

Good trip

Very good location.... Working on hotel, that wasn't said or told. Had great time, staff was perfect!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top