$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

French Market Inn

3 stars
501 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
24 reviews
Great stay

Love this place! Great location, friendly staff. Would highly recommend staying here. See full review

  • Anthony S.
  • Oct 6, 2014
French Quarter Charm

We weren't sure what to expect because we got such a great price. It was a better experience than I... See full review

  • Gail 0622
  • Sep 13, 2014
Historic hotel offers central French Quarter location, courtyard

Brush up on your New Orleans history at this historic inn. The hotel was built in the 1800s for Baron and Baroness Joseph Xavier de Pontalba, and it was the government house when Louisiana was still a French colony. Today's budget-minded tourists can appreciate the proximity to the party without paying Bourbon Street prices. The hotel's staff is eager to make reservations and help with vacation planning. 

Highlights
  • Quaint courtyard
  • Convenient French Quarter location
  • Emphasis on personal service
Rooms

The 127 guest rooms surround a courtyard. Rooms are individually decorated, some with antiques, brass beds and exposed brick walls.  Each room features basic conveniences, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable TV and a coffee maker.

Features

This hotel has no food service, but it is steps from the bustling French Market. Nearby Marie Laveau's Voodoo Bar is a fun, moodily lit spot for a drink. The hotel's courtyard makes for a quiet picnic location.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)
  • Short walk to Riverfront Streetcar line

Attractions
  • Bourbon Street
  • Jackson Square
  • French Market
  • Cigar Factory New Orleans and Museum
  • Jax Brewery
  • Woldenberg Park
Policies and fees
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a fee of $4.95 per night for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9552 -90.0642
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong Airport -MSY- 12 miles
Area description
501 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130, USHeart of French Quarter - 2 blocks to Bourbon Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed French Market Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

French Market Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room complete with One Queen size bed. Maximum 2 guests recommended per room.

Amenities

General
Concierge

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jade22
Business
New York, NY
Mar 13, 2014

Excellent Location

The hotel was in the perfect location, close to absolutely everything. My room was really nice and cozy. The staff was very cordial and informative; they made excellent recommendations. It's 2 blocks from Cafe du Monde, couple of blocks from Bourbon Street, very close to many great restaurants. I highly recommend and will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the airport shuttle, it's better than taking a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Compliance to go
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 8, 2014

A hidden gem

After reading a few reviews I was a trifle apprehensive about staying here. I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was beautiful with a lovely view of the inner courtyard. Every amenity was available. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had a wonderful stay and would visit again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StaceK
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 29, 2014

Perfect stay

Our stay at the French Market Inn was perfect. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel is located within walking distance of many attractions, and it was very clean. I highly recommend this hotel and the next time we visit New Orleans, this is where we will stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunbear 61
Business
Palm Springs CA
Sep 3, 2014

New Orleans Weekend

This accommodation could not have been better, Recently remodeled historic building is just the deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants that are only a very short walk , prove to be just WONDERFUL for authentic New Orleans Cuisine at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gail 0622
Business
Virginia
Sep 13, 2014

French Quarter Charm

We weren't sure what to expect because we got such a great price. It was a better experience than I could have hoped for. I understood from other reviewers that the room would be small but it was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The courtyard is beautiful and very relaxing. The area is very safe and within walking distance to anywhere in the French Quarter. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I hope to have the opportunity to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anthony S.
Business
Stamford, Ct.
Oct 6, 2014

Great stay

Love this place! Great location, friendly staff. Would highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liz party it up
Business
denver, co
Jan 21, 2014

VERY CONFORTABLE

the bed was the best ever slept in. hit the pillow and went right to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChloeBecca91
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jan 20, 2014

Nice hotel, okay stay

For starters, I reserved our room for 4 ppl. When we arrived, the hotel lady said I only reserved for 2 so she charged us $120 extra. We got free wifi which was nice. When we reached our room, I checked my email and it said I resereved for four ppl, so I took my IPAD down and showed her and she gave me my money back with apologies for it being messed up. Also, parts of the hotel were being renovated so in order to get to our room, we had to take the elevator to the second floor, then walk through the part that was being renovated and then up a staircase to the third floor landing. The elevator did not reach the third floor. Set up was weird. Seemed like a hassle for the bellhop. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was very clean and bed was super comfy. Bring an extra blanket. No comforter on the bed. Only two thin blankets and sheets but extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Native New Orleanian
Business
New Orleans area
Feb 1, 2014

Great location to be in the heart of the action

Wonderful place with great historic feel. We were there at an off time so if you want a quiet location among the rooms make sure you mention that to the staff. They have rooms away from the street action. But if you want to step out onto the street and be steps away from everything , this is the right place. Check out Johnny's poor boys (and breakfast) around the corner for a casual old New Orleans neighborhood joint. Very good and not expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hoi Polloi ladies boutique. Napoleon house for drinks around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jones of mississippi
Business
Mississippi
Feb 3, 2014

Good trip

Very good location.... Working on hotel, that wasn't said or told. Had great time, staff was perfect!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top