$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

French Market Inn

3 stars
View map of 509 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FRQTRFAN
TN
Aug 4, 2012

Outstanding!

Excellent location within walking distance to Cafe' du Monde, Jackson Square, French Market, Margaritaville, Bourbon St. etc. The hotel itself is charming and quaint, with just enough modern conveniences to be comfortable while not detracting from the overall antique ambiance. Front desk staff were all helpful and friendly. This place is a gem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just park across the street from the hotel. For $25.00 per day you're close to your car and you don't have to trust it to a valet. If you lose your ticket you're charged a flat rate of $40.00 My advice is to lose your ticket...

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Business
PA
Mar 18, 2014

French Market Inn Review

Good Experience overall. Good location in French Quarter. Clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jones of mississippi
Business
Mississippi
Feb 3, 2014

Good trip

Very good location.... Working on hotel, that wasn't said or told. Had great time, staff was perfect!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Native New Orleanian
Business
New Orleans area
Feb 1, 2014

Great location to be in the heart of the action

Wonderful place with great historic feel. We were there at an off time so if you want a quiet location among the rooms make sure you mention that to the staff. They have rooms away from the street action. But if you want to step out onto the street and be steps away from everything , this is the right place. Check out Johnny's poor boys (and breakfast) around the corner for a casual old New Orleans neighborhood joint. Very good and not expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hoi Polloi ladies boutique. Napoleon house for drinks around the corner

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liz party it up
Business
denver, co
Jan 21, 2014

VERY CONFORTABLE

the bed was the best ever slept in. hit the pillow and went right to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChloeBecca91
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jan 20, 2014

Nice hotel, okay stay

For starters, I reserved our room for 4 ppl. When we arrived, the hotel lady said I only reserved for 2 so she charged us $120 extra. We got free wifi which was nice. When we reached our room, I checked my email and it said I resereved for four ppl, so I took my IPAD down and showed her and she gave me my money back with apologies for it being messed up. Also, parts of the hotel were being renovated so in order to get to our room, we had to take the elevator to the second floor, then walk through the part that was being renovated and then up a staircase to the third floor landing. The elevator did not reach the third floor. Set up was weird. Seemed like a hassle for the bellhop. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was very clean and bed was super comfy. Bring an extra blanket. No comforter on the bed. Only two thin blankets and sheets but extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swimlady60
Business
Mississippi
Jan 16, 2014

Over night visit

This hotel is very nice for the price. Location is good and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeerTourist
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Good Location. Room recently renovated.

The room I stayed in had recently been redone. It's much better than a couple of years ago. The hotel itself is situated in the French Quarter and is very near the Mississippi. Nearby there is both a coffee shop and a brewery/restaurant. In the center of the hotel buildings is a nice courtyard, which is a good place to get away from the noise of the quarter. One issue I had is that the cleaning staff was loud and tended to come by far too early (9 AM was typical) for a hotel in the French Quarter. I hung the "do not disturb" sign, yet could hear the staff talking loudly in the hall or playing music in the room across the hall while cleaning. One morning, with the sign up, they telephoned the room to see if I needed extra towels. I had been out late and didn't appreciate it. I'd like to see coffee available in the lobby. It was difficult to find any on Christmas morning. Overall, the location is good and the rooms are nice. Just be prepared to be woken early, regardless of how late you might have been out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crescent City Brewhouse is about 3 doors down. Good beer, fresh oysters, good food, and polite staff.

Back to menu Return to top