$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

French Market Inn

3 stars
View map of 509 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Creighton
Shreveport
Oct 25, 2011

Great hotel

Freindly staff and very well updated. This hotel is also in the greatest location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony and Samantha
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 12, 2014

Windows?

Great location, friendly staff and good value. Only complaint is that our room didn't have any windows! Weird right? I know. Other than that it was Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Compliance to go
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 8, 2014

A hidden gem

After reading a few reviews I was a trifle apprehensive about staying here. I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was beautiful with a lovely view of the inner courtyard. Every amenity was available. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had a wonderful stay and would visit again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMA TravelinMom
Business
Williamsburg, Virginia
Jun 2, 2014

Best Location for Value

We stayed at FMI about 9 years ago and decided to try again and were exceptionally pleased with the renovations done since then. A perfect blend of modern-ness with that true New Orleans' feel. Our favorite is sitting in the brick courtyard with a drink at the end of the evening, quiet and removed from all the activity on Decatur. Check-in was effortless and our room was ready before noon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Chocolate Pecan Crunch at Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House.

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exotic Larry
Business
LaGrange, Tx.
May 25, 2014

good location

Good location, comfortable rooms at a great price. Only complaint would be the bathroom hair dryer and shower soap dish needs to be mounted on the wall not on the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KB7727
Business
Newport Beach, CA
May 23, 2014

awesome hotel

great hotel, lovely patio and pool area and it is in a great location in NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peteyvegas
Business
Freehold, N.J.
May 6, 2014

Perfect location--small room.

Let me get the bad out of the way first. This was the smallest room I've ever been in. There was a fridge cabinet with no fridge and about a half of a closet. Therefore, only 4 sock drawers were available. Meanwhile, the location was perfect. Could not be better. The rooms were clean and staff very friendly and helpful. The courtyard between the buildings was very down home New Orleans and it included a small (7x12'?) pool which we needed the first couple of days. We were able to navigate the French Quarter entirely in about 20 minutes and it was convenient to Uptown and the Garden District. We were never away from any site more than 20-30 minutes. I would go back there in a heartbeat but not for 8 days. I need a dresser and full sized closet. If the hotel was to remedy the space situation (nothing could be done about the size of the room, of course), we would return in a heartbeat. If you're looking for amenities or big hotel services, this is not for you. But if you need a clean room in a perfect location with a very nice staff. This is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go by word of mouth on dining. There are some large restaurants that make you think they're very good when in fact, not so good. Do not miss an opportunity to dine at the Commanders' Palace. A must do!

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New York Jazz fester
Business
Brooklyn, ny
May 5, 2014

Jazz Fest stay

Lovely hotel and helpful staff. Great location, right near Jackson square and river walk. Nice coffee house next door . Only complaint would be the noise in the hallway real comes in your room, but that didn't happen much. Also, the window didn't open and had trouble figuring out the thermostat . I paid double the normal rate because of Jazz Fest, still think it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KB7727
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Apr 22, 2014

Great location in French quarter and awesome hotel patio

The hotel patio is beautiful, staff was very friendly and helpful with checking in early and keeping our bags after we checked out while we were still in town. It is in a great spot in the French quarter, right on Decatur street but it isn't too loud or anything especially if your room is by the patio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlleyParis
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 1, 2014

Charm and character!

My boyfriend and I booked the trip to NOLA to get a break from long Michigan winter. We consulted several friends who had been there before and heard about French Market Inn by word of mouth. It was a great value for inside the French Quarter and had wonderful ambiance. The room was small, but cozy. The courtyard was beautiful. Rooms could have been better insulated, but we didn't mind too much. There seemed to be constant construction going on around us, but it was only a minor inconvenience. The location, wonderful staff, character of hotel and value made it worth it. I look forward to returning in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Business
PA
Mar 18, 2014

French Market Inn Review

Good Experience overall. Good location in French Quarter. Clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top