$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

French Market Inn

3 stars
View map of 509 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emberdragon Jessie
Business
Irwin
Feb 9, 2015

Fun Mini Vacation

The hotel was nice and very quaint. The room was clean, it had the historic feel of an old inn. The staff was super friendly and the room had working a/c (we went in August so this was a must). I would most definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont just settle for the popular restaurants, you can eat at a less crowded restaurant for the same price and the food is just as great if not better.

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn
Business
Amherst
Feb 9, 2015

Great long weekend in Nola

The French Market Inn was definitely a huge surprise. You get to the doorway and don't think too much about the outside, with hippies sitting just around the corner on the floor, but once you walk in, you are definitely transported to a high-end looking hotel feel. I loved the mix of the old (courtyard, building, rustic-ness) and the old (new pool, great lobby). The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The one thing you cannot beat is location. We walked everywhere from our hotel and it was an easy walk to almost everywhere (except the Garden District). Also, I love cats and Patrick (hotel cat that lives by the stairs) is so cute and very friendly. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Nola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fiorella's has the best fried green tomatoes and fried chicken EVER. Bartender is not friendly but everyone else is amazing!

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayreen Green
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

One night in New Orleans

The hotel was great. Quite, pretty, clean and the people were friendly. I dropped my money on the floor when I checked in and went o get my things and the bell man brought it over to me and said he thought I might have dropped it. Big thumbs up! The only negative was the person in the room next door turned their TV on VERY loud, very early. Not the hotels fault. Close to walk anywhere in the French Quarter and my room had a window in it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at this Hotel! It was really really nice.

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LN2013
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Great Value

Great Value! Small room, nothing fancy but was more than enough space for two people to relax comfortably. We were within walking distance to just about everything (Cafe du Monde, Bourbon St, Frenchman St) We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and traffic outside of the hotel was terrible (not their fault), we had a difficult time pulling in to a spot in order to have our car parked. Leaving on Monday morning posed no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt P.
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

Charming, but it's NOLA

Hotel is very close to the middle of activities, but not so close as to be offputting--superb location. Staff is incredibly helpful/knowledgeable. Rooms are a charming combination of old world and modern amenities. Our only issue was noise level of the other clientele. Late one night, a large and drunken party checked in right across the hall--yes, we should have expected it in New Orleans. But it was only after two warnings in three hours from the hotel staff that the noise level came back down enough for us to sleep. Hotel staff did everything they could short of bouncing the offenders, and moved us to another room as soon as one became available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margaret B.
Business
Kalamazoo
Jan 25, 2015

Great Location

Located a minute from Bourbon St, this location cannot be beat. This hotel was clean, and small but cute. I paid for an interior room, and they upgraded me because they had open rooms (it was a Tuesday-Thursday stay). Id recommend this hotel. Friendly staff, and as I said the location cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tiledel
Business
Saint Louis
Jan 24, 2015

Weekend in the French Quarter

The French Market Inn was swell. Our room was cozy - one skylight and no actual window, but we really didn't miss it. Didn't hear the sounds from the street and only sometimes heard the people outside. Staff was friendly. Location was great for the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori M.
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Great for the budget-conscious

We arrived very early and were unable to check in at that time but the hotel held out luggage for us so we could explore a bit and get something to eat. A few (very short) hours later, the room was ready and we were checked in early. We opted for a room with no windows (cheapest option) and were very happy with our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the French quarter who doesn't want to spend an arm and a leg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terje B.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

French Market Inn

French Martket Inn is a wonderful maze of historic buildings around a central courtyard. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for the French Quarter. You are close to the action but have none of the drawbacks of noise on the street. Johnny's Po-Boy around the corner on St. Louis is a treat for a real local breakfast. At French Market Inn you get quality and atmosphere for a reasonable price. I plan to stay there when I return to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When at the French Market Inn take your breakfast or lunch at Johnny's Po-Boy restaurant just around the corner from the hotel on St. Louis. Its a local place with good New Olreans food for a great price.

Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tisha C.
Business
Lake Charles
Jan 7, 2015

Perfect getaway

We were there for a little birthday weekend getaway. The hotel was in an ideal location in the quarter. Rooms were clean and bed was super comfortable, wanted to take it home with me, lol. Love the quaint old world style. Courtyard was quiet and beautiful. Staff was great and always helpful. Patrick the courtyard resident cat was really sweet and quite a home away from home treat. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots great dining and attractions within walking distance of the hotel. No real need to drive anywhere once we arrived.

Back to menu Return to top