$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 9, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

French Market Inn

3 stars
509 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
40 reviews
French Market Inn

French Martket Inn is a wonderful maze of historic buildings around a central courtyard. The staff... See full review

  • Terje B.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Family getaway

We absolutely loved every thing about this hotel. It is the perfect location to walk to all the... See full review

  • suzy1972
  • Nov 18, 2014
Preserving the charm of the past while offering the beauty of the present, the Historic French Market Inn's comfortable guest rooms feature a variety of decors and exquisite furnishings. It's richly detailed decor and antique furnishings are accented with modern details in every room.

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.

Valet parking available for $28 per night, oversize vehicles $30 per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed French Market Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

French Market Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room complete with One Queen size bed. Maximum 2 guests recommended per room.

Amenities

General
Concierge

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RRempala
Chicago, IL
Dec 19, 2012

Stay There!

The staff at the hotel was so nice, Nancy the front desk lady was extremely helful and very sweet. The whole staff was really nice, the hotel is a landmark, a historical building and is located in the center of everywhere you would want to go in the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Every restaurant or bar is just a 5 minute walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tiledel
Business
Saint Louis
Jan 24, 2015

Weekend in the French Quarter

The French Market Inn was swell. Our room was cozy - one skylight and no actual window, but we really didn't miss it. Didn't hear the sounds from the street and only sometimes heard the people outside. Staff was friendly. Location was great for the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori M.
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Great for the budget-conscious

We arrived very early and were unable to check in at that time but the hotel held out luggage for us so we could explore a bit and get something to eat. A few (very short) hours later, the room was ready and we were checked in early. We opted for a room with no windows (cheapest option) and were very happy with our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the French quarter who doesn't want to spend an arm and a leg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terje B.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

French Market Inn

French Martket Inn is a wonderful maze of historic buildings around a central courtyard. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for the French Quarter. You are close to the action but have none of the drawbacks of noise on the street. Johnny's Po-Boy around the corner on St. Louis is a treat for a real local breakfast. At French Market Inn you get quality and atmosphere for a reasonable price. I plan to stay there when I return to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When at the French Market Inn take your breakfast or lunch at Johnny's Po-Boy restaurant just around the corner from the hotel on St. Louis. Its a local place with good New Olreans food for a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tisha C.
Business
Lake Charles
Jan 7, 2015

Perfect getaway

We were there for a little birthday weekend getaway. The hotel was in an ideal location in the quarter. Rooms were clean and bed was super comfortable, wanted to take it home with me, lol. Love the quaint old world style. Courtyard was quiet and beautiful. Staff was great and always helpful. Patrick the courtyard resident cat was really sweet and quite a home away from home treat. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots great dining and attractions within walking distance of the hotel. No real need to drive anywhere once we arrived.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alisa R.
Business
Oakland
Jan 7, 2015

NOLA stay

Very nice hotel in center of French Quater. Walked everywhere, staff was fine/nice. Very small room but nicely decorated in French Quater look. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ickanyc
Business
honolulu
Dec 29, 2014

Single, lesiure trip

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I had a room with high ceilings, without windows--not a big deal since the room was just used for sleeping and I relaxed in the courtyard in the morning. The room was very clean (especially the bathroom). Comparable to a lower-spectrum four-star or higher-spectrum three-star chain hotel (in cleanliness and decor, not amenities). The best feature of the hotel was its location: one block south from Cafe Du Monde and a walk along the river, around the corner from Emeril's NOLA, two blocks south of the famous muffaleta place (Central Grocery?), a few blocks south of the French Market. The walls facing the hallway were a little thin (I heard noisy, drunk neighbors going back to their room), but walls between rooms seem thicker. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ickanyc
Business
honolulu
Dec 16, 2014

Single, lesiure trip

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I had a room with high ceilings, without windows--not a big deal since the room was just used for sleeping and I relaxed in the courtyard in the morning. The room was very clean (especially the bathroom). Comparable to a lower-spectrum four-star or higher-spectrum three-star chain hotel (in cleanliness and decor, not amenities). The best feature of the hotel was its location: one block south from Cafe Du Monde and a walk along the river, around the corner from Emeril's NOLA, two blocks south of the famous muffaleta place (Central Grocery?), a few blocks south of the French Market. The walls facing the hallway were a little thin (I heard noisy, drunk neighbors going back to their room), but walls between rooms seem thicker. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fit and Fab
Business
Arlington, TX
Dec 2, 2014

Holiday Weekend

We were given a fabulous room. It is a maze in the hotel but it added to the allure of the location. Great friendly staff. There is no refrig which would have been nice and only one ice machine which happened to be a trek away from the room. The hotel is just in a great place. Check in & out is a little harried and we actually missed the hotel entrance twice because it is so small but well worth the find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grill - Diner type atmosphere, they pack you in tightly so everyone can find a seat but really good food and very well priced especially for the quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ED uiwmc
Business
New Hampshire
Nov 26, 2014

would stay there agin in a different roo

good location, great little courtyard no windows in my room and could not switch to another even though I was there for 7 days, No lobby coffee or any kind of breakfast it was a comfortable bed. not bad for a dungeon room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mthib21
Business
Lafayette louisiana
Nov 22, 2014

Heart of New Orleans

Great Location. Great staff. Clean room. Really can't ask for much more. Right on the french wuater and Burbon Street but still a nice quiet hotel. can't beat it. I Have stayed here multiple. Times and am always pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to French Quater. Walking distance to House of Blues which is an amazing place to watch a show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top