$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 17, 2015 Check-out: Mar 18, 2015

French Market Inn

3 stars
View map of 509 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
51 reviews
awesome in the quarter

We loved everything about this hotel. Tons of charm and close to all the happenings. The staff was... See full review

  • suzy1972
  • Feb 22, 2015
Good times

Awesome staff. Good rooms and great location. We will be back. See full review

  • mychal p.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Historic hotel offers central French Quarter location, courtyard

Brush up on your New Orleans history at this historic inn. French Market Inn was built in the 1800s for Baron and Baroness Joseph Xavier de Pontalba, and it was the government house when Louisiana was still a French colony. Today's budget-minded tourists can appreciate the proximity to the party without paying Bourbon Street prices. The hotel's staff is eager to make reservations and help with vacation planning. 

Highlights
  • Quaint courtyard
  • Convenient French Quarter location
  • Emphasis on personal service
Rooms

The 127 guest rooms surround a courtyard. Rooms are individually decorated, some with antiques, brass beds and exposed brick walls.  Each room features basic conveniences, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable TV and a coffee maker.

Features

French Market Inn has no food service, but it is steps from the bustling French Market. Nearby Marie Laveau's Voodoo Bar is a fun, moodily lit spot for a drink. The hotel's courtyard makes for a quiet picnic location.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)
  • Short walk to Riverfront Streetcar line

Attractions
  • Bourbon Street
  • Jackson Square
  • French Market
  • Cigar Factory New Orleans and Museum
  • Jax Brewery
  • Woldenberg Park
Policies and fees
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a fee of $4.95 per night for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed French Market Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

French Market Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room complete with One Queen size bed. Maximum 2 guests recommended per room.

Amenities

General
Concierge

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Creighton
Shreveport
Oct 25, 2011

Great hotel

Freindly staff and very well updated. This hotel is also in the greatest location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fabi
Business
Salt Lake City
Feb 25, 2015

Great hotel in a nice location

We came to New Orleans for a long weekend. This hotel is very well located, right in the French quarter. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and located in the back of the hotel in a quiet area ( we had to go through a lovely patio to access our room). The only minus point is that the room was not very well insulated in terms of noise (we could sometimes hear the neighbors walking around).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moebiwan
Business
Gulf Breeze
Feb 24, 2015

Short trip to the quarter

My partner and I stayed for two nights and had a great time in the city and at the hotel. The room (and entire hotel) was clean, inviting, and very comfortable for us and the location was perfect. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Donz
Business
Greensboro
Feb 23, 2015

Weekend Couples Trip!

This hotel was in a perfect location, walking distance from everything. The value for the money was good, the hotel is an old building so noise was an issue (not from the outside, but from neighboring rooms) Room was VERY small but very nice and very clean. Staff was wonderful. Breakfast would be nice, but there were some great, walkable places nearby. Overall, a very nice choice for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suzy1972
Business
N/A
Feb 22, 2015

awesome in the quarter

We loved everything about this hotel. Tons of charm and close to all the happenings. The staff was wonderful. They even babysit my grandchild's hermit crab while we were out. I hope to stay there if we go back to Nola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephanie K.
Business
Rochester
Feb 20, 2015

Great architecture and location, horrible everything else

No fridge, no breakfast. When we checked in, there were dirty towels in the bathroom and a giant red puddle of something sticky on the nightstand. I tried to make coffee the first day and the coffee pot didn't work. I tried again the second day and realized the maid hadn't restocked the coffee supply or noticed that I had accidentally left the filters in from the previous day. I left it as a test and the maid didn't touch it for the full week of our stay. Staff was rude to us, insisting that we wear bracelets (like the kind you wear at the water park) because it happened to be the week of Mardi Gras. Security would not let us in unless we wore the bracelets. I initially tried negotiating with the staff, making it clear that we were on a family vacation (with children) and would be coming and going during daylight hours. We were hardly the typical Mardi Gras guests. I explained that the bracelets might make us targets as tourists to be robbed (after all, the area is notorious for it's crime rate). And the staff would not compromise. I asked if I could simply carry the bracelets and was told, "no." When I pay $300/night for a hotel, I expect to be treated with more respect. The building itself is beautiful, if you're looking for authentic New Orleans architecture. And it's located right at the heart of the best parts of the French quarter. We hit every museum, monument, and attraction quickly and with ease because they are all within walking distance (less than two miles).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mychal p.
Business
chandler
Feb 18, 2015

Good times

Awesome staff. Good rooms and great location. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emberdragon Jessie
Business
Irwin
Feb 9, 2015

Fun Mini Vacation

The hotel was nice and very quaint. The room was clean, it had the historic feel of an old inn. The staff was super friendly and the room had working a/c (we went in August so this was a must). I would most definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont just settle for the popular restaurants, you can eat at a less crowded restaurant for the same price and the food is just as great if not better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn
Business
Amherst
Feb 9, 2015

Great long weekend in Nola

The French Market Inn was definitely a huge surprise. You get to the doorway and don't think too much about the outside, with hippies sitting just around the corner on the floor, but once you walk in, you are definitely transported to a high-end looking hotel feel. I loved the mix of the old (courtyard, building, rustic-ness) and the old (new pool, great lobby). The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The one thing you cannot beat is location. We walked everywhere from our hotel and it was an easy walk to almost everywhere (except the Garden District). Also, I love cats and Patrick (hotel cat that lives by the stairs) is so cute and very friendly. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Nola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fiorella's has the best fried green tomatoes and fried chicken EVER. Bartender is not friendly but everyone else is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayreen Green
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

One night in New Orleans

The hotel was great. Quite, pretty, clean and the people were friendly. I dropped my money on the floor when I checked in and went o get my things and the bell man brought it over to me and said he thought I might have dropped it. Big thumbs up! The only negative was the person in the room next door turned their TV on VERY loud, very early. Not the hotels fault. Close to walk anywhere in the French Quarter and my room had a window in it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at this Hotel! It was really really nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LN2013
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Great Value

Great Value! Small room, nothing fancy but was more than enough space for two people to relax comfortably. We were within walking distance to just about everything (Cafe du Monde, Bourbon St, Frenchman St) We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and traffic outside of the hotel was terrible (not their fault), we had a difficult time pulling in to a spot in order to have our car parked. Leaving on Monday morning posed no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top