$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

French Market Inn

3 stars
501 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
23 reviews
French Quarter Charm

We weren't sure what to expect because we got such a great price. It was a better experience than I... See full review

  • Gail 0622
  • Sep 13, 2014
New Orleans Weekend

This accommodation could not have been better, Recently remodeled historic building is just the deal. See full review

  • Sunbear 61
  • Sep 3, 2014
Historic hotel offers central French Quarter location, courtyard

Brush up on your New Orleans history at this historic inn. The hotel was built in the 1800s for Baron and Baroness Joseph Xavier de Pontalba, and it was the government house when Louisiana was still a French colony. Today's budget-minded tourists can appreciate the proximity to the party without paying Bourbon Street prices. The hotel's staff is eager to make reservations and help with vacation planning. 

Highlights
  • Quaint courtyard
  • Convenient French Quarter location
  • Emphasis on personal service
Rooms

The 127 guest rooms surround a courtyard. Rooms are individually decorated, some with antiques, brass beds and exposed brick walls.  Each room features basic conveniences, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable TV and a coffee maker.

Features

This hotel has no food service, but it is steps from the bustling French Market. Nearby Marie Laveau's Voodoo Bar is a fun, moodily lit spot for a drink. The hotel's courtyard makes for a quiet picnic location.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)
  • Short walk to Riverfront Streetcar line

Attractions
  • Bourbon Street
  • Jackson Square
  • French Market
  • Cigar Factory New Orleans and Museum
  • Jax Brewery
  • Woldenberg Park
Policies and fees
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a fee of $4.95 per night for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9552 -90.0642
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong Airport -MSY- 12 miles
Area description
501 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130, USHeart of French Quarter - 2 blocks to Bourbon Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed French Market Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

French Market Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room complete with One Queen size bed. Maximum 2 guests recommended per room.

Amenities

General
Concierge

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.7 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for French Market Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gail 0622
Virginia
Sep 13, 2014

French Quarter Charm

We weren't sure what to expect because we got such a great price. It was a better experience than I could have hoped for. I understood from other reviewers that the room would be small but it was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The courtyard is beautiful and very relaxing. The area is very safe and within walking distance to anywhere in the French Quarter. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I hope to have the opportunity to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunbear 61
Palm Springs CA
Sep 3, 2014

New Orleans Weekend

This accommodation could not have been better, Recently remodeled historic building is just the deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants that are only a very short walk , prove to be just WONDERFUL for authentic New Orleans Cuisine at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sadi85
Jamaica, NY
Aug 22, 2014

Fantastic place in New orleans

Very very good customer service, very very good location and doesn't feel like a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antonio21
Langley Park, MD
Aug 13, 2014

will be back here

Perfect to release stress and safe area plenty of area to eat and shop....close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coonassadeaux
Jennings, la
Jul 10, 2014

Location and value

Just took a couple of nights in town to have fun. Location was great for visiting the Quarters!! Everything just a short walk away. I booked the room in advance and searches for cheaper dates. Just a little research a nd got the two night for under $130

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StaceK
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 29, 2014

Perfect stay

Our stay at the French Market Inn was perfect. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel is located within walking distance of many attractions, and it was very clean. I highly recommend this hotel and the next time we visit New Orleans, this is where we will stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony and Samantha
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 12, 2014

Windows?

Great location, friendly staff and good value. Only complaint is that our room didn't have any windows! Weird right? I know. Other than that it was Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Compliance to go
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 8, 2014

A hidden gem

After reading a few reviews I was a trifle apprehensive about staying here. I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was beautiful with a lovely view of the inner courtyard. Every amenity was available. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had a wonderful stay and would visit again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMA TravelinMom
Williamsburg, Virginia
Jun 2, 2014

Best Location for Value

We stayed at FMI about 9 years ago and decided to try again and were exceptionally pleased with the renovations done since then. A perfect blend of modern-ness with that true New Orleans' feel. Our favorite is sitting in the brick courtyard with a drink at the end of the evening, quiet and removed from all the activity on Decatur. Check-in was effortless and our room was ready before noon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Chocolate Pecan Crunch at Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of French Market Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exotic Larry
LaGrange, Tx.
May 25, 2014

good location

Good location, comfortable rooms at a great price. Only complaint would be the bathroom hair dryer and shower soap dish needs to be mounted on the wall not on the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top