$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2015 Check-out: Aug 11, 2015

Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
58 reviews
Love Drury.

great staff, nice place. I liked the way they handled my needs and requests. Loved the breakfast... See full review

  • Joel G.
  • Jul 23, 2015
Great Hotel

Enjoyed my stay and loved the Happy Hour :) Staff were friendly and my room was prefect. See full review

  • Jessica D.
  • Jul 16, 2015
The Extras Aren't Extra at Drury Hotels. Your great rate includes FREE hot food and cold beverages at our 5:30 Kickback. FREE hot breakfast, FREE wireless Internet access and FREE long distance. Our 5:30 Kickback includes a rotating menu of hot and cold items, beer, wine, soda, mixed drinks and more -subject to state and local laws-. Don't miss our great QUIKSTART breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, sausage, Belgian waffles, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, bagels, and pastries. Take advantage of FREE popcorn and soda every evening from 3-10 p.m. as well as our complimentary exercise room and 24 hour business center. The Drury Inn and Suites is housed within the historic Cumberland Phone building located at Poydras and Carondelet within walking distance to the world famous French Quarter and its many shops and restaurants. This hotel offers 156 standard guest rooms and a courtyard swimming pool. Drury owns and operates all of our hotels so you can expect the same great value, friendly service, cleanliness and comfort at every location. All cars will be valet parked at a fee of $25.00 plus tax per day. Self parking is not available at this hotel. In/out privileges are available at no additional charge. J.D. Power has recognized Drury Hotels with the award for "Highest in Guest Satisfaction Among Mid-Scale Hotel Chains, Nine Years in a Row". Rooms with pets will be charged a daily cleaning fee of $10 per room plus tax. Service animals are welcome free of charge. Limit of two pets per room.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Rooms

Double Deluxe
Room with 2 double beds include comfortable seating area, iron/ironing board, coffee maker, hairdryer, TV, smoking and non-smoking facilities.
King Deluxe
Room with 1 king bed include comfortable seating area, iron/ironing board, coffee maker, hairdryer, TV, smoking and non-smoking facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 58
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joel G.
Business
N/A
Jul 23, 2015

Love Drury.

great staff, nice place. I liked the way they handled my needs and requests. Loved the breakfast and the dinner. Good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMZCT
Business
Saint Paul
Feb 24, 2015

New Orleans for business

I was attending a conference at the Hyatt in New Orleans but did wanted to find a convenient hotel nearby that was more cost effective. The Drury Inn was only a few blocks away. The room was small but comfortable and the staff helpful. Being in the Central Business District there is not a great selection of nearby restaurants but only a short cab ride to the French Quarter and other places. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S Beccue
Business
Milwaukee WI
Dec 1, 2014

Good business base

Hotel was clean and staff were great. However, the breakfast and supper offerings never changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
etherist0
Business
Houston
Oct 22, 2014

Noisy, wifi barely works.

This hotel is on Poydras, which is a very busy street. My room was on the second floor, facing Poydras. It was impossible to sleep in the morning because the street noise was so loud. The problem is that the hotel has old, SINGLE-PANED windows that do a crummy job of blocking outside noise. They need to upgrade the windows. Also the wifi barely worked in my corner room, and there was no ethernet cable. Would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJET
Business
Islesboro, ME, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Convenient and reasonable

Very convenient location and reasonable cost. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Luke -- great food!

Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Well traveled 2
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Business Adventure

Hotel was in great shape and included good eats and services. Location was within easy walking distance to both my business locations and entertainment sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Out of town
May 8, 2010

Wonderful Surprise!

I was so amazed how beautiful the hotel was on the inside! My room was really grand and beautiful. The desk clerk was really kind. It was like a five star hotel to me. I almost wished I didn't have to go out and could have just stayed in to enjoy the room. The security was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salem
Jun 15, 2008

Traveling Solo & Safe

Covenient and safe location. Close to restaurants, French quarter, trolley etc My room was clean, comfortable, quiet and nicely furnished. Evening drinks and snacks a nice surprise. Breakfast was plentiful and good variety. Staff was helpful and friendly, though I had limited interaction. I was out and about or in my room. Did not have time to use the gym or pool but would have liked it on a hot day. Would recommend this to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Dec 1, 2007

Guest-Centric

This property is in a convenient location in a fine old building and the rooms are large and comfortable. This hotelis all about the guest. The hot breakfast is worth noting as is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In a quiet ares in the CBD and a very short walk to the French Quarter

Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silver City, NM
May 27, 2007

bare minimum

This lobby of this hotel looks very glamarous. Unfortunately, the hotel room itself is not to the same standard. You can tell that the lazyboy sofa was old. The hotel provides shampoo and soap, but no moisterizer. You get good internet connection in each room, provided you bring your own laptop. There's only one desktop computer in the lobby for the whole hotel, and the single printer that was attached can only print black-and-white pages. I have to constantly ask the front desk for paper. The service was OK. The first room I was assigned to was supposed to be non-smoking, but it was heavily saturated with the smell of tobacco. However, I was able to get transferred to another non-smoking room right away. You can not easily reset the time of the clock in the room, as there was no obvious buttons. I asked the front desk to send someone to fix the time (it was set one hour early), but it was only done one day later. I asked for a wake up call two days in a row, but never received any calls. The breakfast is excellent if you stay there one day; the menu (scramble eggs, sausage, cereal, and bananna or apple) is identical from day to day, so gets old on an extended stay. There is free drinks and chips at 5-7PM, but no real snack. For a real meal, you have to go outside to restaurants. I asked the front desk for the nearest restaurant, and the person seemed to have no clue and didn't bother to look it up. There is absolutely no information in my hotel room which gives a list of local restaurants. I walked around, and there was only one restaurant within a few blocks of the hotel. The idiotic elevator requires that you insert your room key before you can go up. You have to wait patiently for the elevator doors to close, and then insert the key several times before it activates; so touchy. Obviously, management thought it's good security to allow anyone to enter the hotel (the main door into the hotel is opened 24/7). Overall, if you do your own research before coming, this hotel is OK for you. If you expect above average service, it's not. You get the bare minimum, plus the same breakfast every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top