$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

3 stars
820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
49 reviews
Definitely the place to stay

I love this place, good location, nice and clean. The staff was great easy and quick check in. The... See full review

  • Dude where's Robin..
  • Aug 16, 2014
Great Stay

Comfortable, secure, friendly staff, and very clean rooms. I will definitely stay there again. See full review

  • Happy Traveler Brit
  • Jul 14, 2014
The Extras Aren't Extra at Drury Hotels. Your great rate includes FREE hot food and cold beverages at our 5:30 Kickback. FREE hot breakfast, FREE wireless Internet access and FREE long distance. Our 5:30 Kickback includes a rotating menu of hot and cold items, beer, wine, soda, mixed drinks and more -subject to state and local laws-. Don't miss our great QUIKSTART breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, sausage, Belgian waffles, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, bagels, and pastries. Take advantage of FREE popcorn and soda every evening from 3-10 p.m. as well as our complimentary exercise room and 24 hour business center. The Drury Inn and Suites is housed within the historic Cumberland Phone building located at Poydras and Carondelet within walking distance to the world famous French Quarter and its many shops and restaurants. This hotel offers 156 standard guest rooms and a courtyard swimming pool. Drury owns and operates all of our hotels so you can expect the same great value, friendly service, cleanliness and comfort at every location. All cars will be valet parked at a fee of $25.00 plus tax per day. Self parking is not available at this hotel. In/out privileges are available at no additional charge. J.D. Power has recognized Drury Hotels with the award for "Highest in Guest Satisfaction Among Mid-Scale Hotel Chains, Nine Years in a Row". Rooms with pets will be charged a daily cleaning fee of $10 per room plus tax. Service animals are welcome free of charge. Limit of two pets per room. Hotel will be under renovation September 22, 2014- February 13, 2015 (completion date subject to change). The hotel will make every effort to minimize construction noise and related disturbance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Rooms

Double Deluxe
Room with 2 double beds include comfortable seating area, iron/ironing board, coffee maker, hairdryer, TV, smoking and non-smoking facilities.
King Deluxe
Room with 1 king bed include comfortable seating area, iron/ironing board, coffee maker, hairdryer, TV, smoking and non-smoking facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salem
Jun 15, 2008

Traveling Solo & Safe

Covenient and safe location. Close to restaurants, French quarter, trolley etc My room was clean, comfortable, quiet and nicely furnished. Evening drinks and snacks a nice surprise. Breakfast was plentiful and good variety. Staff was helpful and friendly, though I had limited interaction. I was out and about or in my room. Did not have time to use the gym or pool but would have liked it on a hot day. Would recommend this to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Apr 5, 2008

Class for a bargain

We intended to stay one night, and extended to stay another. The bed was very comfortable, the furnishings dark wood and classy, the bathroom marble (my only quibble, and it's little: the bathroom door had to be shut before you could get into the bathtub, but so what really). Security was great (you had to have a key card to park, get inside the hotel, use the elevator, etc.). Although we didn't go, there was a happy hour with food every day and a free hot breakfast bar. Location was just a couple of blocks from the French Quarter, in the middle of downtown. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices. Acme Oyster House and Pierre Maspero's for seafood. Mother's on Poydras (same street as hotel) for no-frills po-boy sandwiches, potato salad, etc. Plenty of fine dining options in the Quarter as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MS
Feb 15, 2008

great getaway for a day

Just looking to getaway for then night in the city where I live. Drury in was a very nice hotel. Very satisfied with the complimentary breakfast buffet and cocktails that came with the stay. Would definetly recomend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are multiple resturants within a short waliking distance. New Orleans has so much more to offer than just Burbon street. Although Burbon is right there within walking distance, you would be passing up many other quality resturants on the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 6, 2008

VERY FRIENDLY AND COURTESEY

EVERYTHING WAS VERY GREAT THE LOCATION,SECURRITY, AND THE HOSPITALLTY. NOT ONLY WAS IT ALL OF THAT BUT WE PLAN TO MAKE RESERVEATION NEXT YEAR AT THE SAME PLACE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

IT SEEMS TO HAVE EVERYTHING WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE WHICH WAS VERY CONVEINCE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 15, 2007

Very accommodating facility

The Drury Inn and Suites New Orleans was the best hotel experience my wife and I can remember. The hotel was conveniently located on Poydras Street close to the French Quarter, the Superdome, and the Warehouse District. Inexpensive Self-Parking was available on-site adjacent to the facility. The hotel had a great lobby, a room with a most comfortable Kingsize Bed, a very friendly and helpful staff, complimentary beverages at night, and a hot breakfast in the morning. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we will certainly return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fulton Street - a pedestrian area inclusive of restaurants, cafes, lounges, and entertainment venues situated adjacent to the Harrah's Gaming and Hotel Complex - is within walking distance of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Dec 1, 2007

Guest-Centric

This property is in a convenient location in a fine old building and the rooms are large and comfortable. This hotelis all about the guest. The hot breakfast is worth noting as is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In a quiet ares in the CBD and a very short walk to the French Quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 30, 2007

Great Spot

My family and I had a great stay at the Drury Inn and Suites in New Orleans, LA. The employee?s were very helpful with anything that we needed. They had a great breakfast for you in the morning at no extra cost and drink in the evening if you just want to hang out at the hotel. Very clean, quit and safe place to stay will be on my list to stay there again. Your close to the superdome(five blocks) and close to the river walk, about eight block from bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

To tell you the truth you are really close to everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 15, 2007

everyone went over the top to make my stay a pleasure

The staff was extremely helpful & knowledgeable. The rooms wre clean & roomy. The breakfast was excelant. The motel was close to Everything I went to NewOrleans for. I was extremely satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silver City, NM
May 27, 2007

bare minimum

This lobby of this hotel looks very glamarous. Unfortunately, the hotel room itself is not to the same standard. You can tell that the lazyboy sofa was old. The hotel provides shampoo and soap, but no moisterizer. You get good internet connection in each room, provided you bring your own laptop. There's only one desktop computer in the lobby for the whole hotel, and the single printer that was attached can only print black-and-white pages. I have to constantly ask the front desk for paper. The service was OK. The first room I was assigned to was supposed to be non-smoking, but it was heavily saturated with the smell of tobacco. However, I was able to get transferred to another non-smoking room right away. You can not easily reset the time of the clock in the room, as there was no obvious buttons. I asked the front desk to send someone to fix the time (it was set one hour early), but it was only done one day later. I asked for a wake up call two days in a row, but never received any calls. The breakfast is excellent if you stay there one day; the menu (scramble eggs, sausage, cereal, and bananna or apple) is identical from day to day, so gets old on an extended stay. There is free drinks and chips at 5-7PM, but no real snack. For a real meal, you have to go outside to restaurants. I asked the front desk for the nearest restaurant, and the person seemed to have no clue and didn't bother to look it up. There is absolutely no information in my hotel room which gives a list of local restaurants. I walked around, and there was only one restaurant within a few blocks of the hotel. The idiotic elevator requires that you insert your room key before you can go up. You have to wait patiently for the elevator doors to close, and then insert the key several times before it activates; so touchy. Obviously, management thought it's good security to allow anyone to enter the hotel (the main door into the hotel is opened 24/7). Overall, if you do your own research before coming, this hotel is OK for you. If you expect above average service, it's not. You get the bare minimum, plus the same breakfast every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top