$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
View map of 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
265 reviews
Couple's Weekend Getaway

Location location location! The hotel was perfect. Close to Canal and the other side of The Quarter... See full review

  • Elisabeth B.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great for business or pleasure!

lovely little boutique hotel with big hotel amenities such as a hot breakfast and a free cocktail... See full review

  • Michael O.
  • Mar 9, 2015
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 265
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 22, 2007

This hotel had good and ...

This hotel had good and bad sides. Upon check-in The room we were given was okay. The room that my brother was given had no air conditioning. He was given a room across the street. This room was so full of mildew that you could hardly breathe. We did see others get better rooms. This could have been a great experience but earned a so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corry, PA
Aug 12, 2010

An interesting hotel

It was my first trip to New Orleans and was lucky with the location of this hotel. It was amazingly quiet for only being one block from Broubon Street. The day time front desk staff was pretty helpful, but the night time staff could not have cared less about helping us. When ask a question about where something was or where a good place might be to eat he would just say he did not know, he did not even try. My hotel room was okay, but they did not clean the room very well before we got there (there was pieces of candy under the bed and dresser). The cleaning staff was friendly and seemed to want to help when asked for something. I travel a fair amount and this hotel was okay for the money. Just be prepared to not ask the breakfast staff or night staff for any help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The aquarium is a must see while here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jujan
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 4, 2013

Location, location

The Dauphine Orleans Hotel was close enough to Burbon Street to walk to, but far enough away to be quiet. Our reservation was incorrect, we booked 2 double beds and they gave us one King. They didn't have any other rooms available, so we took the King. They comped our parking (35/day) and gave us extra free drink tickets for the mix up. The bar was not a nice place to hang out. It had a weird musty smell. Took our free drink and went outside to the courtyard. Our room was fine, comfy bed. Very nice helpful staff. Overall good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore, md
Mar 31, 2011

spring break getaway

well located and comfortable accomodations for father/daughter spring break. friendly staff, comfortable beds, adequate continental breakfast, close to french quarter restaurants and fun. fair price for the small but cozy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ON Canada
Nov 9, 2009

Not very fancy

The last trip we stayed at the Omni, we should have returned to that hotel. The location was alright, but the hotel is small and plain. You have to walk through the parking area to get to the restaurant and the elevators. We would not choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joan Farmer
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 17, 2014

Great Family Vacation

Location great. Nice to be in the French Quarter near restaurants etc. Everything within walking distance. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Room average but always kept clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Frenchman Street for great music. Three Muses especially good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanawilltravel
Business
Washington
Oct 9, 2014

getaway

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool was nice, the bed was comfortable. It is an older hotel and the carpet could have been cleaner and was not vacuumed well. It is in walking distance of Jackson Square, Cafe duMonde, the River Walk. We didn't have to leave town as early as checkout and they were great about locking our luggage with the valet so that we could enjoy the city till we had to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can, enjoy a meal at the Court of Two Sisters!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 18, 2007

My review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Lottle disappointed. Dreary hallways. Rooms were fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great partying

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fredrick M.
Business
Michigan
Oct 29, 2012

Yearly Visit

Great location in French Quarter. Convenient to everything, including starting point for St. Charles Trolley, Acme Oyster House, etc. Very quiet despite being only one block from Bourbon. Continental breakfast is good, although we usually went to several nearby eateries. Great little bar on Conti right around the corner (Erin Rose) worth a visit just for the interior & exterior decor, esp near Halloween. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana or Old Coffee Pot for breakfast. Acme Oyster House (best gumbo and bread pudding we've ever had).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimbrik
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay!!

I really have nothing bad to say about Dauphine Orleans Hotel. The location is perfect, our room was great, not much of a view but honestly I did not come to New Orleans to look out my hotel window. My son enjoyed the pool and our breakfast each morning was great. I will most definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top