$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
255 reviews
Dauphine hotel

Great experience! Location is a two blocks away from Bourbon street. Quiet at night! The staff were... See full review

  • Mlene
  • Sep 18, 2014
Home away from home

Great hotel...amazing beds!!! All the staff was very friendly and helpful. You felt at home.... See full review

  • Fantabulous
  • Aug 31, 2014
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 255
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jamie and Paul
Business
NY
Dec 2, 2011

DONT STAY HERE

i stayed 2 nights in room 323 over thanksgiving weeeknd, and this was a HUGE disappointment. the bathroom had mold growing on the ceiling, the showerhead did not work properly, the ceiling in guestroom had clear waterstains on it, which led to that awful mildew odor throughout the room and hallways. our headboard made of suede material was SO GROSSLY STAINED, with god knows what. housekeeper just walked into our room within an hour of checking with no knock or saying anything. she was suprised to see us, weird, because the room had already been cleaned for the next guest. she apologized. 2 drink coupons at may bailey's stunk too, because the "cooler" was broken and we were only offered domestic beer for the inconvenience. and WORST of all, we had super loud people above us who constantly slammed their toilet seat between 5-8a.m., and when we called the front desk at 6am, the issue was not resloved because the slamming continued. i would not stay here again, and if you decide to still stay here, do yourself a favor, and don't stay in room 323. in fact ask to see and smell the room prior to checking in here. i guarantee you'll leave right away. we even asked for a late check out knowing they had low occupancy rate sunday night and was only given an hour extra, for our trouble. the property was charming, but deceitful overall. beware of the super thin walls, super loud noises you'll here room to room through this very old building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 12, 2010

Book Someplace Else

Great location. Terrible service. The front desk was unable to fulfill simple requests for a corkscrew (used to have one around here somewhere, sorry) and ink for the printer so we could print our boarding passes (you can do that at the airport). The housekeeping staff seemed to hang out in the hallways talking all the time and kept coming in the room after it was made up. Only one of the two elevators worked and the staff monopolized those most of the day. The valet staff laughed and joked loudly all day and all night. Eight young women shared two rooms on our last night and partied up and down the hallway all night. No one stopped them. $120 per night isn't a motel room rate, but this hotel certainly operated more like a motel than a hotel. We were really disappointed and couldn't wait to get home. The location was great, but there are several other hotels in the area. Book someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go around the corner to Deja vu at Iberville and Conti - great local place... loads of fun. The full bar and restaurant is open 24/7. Go for an early breakfast (5:30-6:00 am) and hang out with the 'night before', before they call it a day :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
believeme
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 20, 2011

Cockroach

Other than the giant cockroach that landed in my girlfriend's hair during breakfast and filthy carpets in our room, everything else was fine. The staff didn't even care about the cockroach, just business as usual I guess. They even snickered about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mafa
Business
New York, NY
Jul 27, 2007

it was ok !

i was a little disapointed with the hotel service and maintenance. the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

bourbon st is one block from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jacksonvill,fl
May 9, 2010

not what i hoped

not what i was hoping for from my past trips booked thru [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mef
Business
traverse city Michigan
Sep 16, 2010

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Played in National Bridge tournament. We were also on our honeymoon and told the desk so. It would have been nice to receive a little surprise like a free drink or a rose or something. We love NOLA and have been there many times. This hotel was fine, didn't like the walk on Dauphine past stinky garbage bins, but that's not the Hotel's fault. The staff was very helpful and eager to help whenever we needed it from pushing elevator buttons to hailing a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't be shy about sampling any and all restaurants. We love NOLA food. I think Brennan's is overrated. Love The Court of the Three Sisters Brunch, and the BBQ shrimp at Mr. B's Bistro. Commander's Palace is great and the prices didn't seem as high as our last visit. Acme Oyster house is noisy; like the oysters better at Oceania. Oceania has GREAT crepes too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leelala
Business
Maryland
Jul 16, 2012

Nice Hotel

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Great staff and the breakfast was nice. The only thing we didnt care for was being able to hear the outside noise in our room at all hours of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
debjg
Business
Portland OR
Jan 13, 2013

Just OK

The location is the thing here. The room was not that clean (needed vacuuming) and the sheets did not fit the bed. Staff was good and location was pretty good. Noisy neighbors but that was not the hotel's fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SharieH
Business
Tacoma, WA
Feb 22, 2013

Sub-standard workmanship on tile work

We were surprised to find sub-standard workmanship on the bathroom tile work. It was the quality of a no-so-good handyman, not an expert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JRWilki
Business
Fresno, CA
Mar 9, 2013

Fun, but small and old

It's New Orleans and the French Quarters, our expectations were probably a little high. Parking was extremely expensive. The room was average, but at that price point we expected more amenities and for it to be more plush. Friendly staff helped ease some of the disappointment. Glad we did the French Quarters once, if we go back, it will stay in a different area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top