$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
249 reviews
Dauphine hotel

Great experience! Location is a two blocks away from Bourbon street. Quiet at night! The staff were... See full review

  • Mlene
  • Sep 18, 2014
Home away from home

Great hotel...amazing beds!!! All the staff was very friendly and helpful. You felt at home.... See full review

  • Fantabulous
  • Aug 31, 2014
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.957 -90.0685
Area served
New Orleans, LA.
Nearby airports
Armstrong Intl. Airport: Take I-10 east. Exit #235A U-turn at sign "French Quarter Via Toulouse". Take immediate right, then after 3 blocks, take another right. Go two blocks and hotel is on the right.
Area description
Area attractions include: Aquarium of the Americas/Imax Museum, Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Louisiana Superdome and New Orleans Arena, Convention Center, National D-Day Museum, jazz clubs, antique shopping along Chartres Street, Royal Street and Magazine Street, Audubon Park and Zoo, City Park featuring Storyland for the children, New Orleans Museum of Art, Woldenberg Park, paddlewheel boats down the Mississippi, Broadway plays at the Mahalia Jackson Theater, Louisiana Children's Museum, Harrah's New Orleans, Garden District, unique above ground cemeteries, historic streetcars and much more!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (249)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Erie,PA
Nov 20, 2009

great hotel great location great staff

i only stayed 1 night, but everything about the hotel was wonderful. They were even giving out a free drink coupon for the hotel bar. The staff was very helpful. The bed was awesome. I had a king size. The location was within walking distance to everything,boubon st, restuarants, canal st, shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Augusta, Kansas
Apr 22, 2009

Nice Stay!!!

Nice little hotel for the money! One of the elevators did not work and the breakfast bar needed a little more attention. Otherwise, it was a nice stay! The beds, lines and towels were of nice quality, our room was roomy and comfy! We would absolutley stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street was just the next block over. Only a 4 block walk to the trolley. Little cafes/bars around every corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NOLA addict
Michigan
Nov 7, 2011

Would definitely stay again!

Location is excellent! We've stayed many places in the French Quarter and rank this location very high! A good distance away from Canal, which is nice...not too close. We initially were concerned about being 1 block off Bourbon, but it was never an issue with noise, even though we were there over Halloween weekend. Clean and comfortable rooms. Elevators were nice and fast (a problem at some other places!). The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were very early for check in, and they immediately took our bags to the storage area. We returned a little before check in and the room was ready. Desk staff was always welcoming and friendly. Garage/Bell staff also very friendly, willing to have conversation any time. The housekeeping staff was also very friendly and respectful of do not disturb signs. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pierre the Canadian bear
Troy, Ohio
Jan 4, 2010

Unbeatable cossy getaway for the price

Everything was over my expectation. We did a lot of shopping, ate great food, tourist visit. People at the hotel gave us great advise & reference. Thank to everybody. We already start to suggest this place to our family & friend. We hope to go back during 2010. Thanks again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Too many good restaurant & grill to mention only one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Devstructo
Alexandria, VA
Mar 15, 2011

Great Location

When we first entered the hotel, we were greeted by very friendly hotel staff and upon checking in, we each received a voucher granting us a free drink at the hotel bar. Our room had a very strong bleach smell, the hot water on the bathroom faucet did not work and the bath tub drainage was not working properly. When we requested a new room, our situation was handled very promply and we were immediately moved. Our second room was great: very clean, spacious and the Temeur-Pedic mattress was amazing! The overall location of the hotel was perfect. We traveled via plane and did not have a car, which was not an issue in the least. The hotel is within walking distance of so many amazing restaurants and attractions (including a nearby trolley stop). For our last day, we requested an early morning taxi to take us to the airport and the hotel staff took care of it for us. Overall, Dauphine is a very nice and quaint hotel and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located in the heart of the French Quarter. Be prepared to have fun and let loose!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
wichita,ks
Feb 21, 2010

got close

close to the night action

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JGBos
Boston
Jan 29, 2014

Great find

We were in New Orleans for a short wedding weekend. This hotel had too many perks for us to enjoy because we were short on time. Free water bottles, snacks, breakfast, and the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimbrik
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay!!

I really have nothing bad to say about Dauphine Orleans Hotel. The location is perfect, our room was great, not much of a view but honestly I did not come to New Orleans to look out my hotel window. My son enjoyed the pool and our breakfast each morning was great. I will most definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B and G
Rochester, MN, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Great stay at Dauphine

staff was exceptional on service and offering suggestions for dining. Bed was fantastic. Location was wonderful-one very quiet blk from the action of Bourbon St. Room was smaller than appeared in photos, but that is the closest to a negative I could think of. Would stay here again and will recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington. TX
Sep 17, 2010

Great location and Value

Great dinning just a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search