$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
View map of 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
261 reviews
Great stay

Near French Quarter/Bourbon St action but far enough away to not deal with all the noise all night.... See full review

  • NO Traveler
  • Feb 4, 2015
Awesome overnight stay

We stayed at this hotel as a half way stop on the way to San Antonio. What a great stay! The staff... See full review

  • Peg.870
  • Jan 15, 2015
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (261)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
261 out of 261
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loved it86
Business
Colorado springs
May 31, 2013

Great vacation spot

For the price of the room this was a really great deal! The hotel itself is literally one block from bourbon street but you would never know that being inside the hotel.. It is like your out villa resort around the inside of the hotel. The pool was beautiful and the breakfast was really delicious. It also had balcony's with tables and chairs set up to just sit and enjoy. I highly recommend this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pma95
Business
Grenada, Ms.
Sep 15, 2013

Perfect.

Right in the quarter, pretty, extremely clean, great bar, friendly and helpful staff. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Arnauds. Great restaurant, 3 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelin' Dee
Business
Arlington, Wa.
Dec 14, 2013

Fabulous Boutique Hotel in Perfect Location

Our best hotel experience in years! Breakfast (exceptional and included) in a room with weathered wood and old brick walls that used to be Audubon's studio; drinks in a small bar which used to be a brothel and with old licenses framed for viewing;a well stocked paperback library one was encouraged to borrow from (or take!); delightful room with French doors leading to a small balcony overlooking a wrought-iron enhanced patio and pool.Terrific staff with great local recommendations. BEST EVER!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightly shows at Preservation Hall, where old-timers play authentic New Orleans jazz in a room with benches, a few chairs (room holds less than 50), no bar.....just wonderful up-close-and-personal JAZZ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manders82
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 12, 2014

Location, Location, Location!!!!

My husband and I stayed in the room with another couple we were traveling with. There was plenty of room to accomodate all of us. Clean and comfortable, this was on par with any modern hotel. Don't get me wrong, it isn't the Waldorf-Astoria by any means, but it had a bed and a bathroom (all we needed, seriously) as well as a pool, gym, breakfast lounge, and bar. The location was PRIME! I have a bad knee, so with it was perfect that I didn't have to walk too far to get anywhere. And if my knee swelled, no biggie, we were close enough I could walk back to prop up my leg and meet the group later. I highly recommend. The ONLY complaint I have is that the bar smelled like a litter box. Literally, the stench of cat urine. However, it did not affect the rest of the hotel or rooms. It was only in the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lulu47
Business
Newark,ca
Feb 14, 2014

Perfect stay

Second time we've stayed here. Everything about this place is perfect. We brought along some friends this trip and they were equally pleased. We've stayed at many 4 and 5 star hotels that fall far below this 3 star.. Location in the French Quarter is quiet. They offer an excellent breakfast in a cute cottage. Staff is so friendly and informative. Rooms are comfortable and free internet. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants close by. No need for cabs. Bayonne across the street. Court of two sisters and Nola's are with a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victoria2421
Business
Detroit Michigan
Mar 20, 2014

Great room great location

This was my first time in New Orleans and this hotel was purfect. Just off bourbon st. It is out of the hustle and bustle but great for walking to every part of the Freanch Quarter. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Austin Chick
Business
Austin, TX
May 28, 2014

Memorial Day Vaca

Very pleased with this hotel. Excellent location. Easy walking distance to everything in French Quarter, but removed from craziness of Bourbon St. Excellent AC..very important. Free bottled water in room everyday. Salt water pool and adjoining bar are great retreat. Complimentary drink at check in. Rooms cleaned promptly everyday. And if renting car, one of the very few parking garages. Would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 29, 2007

Perfect stay next to Bourbon Street

I'd never been to New Orleans. I wanted to be within walking distance of the French Quarter, but not in the middle of the craziness. I had a courtyard room and it was perfect. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful and one block from Bourbon street, which is close enough but not too close since Bourbon Street is crazy!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Clover Grill. 24hrs of GOOD diner food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 9, 2007

cozy place to stay

The Dauphine Orleans was a wonderful place to stay. Very comfortable and the staff was very friendly and personable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of great places to eat in a short walking distance. My favorite place to eat was the Acme Oyster house. The oysters are to die for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newberry, SC
Jul 19, 2008

My review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

the beds were wonderful. Best sleep in a bed awayfrom home. Location was good. staff was wonderful and very helpfull. If we ever return to NO, I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top