$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
255 reviews
Dauphine hotel

Great experience! Location is a two blocks away from Bourbon street. Quiet at night! The staff were... See full review

  • Mlene
  • Sep 18, 2014
Home away from home

Great hotel...amazing beds!!! All the staff was very friendly and helpful. You felt at home.... See full review

  • Fantabulous
  • Aug 31, 2014
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
condoken2
Business
Baltimore, Mryland
Oct 8, 2009

Noise Problem

They were in the process of remodeling something and I was wakened to the sound of an electric saw starting at 8:15 A.M., every weekday morning and continuing throughout the day. They were sawing down in the Courtyard right below my balcony window. I believe the Hotel amenities, when booking the room, said there was a hot tub, I could not find one, the pool was small. Lounge did not open til 4 in the afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanie's was a friendly open space restaurant that made you feel comfortable. The food was good, plenty of it. and it was reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mef
Business
traverse city Michigan
Sep 16, 2010

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Played in National Bridge tournament. We were also on our honeymoon and told the desk so. It would have been nice to receive a little surprise like a free drink or a rose or something. We love NOLA and have been there many times. This hotel was fine, didn't like the walk on Dauphine past stinky garbage bins, but that's not the Hotel's fault. The staff was very helpful and eager to help whenever we needed it from pushing elevator buttons to hailing a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't be shy about sampling any and all restaurants. We love NOLA food. I think Brennan's is overrated. Love The Court of the Three Sisters Brunch, and the BBQ shrimp at Mr. B's Bistro. Commander's Palace is great and the prices didn't seem as high as our last visit. Acme Oyster house is noisy; like the oysters better at Oceania. Oceania has GREAT crepes too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leelala
Business
Maryland
Jul 16, 2012

Nice Hotel

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Great staff and the breakfast was nice. The only thing we didnt care for was being able to hear the outside noise in our room at all hours of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nard94
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Sep 4, 2012

NOLA

Great location but there must have been some flooding to the hotel from Hurricane Isacc. The entire hotel smelled like laundry tha no one dried. The carpet in my room was wet as well. Once the place dry's out I am sure it will be a place worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the night light of burbon street is a short walk/stumble away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
debjg
Business
Portland OR
Jan 13, 2013

Just OK

The location is the thing here. The room was not that clean (needed vacuuming) and the sheets did not fit the bed. Staff was good and location was pretty good. Noisy neighbors but that was not the hotel's fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SharieH
Business
Tacoma, WA
Feb 22, 2013

Sub-standard workmanship on tile work

We were surprised to find sub-standard workmanship on the bathroom tile work. It was the quality of a no-so-good handyman, not an expert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mismissy
Business
NY, NY
Feb 26, 2013

Great Staff!

Hotel room was very small and dark, even for a handicap accessible room. Staff was lovely. Very helpful and chatted with us quite a bit to help us choose tours, restaurants, etc. Hotel location was nice and close to most things in french quarter. Steps to Bourbon street and far enough away that it wasn't too noisy. We did unfortunately have drunk girls screaming at 3am in the hallways. So if you are not into the drinking all day type of thing, look for a hotel a bit father from Bourbon street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Fish Grill on Bourbon street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JRWilki
Business
Fresno, CA
Mar 9, 2013

Fun, but small and old

It's New Orleans and the French Quarters, our expectations were probably a little high. Parking was extremely expensive. The room was average, but at that price point we expected more amenities and for it to be more plush. Friendly staff helped ease some of the disappointment. Glad we did the French Quarters once, if we go back, it will stay in a different area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KelleyBKLYN
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 25, 2013

Great Location

We stayed here because the hotel our conference was being held at sold out. The complimentary breakfast daily was a lovely treat. The room was clean and adequate. The gym is TINY. But the staff was very friendly, even when I kept deactivating my room key with my phone. But the location is PERFECT! Right in the middle of everything but still really quiet. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jujan
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 4, 2013

Location, location

The Dauphine Orleans Hotel was close enough to Burbon Street to walk to, but far enough away to be quiet. Our reservation was incorrect, we booked 2 double beds and they gave us one King. They didn't have any other rooms available, so we took the King. They comped our parking (35/day) and gave us extra free drink tickets for the mix up. The bar was not a nice place to hang out. It had a weird musty smell. Took our free drink and went outside to the courtyard. Our room was fine, comfy bed. Very nice helpful staff. Overall good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top