$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
398 reviews
EXCELLENT stay in the French Quarter!

This was my first trip to New Orleans. Being a 24 year old female traveling with my 16 year old... See full review

  • mrsgrohl
  • Jun 30, 2014
Memorial Day Vaca

Very pleased with this hotel. Excellent location. Easy walking distance to everything in French... See full review

  • Austin Chick
  • May 28, 2014
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.957 -90.0685
Area served
New Orleans, LA.
Nearby airports
Armstrong Intl. Airport: Take I-10 east. Exit #235A U-turn at sign "French Quarter Via Toulouse". Take immediate right, then after 3 blocks, take another right. Go two blocks and hotel is on the right.
Area description
Area attractions include: Aquarium of the Americas/Imax Museum, Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Louisiana Superdome and New Orleans Arena, Convention Center, National D-Day Museum, jazz clubs, antique shopping along Chartres Street, Royal Street and Magazine Street, Audubon Park and Zoo, City Park featuring Storyland for the children, New Orleans Museum of Art, Woldenberg Park, paddlewheel boats down the Mississippi, Broadway plays at the Mahalia Jackson Theater, Louisiana Children's Museum, Harrah's New Orleans, Garden District, unique above ground cemeteries, historic streetcars and much more!

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.8 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (398)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RIck teacher
Dallas
Aug 6, 2012

Great French Quater Hotel

One block off Burbon Street. This is the perfect Hotel for staying in the French Quater. This is my third stay at the Dauphine and we will definitely be going back. Great rooms, a very good complimentary breakfast, and central to visiting many of the French Quater's sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frida40
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Don't do it!

Our first room fronted the very noisy street, was in ill repair replete with a leaky refrigerator that had the carpeting damp in a three foot circumference. They moved us to the main hotel, third floor where garage workers and maintenance personnel arrive early in the morning and proceed to yell instructions to each other and otherwise talk loudly; we called down to the front desk on almost a daily basis asking them to please ask folks to quiet down. The worst part was the major water pump break that caused all of the water in the area to become contaminated and required that no one use it for brushing teeth, drinking, etcetera without a ten minute boil. The hotel NEVER informed us as guests. The major hotels in the area (Sheraton, Marriott) provided bottled water to all guests along with constant updates. Seriously, this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in terms of service, cleanliness, and regard for its guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Thai LA is a fabulous restaurant and worth the drive. They use local ingredients taking Louisiana cuisine to another level.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2007

Extremely noisy

Although the rooms were clean and fairly comfortable, there are virtually no economic dining options for families. The pool is nice, but it attracts a yearlong, drunken, spring-break crowd. You may not hear the noise on Bourbon Street, but people set up camp in the courtyard and their drunken partying annoys the entire staff. The general manager is good-natured but does nothing to discourage this, possibly because for many the price is not as high as other local hotels. The staff was somewhat nice, but not very helpful with room-cleaning and helping with arrangements to return to the airport. My advice? If you are hosting a bachelorette party, that's fine. But this hotel misrepresents itself: it is not quiet at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maison de Bourbon, one of the few remaining jazz clubs that continues to thrive post-Katrina, is right around the corner. But get a babysitter; none of the Bourbon Street clubs will allow children in (they don't want to lose their liquor license, which is quite understandable).

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 12, 2010

Book Someplace Else

Great location. Terrible service. The front desk was unable to fulfill simple requests for a corkscrew (used to have one around here somewhere, sorry) and ink for the printer so we could print our boarding passes (you can do that at the airport). The housekeeping staff seemed to hang out in the hallways talking all the time and kept coming in the room after it was made up. Only one of the two elevators worked and the staff monopolized those most of the day. The valet staff laughed and joked loudly all day and all night. Eight young women shared two rooms on our last night and partied up and down the hallway all night. No one stopped them. $120 per night isn't a motel room rate, but this hotel certainly operated more like a motel than a hotel. We were really disappointed and couldn't wait to get home. The location was great, but there are several other hotels in the area. Book someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go around the corner to Deja vu at Iberville and Conti - great local place... loads of fun. The full bar and restaurant is open 24/7. Go for an early breakfast (5:30-6:00 am) and hang out with the 'night before', before they call it a day :)

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2007

Extremely noisy

Although the rooms were clean and fairly comfortable, there are virtually no economic dining options for families. The pool is nice, but it attracts a yearlong, drunken, spring-break crowd. You may not hear the noise on Bourbon Street, but people set up camp in the courtyard and their drunken partying annoys the entire staff. The general manager is good-natured but does nothing to discourage this, possibly because for many the price is not as high as other local hotels. The staff was somewhat nice, but not very helpful with room-cleaning and helping with arrangements to return to the airport. My advice? If you are hosting a bachelorette party, that's fine. But this hotel misrepresents itself: it is not quiet at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maison de Bourbon, one of the few remaining jazz clubs that continues to thrive post-Katrina, is right around the corner. But get a babysitter; none of the Bourbon Street clubs will allow children in (they don't want to lose their liquor license, which is quite understandable).

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 12, 2010

Book Someplace Else

Great location. Terrible service. The front desk was unable to fulfill simple requests for a corkscrew (used to have one around here somewhere, sorry) and ink for the printer so we could print our boarding passes (you can do that at the airport). The housekeeping staff seemed to hang out in the hallways talking all the time and kept coming in the room after it was made up. Only one of the two elevators worked and the staff monopolized those most of the day. The valet staff laughed and joked loudly all day and all night. Eight young women shared two rooms on our last night and partied up and down the hallway all night. No one stopped them. $120 per night isn't a motel room rate, but this hotel certainly operated more like a motel than a hotel. We were really disappointed and couldn't wait to get home. The location was great, but there are several other hotels in the area. Book someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go around the corner to Deja vu at Iberville and Conti - great local place... loads of fun. The full bar and restaurant is open 24/7. Go for an early breakfast (5:30-6:00 am) and hang out with the 'night before', before they call it a day :)

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jamie and Paul
NY
Dec 2, 2011

DONT STAY HERE

i stayed 2 nights in room 323 over thanksgiving weeeknd, and this was a HUGE disappointment. the bathroom had mold growing on the ceiling, the showerhead did not work properly, the ceiling in guestroom had clear waterstains on it, which led to that awful mildew odor throughout the room and hallways. our headboard made of suede material was SO GROSSLY STAINED, with god knows what. housekeeper just walked into our room within an hour of checking with no knock or saying anything. she was suprised to see us, weird, because the room had already been cleaned for the next guest. she apologized. 2 drink coupons at may bailey's stunk too, because the "cooler" was broken and we were only offered domestic beer for the inconvenience. and WORST of all, we had super loud people above us who constantly slammed their toilet seat between 5-8a.m., and when we called the front desk at 6am, the issue was not resloved because the slamming continued. i would not stay here again, and if you decide to still stay here, do yourself a favor, and don't stay in room 323. in fact ask to see and smell the room prior to checking in here. i guarantee you'll leave right away. we even asked for a late check out knowing they had low occupancy rate sunday night and was only given an hour extra, for our trouble. the property was charming, but deceitful overall. beware of the super thin walls, super loud noises you'll here room to room through this very old building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 13, 2008

Very unpleasant manager

The room itself was nice but the elevators were out of order for the majority of my trip, including when I was checking out and had to lug my bags down four flights of stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
believeme
Kansas City, MO
Nov 20, 2011

Cockroach

Other than the giant cockroach that landed in my girlfriend's hair during breakfast and filthy carpets in our room, everything else was fine. The staff didn't even care about the cockroach, just business as usual I guess. They even snickered about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
jacksonvill,fl
May 9, 2010

not what i hoped

not what i was hoping for from my past trips booked thru [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corry, PA
Aug 12, 2010

An interesting hotel

It was my first trip to New Orleans and was lucky with the location of this hotel. It was amazingly quiet for only being one block from Broubon Street. The day time front desk staff was pretty helpful, but the night time staff could not have cared less about helping us. When ask a question about where something was or where a good place might be to eat he would just say he did not know, he did not even try. My hotel room was okay, but they did not clean the room very well before we got there (there was pieces of candy under the bed and dresser). The cleaning staff was friendly and seemed to want to help when asked for something. I travel a fair amount and this hotel was okay for the money. Just be prepared to not ask the breakfast staff or night staff for any help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The aquarium is a must see while here.

Back to menu Return to top