$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
251 reviews
EXCELLENT stay in the French Quarter!

This was my first trip to New Orleans. Being a 24 year old female traveling with my 16 year old... See full review

  • mrsgrohl
  • Jun 30, 2014
Memorial Day Vaca

Very pleased with this hotel. Excellent location. Easy walking distance to everything in French... See full review

  • Austin Chick
  • May 28, 2014
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.957 -90.0685
Area served
New Orleans, LA.
Nearby airports
Armstrong Intl. Airport: Take I-10 east. Exit #235A U-turn at sign "French Quarter Via Toulouse". Take immediate right, then after 3 blocks, take another right. Go two blocks and hotel is on the right.
Area description
Area attractions include: Aquarium of the Americas/Imax Museum, Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Louisiana Superdome and New Orleans Arena, Convention Center, National D-Day Museum, jazz clubs, antique shopping along Chartres Street, Royal Street and Magazine Street, Audubon Park and Zoo, City Park featuring Storyland for the children, New Orleans Museum of Art, Woldenberg Park, paddlewheel boats down the Mississippi, Broadway plays at the Mahalia Jackson Theater, Louisiana Children's Museum, Harrah's New Orleans, Garden District, unique above ground cemeteries, historic streetcars and much more!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manders82
St. Louis, MO
Jan 12, 2014

Location, Location, Location!!!!

My husband and I stayed in the room with another couple we were traveling with. There was plenty of room to accomodate all of us. Clean and comfortable, this was on par with any modern hotel. Don't get me wrong, it isn't the Waldorf-Astoria by any means, but it had a bed and a bathroom (all we needed, seriously) as well as a pool, gym, breakfast lounge, and bar. The location was PRIME! I have a bad knee, so with it was perfect that I didn't have to walk too far to get anywhere. And if my knee swelled, no biggie, we were close enough I could walk back to prop up my leg and meet the group later. I highly recommend. The ONLY complaint I have is that the bar smelled like a litter box. Literally, the stench of cat urine. However, it did not affect the rest of the hotel or rooms. It was only in the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lulu47
Newark,ca
Feb 14, 2014

Perfect stay

Second time we've stayed here. Everything about this place is perfect. We brought along some friends this trip and they were equally pleased. We've stayed at many 4 and 5 star hotels that fall far below this 3 star.. Location in the French Quarter is quiet. They offer an excellent breakfast in a cute cottage. Staff is so friendly and informative. Rooms are comfortable and free internet. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants close by. No need for cabs. Bayonne across the street. Court of two sisters and Nola's are with a few blocks.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victoria2421
Detroit Michigan
Mar 20, 2014

Great room great location

This was my first time in New Orleans and this hotel was purfect. Just off bourbon st. It is out of the hustle and bustle but great for walking to every part of the Freanch Quarter. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 22, 2007

My review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

The best thing about this hotel was the price, at least during the time that I stayed ( June and no special events in town), but most of all the super location. It was one block off Bourbon street, but no noise in the hotel, 4 blocks from Canal, easy walk to the Market area and Jackson Square, many super restaurants within minutes walking. It was absolutely not necessary to have a car if one wanted to limit their trip to the French Quarter. I will stay there again and have no hesitation to recommend it. Go to the restaurant across the street if you want an excellent meal. And the one on the corner if you want a cheap meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 24, 2007

Very Accomodating

Hotel staff was very personable. room was very nice, plenty of room. Loved the bed and the jacuzzi tub. Location was right in the French Quarter. It was perfect. Definitely would recommend it as a great place to stay in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the courtyard part of the hotel has a nice hot tub tucked away in the back.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lyman
Dallas, TX
May 28, 2007

Close to the action

The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is in a great location and is a fine choice for most. We were unhappy with the first room and were immediately moved to a much nicer loaction. I would recommend this hotel to everyone except very light sleepers due to the proximity to Bourbon Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all the restaurants and nightlife.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 28, 2007

Clean and close to activities

The Dauphine Orleans is a nice clean hotel located l block off Bourbon Street, but quiet. I have visited New Orleans many times and have stayed in a few different hotels. I really like this hotel for its location and wonderful staff. There was a problem with the elevators not working and the manager called out a repairman on overtime and had it fixed in a reasonable time. He addressed this problem quickly and with a gracious manner. The room was small but was very clean and worked well. There were two double beds, desk and chairs, hutch with TV, a cute little balcony. The bathroom had an odd toilet, looked like a public bathroom toilet, but was ok. Needed more pillows, but since it was Memorial weekend they were booked up and none was available. Overall, it was just great for two traveling nurses from Phoenix (1 from Seatte and the other from Dayton. We had birthdays one day apart and wanted to celebrate in a great city. The French Quarter is now all open and found it to be back to a lovely time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at this hotel, you are completely close to walk to all restaurants, Mississippi water front, Riverwalk mall, Harrah's casino, etc. All other attractions can be reached by trolley, taxi or buses. Go and have a great time.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Jun 19, 2007

Friendly,helpful staff

Immediately upon check-in the staff was helpful and friendly. Desk clerk, was helpful in going out of his way to contact a restaurant that had earlier ask That i confirm my reservations. Entire staff was always asking if they could help in anyway. Even after Katrina and all the work that the hotel had to do to tay operative, the staf maintained a professional attitude and good sense of humor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant just across the street that has been in Southern Living Magazine various times.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin Manasyan
Braintree, MA
Apr 24, 2010

An excellent hotel, great location

This is a great hotel with a perfect location. The beds are sooo comfortable (tempur-pedic)... Loved it. One thing I should mention though is that there is no restaurant on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
busynancys
Seattle Washington
Dec 1, 2010

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

The Dauphine Orleans is a wonderful place to stay in New Orleans. It is just about 2 blocks off the beaten path of all the noise at night from the people celebrating this grand city so you can get a good night's sleep. The staff was so informative and always ready to help. The room was quaint because it is a very old building but all new fixtures and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast downstairs comes with your room. The bartender, [...] told us about a great book store, and the best little resturant in town. would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is called Louisana Bistro. On the menu it says "Feed Me". This means that the chef will cook exclusively for you. You can have a 3, 4 or 5 course meal and let me tell, you are in for a wonderful treat.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search