$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
255 reviews
Dauphine hotel

Great experience! Location is a two blocks away from Bourbon street. Quiet at night! The staff were... See full review

  • Mlene
  • Sep 18, 2014
Home away from home

Great hotel...amazing beds!!! All the staff was very friendly and helpful. You felt at home.... See full review

  • Fantabulous
  • Aug 31, 2014
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jrich
Business
New Jersey, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Great Hotel near Bourbon Street

The Dauphne Orleans is a great hotel a block away from Bourbon Street. Our guest room was lovely. The room opened up onto a courtyard. King bed with lots of pillows. Refrigerator in the room. The continental breakfast was supurb; make your own waffles, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, bagels, croissants, juices, coffee & tea. In the afternoon there were coffee, tea, and cookies available. There was a fitness room and small swimming pool which we didnt use. Upon arrival we received coupons for complimentary drinks at the ajacent lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPARLEY
Business
MARION, VA
Oct 13, 2011

COUPLE GET-AWAY

THE HOTEL WAS PLEASANT, CONVENIENT, BUT LEFT SOME CONCERN ABOUT SECURITY SINCE THE ELEVATOR IS RIGHT OFF THE PARKING GARAGE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DEFINITELY GO TO PAT O'BRIENS' PIANO BAR AND ENJOY THE HURRICANES, MUSIC AND LAUGHTER.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet Baby
Business
Clarksville, TN, USA
Oct 11, 2011

BEST FREE BREAKFAST

This hotel is perfect!! Nothing fancy but everything you need close to everything. 3 min walk to Bourbon Street 5 min Walk to Canal Street 24 hour restaurant across the street. The best Sausage patties to make sausage muffins in the morning waffles and more!! We would totally stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B and G
Business
Rochester, MN, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Great stay at Dauphine

staff was exceptional on service and offering suggestions for dining. Bed was fantastic. Location was wonderful-one very quiet blk from the action of Bourbon St. Room was smaller than appeared in photos, but that is the closest to a negative I could think of. Would stay here again and will recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
christocc
Business
new york, new york
Oct 8, 2011

Great location, great price, great deal.

From the moment we arrived until check out, the staff was attentive and helpful. From dinner recommendations to tips on what to see, the front desk staff is knowledgeable and accommodating. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from Acme Oyster bar and head across the street to Felix's. Great oysters, great staff, great price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PACKMAN
Business
NC
Sep 26, 2011

Great Anniversary Trip

Checkin/out was quick and easy. We enjoyed our complimentary drinks by the pool, which looked clean and well kept. The hotel is tucked away just a block away from Bourbon street and quiet. A short walk took us to most of the French Quarter sights, such as the French Market and Jackson Square. We took the Trolley to the Garden District and public trans. was easy to access, we chose not to join a walking tour and took in the sights solo. Be sure to try Baru for a bite to eat while on Magazine St, near the Garden District. Luke's is a must for Happy hour! We enjoyed 1/2 price drinks and 50 cent oysters at the bar. Our only regret is not having a couple more days to enjoy the other sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AngeloNYC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 22, 2011

At first glance and second impression....

When I first went into the room, I thought "this is pretty dark." I had worried I had made the wrong choice. I was right off the court yard and there was a group of people standing right by our door talking loudly. I was a slightly concerned about the choice I had made. After walking around the Quarter and dropping off to sleep that night, my partner and I had woke up and heard no one else around and completely refreshed. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and you could not hear any noise from the street nor Bourbon street which is one block away. The bathroom was really clean (as was New Orleans itself, very surprising for a New Yorker who knows a dirty city) and the shower was also great. The room was dark and the decor looked and felt dated but I plan on going back to the Dauphine on my next visit as the location and the overall atmosphere and comfort really made made trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wixer
Business
Minnesota
Aug 22, 2011

Clean and quiet. Comfortable room.

The valet stored our luggage. We were able to check-in 30 min early. One street away from Bourbon street. Within walking distance of Riverwalk, Harrah's casino, Canal Street, WWII museum, etc. The room was nicely furnished, clean, quiet and well-cooled. The breakfast had many choices including make-your-own waffles. Pool and sitting area was small but quaint. Staff was helpful when asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street is one block over. Nice to be close to the 'action' without the crowds and noise in front of your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bronxkid
Business
NYC
Aug 20, 2011

Great get away

When we checked in we re greeted, by Lauren she as WONDERFUL,answered any questions,advised us on place to eat , where to go as well as where not to go. I cant say enough on how welcome she made us feel as if we just GOOD FRIENDS!!!!! We would go back just to see her again. The hotel was clean you felt as if you were in a 5 star hotel. Thanks Lauren for making us feel welcome!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just have a good time !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rhoandog
Business
Evanston, Il
Aug 9, 2011

Delightful!

The front desk staff graciously welcomed us. The KING bed and room very comfortable. The bathroom-shower great; toilet=old style and low to the floor. Complimentary breakfast above the norm. When daily asked, we were provided two complimentray beer/wine tickets for MAE BAILEY'S,the on-site lounge with its own characters!We liked its "central to the Quarter" location.Would return again [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

[...] LOUISIANA BISTRO on the next block--GREAT food and service/call for reservations;we actually called during a busy Friday evening and were told to come right over due to a cancellation--so you never know!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top