$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
399 reviews
EXCELLENT stay in the French Quarter!

This was my first trip to New Orleans. Being a 24 year old female traveling with my 16 year old... See full review

  • mrsgrohl
  • Jun 30, 2014
Memorial Day Vaca

Very pleased with this hotel. Excellent location. Easy walking distance to everything in French... See full review

  • Austin Chick
  • May 28, 2014
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.957 -90.0685
Area served
New Orleans, LA.
Nearby airports
Armstrong Intl. Airport: Take I-10 east. Exit #235A U-turn at sign "French Quarter Via Toulouse". Take immediate right, then after 3 blocks, take another right. Go two blocks and hotel is on the right.
Area description
Area attractions include: Aquarium of the Americas/Imax Museum, Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Louisiana Superdome and New Orleans Arena, Convention Center, National D-Day Museum, jazz clubs, antique shopping along Chartres Street, Royal Street and Magazine Street, Audubon Park and Zoo, City Park featuring Storyland for the children, New Orleans Museum of Art, Woldenberg Park, paddlewheel boats down the Mississippi, Broadway plays at the Mahalia Jackson Theater, Louisiana Children's Museum, Harrah's New Orleans, Garden District, unique above ground cemeteries, historic streetcars and much more!

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fan of NOLA
Texas
Jan 18, 2012

couple getaway

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was clean and surprisingly quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue8260
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 2, 2012

NOLA Getaway

The hotel's location is fantastic. The nice young lady at the front desk check-in went the extra mile to get us a balcony room. Mike the valet was personable and the bartender gave us some good tips, conversation along with our complimentary welcome drinks. They have a good breakfast (make sure to tip as they work really hard). I was able to make myself waffles for the first time ever and they were pretty good. The provided us with a mini fridge to store my husband's diabetes medication. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Treme tour is great, lots of history and the guide Sandy was informative and personable.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virge
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Anniversary trip

This was our second time staying at this hotel. The staff is excellent, the complimentary breakfast has enough choices for even the pickiest eater, and the location is great. It's one block from Bourbon Street, yet you can't hear any of the revelry in your room. Our only complaint would be that both times we booked online and got a room whose view was of a brick wall. There are many charming courtyard views, but I guess you have to call personally to get those rooms, as they were not available to switch to when we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jamie and Paul
NY
Dec 2, 2011

DONT STAY HERE

i stayed 2 nights in room 323 over thanksgiving weeeknd, and this was a HUGE disappointment. the bathroom had mold growing on the ceiling, the showerhead did not work properly, the ceiling in guestroom had clear waterstains on it, which led to that awful mildew odor throughout the room and hallways. our headboard made of suede material was SO GROSSLY STAINED, with god knows what. housekeeper just walked into our room within an hour of checking with no knock or saying anything. she was suprised to see us, weird, because the room had already been cleaned for the next guest. she apologized. 2 drink coupons at may bailey's stunk too, because the "cooler" was broken and we were only offered domestic beer for the inconvenience. and WORST of all, we had super loud people above us who constantly slammed their toilet seat between 5-8a.m., and when we called the front desk at 6am, the issue was not resloved because the slamming continued. i would not stay here again, and if you decide to still stay here, do yourself a favor, and don't stay in room 323. in fact ask to see and smell the room prior to checking in here. i guarantee you'll leave right away. we even asked for a late check out knowing they had low occupancy rate sunday night and was only given an hour extra, for our trouble. the property was charming, but deceitful overall. beware of the super thin walls, super loud noises you'll here room to room through this very old building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birdy1
Virginia
Nov 22, 2011

Great Hotel!!

This was our third trip to New Orleans staying at the Dauphine Orleans. Can't say enough about them. Check in was quick and easy with friendly staff. We got there before noon and the hotel was booked, so they put our bags in storage and called my cell phone when the room was ready. Room was clean and neat. Great bed with tempurpedic mattress with foam and feather pillows and comforter..New 32" flatscreen in the room. Only one block off Bourbon in the French Quarter, but was quiet at night. Never would have known. Great breakfast included everything you could want. The desk staff, bell-hops, garage attendants and housekeeping staff were all professional, helpful and friendly. Received tickets for 2 free drinks at May Baileys bar (used to be a brothel). Didn't use the pool but is nice to sit in the courtyard and have a drink or just relax. Price was right and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you want to hear good music without all the craziness of Bourbon. It's a 5 minute cab ride to Frenchman Street. Great atmosphere and the drinks are cheaper than the tourist traps on Bourbon.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
believeme
Kansas City, MO
Nov 20, 2011

Cockroach

Other than the giant cockroach that landed in my girlfriend's hair during breakfast and filthy carpets in our room, everything else was fine. The staff didn't even care about the cockroach, just business as usual I guess. They even snickered about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndreaLeeds
New Jersey
Nov 15, 2011

Great location and beautiful atmosphere

I loved the fact that it's in an old building, so it has courtyards and character. It is only a block away from Bourbon Street but it's extremely quiet at night. It's a great location if you're interested in checking out the French Quarter. Very walkable distance to Canal Street (and the Canal streetcar), Jackson Square, the French Market, Bourbon Street, and so on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sign up for a combo swamp and plantation tour with Cajun Pride Swamp Tours. They pick you up at your hotel and take you to their own swamp on their own wildlife preserve and then to a plantation. The swamp is about a half hour from the French Quarter and the plantation is another half hour beyond that. Reasonable prices.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NOLA addict
Michigan
Nov 7, 2011

Would definitely stay again!

Location is excellent! We've stayed many places in the French Quarter and rank this location very high! A good distance away from Canal, which is nice...not too close. We initially were concerned about being 1 block off Bourbon, but it was never an issue with noise, even though we were there over Halloween weekend. Clean and comfortable rooms. Elevators were nice and fast (a problem at some other places!). The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were very early for check in, and they immediately took our bags to the storage area. We returned a little before check in and the room was ready. Desk staff was always welcoming and friendly. Garage/Bell staff also very friendly, willing to have conversation any time. The housekeeping staff was also very friendly and respectful of do not disturb signs. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bubblzz
Baltimore, Maryland
Nov 1, 2011

Pretty, central French Quarter property.

Good location - across the street from Bayona. The hotel packs quite a few amenities into a smaller property including a pool and free wi-fi. My only complaint would be what I think was morning garbage collection which woke me up every day. Overall, they thought of most things you would need and/or want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

You can check-in for your flight on-line and print out the boarding pass at the PC in the lobby. Password is under the keyboard...

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CatRob
Kingsville, TX 78363, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Honeymoon

Wonderful end to our honeymoon. Staff was very accommodating and the rooms were comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Meauxbar restaurant on Rampart st

Back to menu Return to top