$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
View map of 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tara E.
Couples
Washington, DC
May 4, 2013

Great French Quarter spot on the cost-quality frontier

I just got married and we stayed at the Dauphine Orleans for our honeymoon last week. It was wonderful! Here are some pros: 1) Location is AMAZING. 1 block from Bourbon Street, right in the middle of the Quarter, and yet still quiet and safe. 2) Room was large, clean, and comfortable. Our bed was ridiculously comfortable, which was nice for our twice-daily naps in between eating fests. 3) Staff were friendly, polite, and helpful in every possible way. 4) Free continental breakfast was better than any continental breakfast I've had before. Waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, plus all the more expected options. 5) Did I mention the location? Because it really is stellar. Honestly, there's no con I can come up with. This isn't a 5-star hotel, obviously, so sure, the lobby area could be bigger, everything could be larger and shinier &c, but for the price and given the location, I think you get a really great value. Plus it is a really unique and interesting place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're looking at booking walking tours, check the website for the tour company online first - they often offer a discount of a few dollars for booking online!

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelly A.
Friends
Rochester, NY
Apr 17, 2013

Girlfriends gathering

This was one of the few places available in the Quarter that had both a pool and double beds available. It is on a very quiet street and away from the craziness of Bourbon St, but close enough to all the Quarter has to offer. Good breakfast is included in the room fee. There is also a hot tub/jacuzzi available which was welcome after a long day of walking. Highly recommend, would absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
camac
Couples
Yeppoon, Australia
Apr 4, 2013

Fantastic New Orleans

The hotel is in the centre of the French Quarter, one street away from Bourbon Street which is the centre of the action. There was a parade the day we arrived which was a real eye opener. Parking was by valet on the premises. This was expensive but considering the location and the similar rates being charged nearby, it was acceptable and was certainly convenient. Only downside in the Hotel was that when it was raining there was no cover or umbrellas provided to get past the pool area to the breakfast room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything goes in the French Quarter. 24 hour entertainment and action if you can keep up. A safe environment but a real eye opener and not to be missed.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jujan
Family
Seattle, WA
Apr 4, 2013

Location, location

The Dauphine Orleans Hotel was close enough to Burbon Street to walk to, but far enough away to be quiet. Our reservation was incorrect, we booked 2 double beds and they gave us one King. They didn't have any other rooms available, so we took the King. They comped our parking (35/day) and gave us extra free drink tickets for the mix up. The bar was not a nice place to hang out. It had a weird musty smell. Took our free drink and went outside to the courtyard. Our room was fine, comfy bed. Very nice helpful staff. Overall good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KelleyBKLYN
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 25, 2013

Great Location

We stayed here because the hotel our conference was being held at sold out. The complimentary breakfast daily was a lovely treat. The room was clean and adequate. The gym is TINY. But the staff was very friendly, even when I kept deactivating my room key with my phone. But the location is PERFECT! Right in the middle of everything but still really quiet. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmsh
Family
Boise, ID
Mar 25, 2013

Dauphine Orleans Hotel - New Orleans

The staff was absolutely amazing!! It's in a great location. Room were clean and comfortable. Our window didn't open and it would have been nice to get some fresh air. Other than that... Perfect! Would definitely recommend to a friend and we would stay there again. Did I mention how fabulous the staff was? Couldn't haven been nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything in the French Quarter. Only a few blocks to St. Louis Cemetery #1 and to Canal street where you catch the Street Car to the Garden District.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colorado Kate
Friends
Denver, CO
Mar 13, 2013

Great Getaway

The hotel staff was friendly and informative. The location was great; just a couple blocks away from Burbon street which was far enough not to be kept awake all night but close enough to walk. They provided a free drink ticket for their hotel lounge and the complimentary breakfast was great! The room was nice, the only complaint is that the mattresses were worn in the middle & small so the beds were hard to share.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JRWilki
Couples
Fresno, CA
Mar 9, 2013

Fun, but small and old

It's New Orleans and the French Quarters, our expectations were probably a little high. Parking was extremely expensive. The room was average, but at that price point we expected more amenities and for it to be more plush. Friendly staff helped ease some of the disappointment. Glad we did the French Quarters once, if we go back, it will stay in a different area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mismissy
Friends
NY, NY
Feb 26, 2013

Great Staff!

Hotel room was very small and dark, even for a handicap accessible room. Staff was lovely. Very helpful and chatted with us quite a bit to help us choose tours, restaurants, etc. Hotel location was nice and close to most things in french quarter. Steps to Bourbon street and far enough away that it wasn't too noisy. We did unfortunately have drunk girls screaming at 3am in the hallways. So if you are not into the drinking all day type of thing, look for a hotel a bit father from Bourbon street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Fish Grill on Bourbon street

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SharieH
Couples
Tacoma, WA
Feb 22, 2013

Sub-standard workmanship on tile work

We were surprised to find sub-standard workmanship on the bathroom tile work. It was the quality of a no-so-good handyman, not an expert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top