$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
249 reviews
Dauphine hotel

Great experience! Location is a two blocks away from Bourbon street. Quiet at night! The staff were... See full review

  • Mlene
  • Sep 18, 2014
Home away from home

Great hotel...amazing beds!!! All the staff was very friendly and helpful. You felt at home.... See full review

  • Fantabulous
  • Aug 31, 2014
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.957 -90.0685
Area served
New Orleans, LA.
Nearby airports
Armstrong Intl. Airport: Take I-10 east. Exit #235A U-turn at sign "French Quarter Via Toulouse". Take immediate right, then after 3 blocks, take another right. Go two blocks and hotel is on the right.
Area description
Area attractions include: Aquarium of the Americas/Imax Museum, Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Louisiana Superdome and New Orleans Arena, Convention Center, National D-Day Museum, jazz clubs, antique shopping along Chartres Street, Royal Street and Magazine Street, Audubon Park and Zoo, City Park featuring Storyland for the children, New Orleans Museum of Art, Woldenberg Park, paddlewheel boats down the Mississippi, Broadway plays at the Mahalia Jackson Theater, Louisiana Children's Museum, Harrah's New Orleans, Garden District, unique above ground cemeteries, historic streetcars and much more!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (249)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmsh
Boise, ID
Mar 25, 2013

Dauphine Orleans Hotel - New Orleans

The staff was absolutely amazing!! It's in a great location. Room were clean and comfortable. Our window didn't open and it would have been nice to get some fresh air. Other than that... Perfect! Would definitely recommend to a friend and we would stay there again. Did I mention how fabulous the staff was? Couldn't haven been nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything in the French Quarter. Only a few blocks to St. Louis Cemetery #1 and to Canal street where you catch the Street Car to the Garden District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KelleyBKLYN
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 25, 2013

Great Location

We stayed here because the hotel our conference was being held at sold out. The complimentary breakfast daily was a lovely treat. The room was clean and adequate. The gym is TINY. But the staff was very friendly, even when I kept deactivating my room key with my phone. But the location is PERFECT! Right in the middle of everything but still really quiet. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colorado Kate
Denver, CO
Mar 13, 2013

Great Getaway

The hotel staff was friendly and informative. The location was great; just a couple blocks away from Burbon street which was far enough not to be kept awake all night but close enough to walk. They provided a free drink ticket for their hotel lounge and the complimentary breakfast was great! The room was nice, the only complaint is that the mattresses were worn in the middle & small so the beds were hard to share.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JRWilki
Fresno, CA
Mar 9, 2013

Fun, but small and old

It's New Orleans and the French Quarters, our expectations were probably a little high. Parking was extremely expensive. The room was average, but at that price point we expected more amenities and for it to be more plush. Friendly staff helped ease some of the disappointment. Glad we did the French Quarters once, if we go back, it will stay in a different area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mismissy
NY, NY
Feb 26, 2013

Great Staff!

Hotel room was very small and dark, even for a handicap accessible room. Staff was lovely. Very helpful and chatted with us quite a bit to help us choose tours, restaurants, etc. Hotel location was nice and close to most things in french quarter. Steps to Bourbon street and far enough away that it wasn't too noisy. We did unfortunately have drunk girls screaming at 3am in the hallways. So if you are not into the drinking all day type of thing, look for a hotel a bit father from Bourbon street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Fish Grill on Bourbon street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SharieH
Tacoma, WA
Feb 22, 2013

Sub-standard workmanship on tile work

We were surprised to find sub-standard workmanship on the bathroom tile work. It was the quality of a no-so-good handyman, not an expert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
debjg
Portland OR
Jan 13, 2013

Just OK

The location is the thing here. The room was not that clean (needed vacuuming) and the sheets did not fit the bed. Staff was good and location was pretty good. Noisy neighbors but that was not the hotel's fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbara sans nickname
Raleigh, NC
Jan 4, 2013

Christmas In The Quarter

My husband and I had a great stay at the Dauphine for the week in between Christmas and New Year. The hotel is right in the French Quarter, but on a fairly quiet street. The room we had was big enough for the 2 of us, and had a tempurpedic mattress! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coop's Place on Decatur Street has the most amazing jambalaya with rabbit, alligator sausage, crawfish, shrimp, and in house made tasso! And, it's really reasonably priced. I will go there again and again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marie Isabel
NY
Dec 26, 2012

A true gem!

my husband and i spent 4 nights in the French Quarter to celebrate our birthdays and we absolutely loved this hotel. The location is perfect, just steps from Bourbon Street. We got free continental breakfast, drinks and staff could not be any friendlier. I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must make it to Galatoire's the service and food are to die for. Men must wear a jacket, but the experience is worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the highlander 59
Edmond, OK
Nov 24, 2012

Classy Hotel, conveniently situated

Clean, comfortable room, modern amenities and conveniently situated in the French quarter. This was our fourth trip to New Orleans and the Dauphine Hotel was so much better than our previous experiences with other hotels in the area. Very helpful, friendly staff who went the extra mile to advise us on tourism options available to us. Good breakfast in nice surroundings. Parking available onsite with pleasant valet staff. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search