$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
View map of 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
285 out of 285
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ON Canada
Nov 9, 2009

Not very fancy

The last trip we stayed at the Omni, we should have returned to that hotel. The location was alright, but the hotel is small and plain. You have to walk through the parking area to get to the restaurant and the elevators. We would not choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 2, 2010

New Orleans

One elevator was broken when we arrived on Sunday and the front desk staff was very incommunicative. No one smiled or offered any specific assistance in getting us our room in a timely basis except one cocky desk clerk. We stayed at the Dauphine in November and it was great. We will not stay there again. Too many singles and very unruly. Staff very focused on african americans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Creole Kitchen to eat. Take the Delta Queen but don't eat on the boat.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Apr 27, 2010

Friendly small old hotel - needs stimulu

People were very friendly but the room had a window that was sealed shut and the room was so small that it felt terribly closed in. The bathrooms need a shelf at least as it was too small to place our necessities. They were doing some paint-up while we were there, but it felt like too little for the overall need to redo. Almost shabby. It was New Orleans, and it was forgivable considering the last five years of struggling to return to being a great host city. Many, many of the other buildings were looking dirty, and in need of freshening up. Sidewalks often in big need of repair, and the garbage in the quarter seemed in the way and smelly. If they keep letting college kids take over the quarter they needn't bother. The history and the traditional jazz brings has brought us back countless times, but they seem to be loosing their roots. I hope the city regains it luster and my grandkids can enjoy it as much as we have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close for shopping and dining - even for us Seniors, but too many tee-shirt shops, and do people really need to sell those stupid glasses to drink from? It seems impossible that so many repetitive shops can possibly make it. Royal St. is still better, but it will probably take a few more years to recover the real posh feel it used to have.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fullgloss
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 16, 2011

Nice.

Hotel was far enough away from Bourbon to enjoy some quiet time. Lots of great places to eat nearby, and the hotel bar (May Bailey's) was the best bar we went to during our week in town. Room was average, not spotless but not dirty. No dresser in a king room meant living out of a suitcase for a week, which was disappointing. Flat screen tv in room was set up incorrectly, making it unwatchable. Tempurpedic bed was outstanding and very comfortable. Desk staff was ok, valet staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana was the best cajun meal we had. The turtle soup is a 100 year old recipe, and it shows. Really great stuff.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lois CPA
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Apr 27, 2010

Good Location.

The hotel was okay. It was quiet for the French Quarter. We were there for 5 nights; the sheets were never changed. Could use some new mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss the New Orleans Jazz Fest!!!

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shop-a-lot
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 27, 2010

Some like it hot

If AC worked it would have been more tolerable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krodamai
Business
Roxbury, MA
Mar 1, 2011

Location is best feature

Staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient. Rooms were small, and ours did not have a view, and abutted the parking garage which had its own daily ebb and flow, as heard particularly well from our bathroom. The pool is small, the fitness room, small. Location was really good -- just far away enough from the revelers of Bourbon Street. In comparison to Bienville House where I have also stayed, I prefer Bienville House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a take out window at Cafe du Monde, on the backside away from the street, if waiting for a table is prohibitive. Also, CC's Coffee House (several locations in the city) serves excellent coffee.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 4, 2007

Needs maintainace~

The hotel has maintainance issues. The roof in my room leaked, the shower had mold growing in it, and in general the rooms need a good cleaning. I've stayed there many times, and this last visit was a disapointment. The hotel was short staffed, house keeping left a lot to be desired. Either they were pounding at the door at 8:00 AM or didn't get around to cleaning the room until 4:00 PM. I love the location. The next time I visit New Oreans I'll probably stay there, but be more carefull in inspecting the room before accepting the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, close to the action, but away from the crowds and noise.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joan Farmer
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 17, 2014

Great Family Vacation

Location great. Nice to be in the French Quarter near restaurants etc. Everything within walking distance. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Room average but always kept clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Frenchman Street for great music. Three Muses especially good.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanawilltravel
Business
Washington
Oct 9, 2014

getaway

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool was nice, the bed was comfortable. It is an older hotel and the carpet could have been cleaner and was not vacuumed well. It is in walking distance of Jackson Square, Cafe duMonde, the River Walk. We didn't have to leave town as early as checkout and they were great about locking our luggage with the valet so that we could enjoy the city till we had to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can, enjoy a meal at the Court of Two Sisters!

Back to menu Return to top