$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
247 reviews
EXCELLENT stay in the French Quarter!

This was my first trip to New Orleans. Being a 24 year old female traveling with my 16 year old... See full review

  • mrsgrohl
  • Jun 30, 2014
Memorial Day Vaca

Very pleased with this hotel. Excellent location. Easy walking distance to everything in French... See full review

  • Austin Chick
  • May 28, 2014
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.957 -90.0685
Area served
New Orleans, LA.
Nearby airports
Armstrong Intl. Airport: Take I-10 east. Exit #235A U-turn at sign "French Quarter Via Toulouse". Take immediate right, then after 3 blocks, take another right. Go two blocks and hotel is on the right.
Area description
Area attractions include: Aquarium of the Americas/Imax Museum, Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Louisiana Superdome and New Orleans Arena, Convention Center, National D-Day Museum, jazz clubs, antique shopping along Chartres Street, Royal Street and Magazine Street, Audubon Park and Zoo, City Park featuring Storyland for the children, New Orleans Museum of Art, Woldenberg Park, paddlewheel boats down the Mississippi, Broadway plays at the Mahalia Jackson Theater, Louisiana Children's Museum, Harrah's New Orleans, Garden District, unique above ground cemeteries, historic streetcars and much more!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fullgloss
Austin, TX
Jul 16, 2011

Nice.

Hotel was far enough away from Bourbon to enjoy some quiet time. Lots of great places to eat nearby, and the hotel bar (May Bailey's) was the best bar we went to during our week in town. Room was average, not spotless but not dirty. No dresser in a king room meant living out of a suitcase for a week, which was disappointing. Flat screen tv in room was set up incorrectly, making it unwatchable. Tempurpedic bed was outstanding and very comfortable. Desk staff was ok, valet staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana was the best cajun meal we had. The turtle soup is a 100 year old recipe, and it shows. Really great stuff.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
orlean traveler
richmond, va
Jun 6, 2010

good location, clean rooms, no hassles

easy walk to all parts of New Orleans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ON Canada
Nov 9, 2009

Not very fancy

The last trip we stayed at the Omni, we should have returned to that hotel. The location was alright, but the hotel is small and plain. You have to walk through the parking area to get to the restaurant and the elevators. We would not choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 2, 2010

New Orleans

One elevator was broken when we arrived on Sunday and the front desk staff was very incommunicative. No one smiled or offered any specific assistance in getting us our room in a timely basis except one cocky desk clerk. We stayed at the Dauphine in November and it was great. We will not stay there again. Too many singles and very unruly. Staff very focused on african americans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Creole Kitchen to eat. Take the Delta Queen but don't eat on the boat.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, N. Y.
Oct 31, 2010

Second Time Around

This was our second stay at the Dauphine Orleans. It is a convenient walk for most places in the French Quarter including fine restaurants. In fact Bayona is right across the street. The only fault is that our room had lamps on only one side.A simple pin-up would have been an improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

we found that having lunch at restaurants such as Brennans, Antoines and Pat O'Briens and eating light at dinner time was economical. They were all only a couple of blocks away.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KelleyBKLYN
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 25, 2013

Great Location

We stayed here because the hotel our conference was being held at sold out. The complimentary breakfast daily was a lovely treat. The room was clean and adequate. The gym is TINY. But the staff was very friendly, even when I kept deactivating my room key with my phone. But the location is PERFECT! Right in the middle of everything but still really quiet. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Jun 14, 2010

Great Location

It's certainly not the fanciest place in the Quarter, but I had no complaints. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet, and the front desk staff was nice and helpful. Pool is a little on the small side, but it's a cute little courtyard, and Mae Baily's bar is just steps away if you need to grab a drink. Obviously, the main reason to stay here is location - just a block away from Bourbon, but away from all the noise and craziness. The complimentary breakfast is nothing special, but convenient if you want to grab something light before heading out. We got a good deal on the hotel and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 26, 2007

Nice location

Nice location but front desk staff was not friendly or helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Bourbon Street

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Grandma
Fennimore, Wisconsin
Mar 25, 2011

Great Location

Rooms are comfortable, but no open window/balcony. Nice size bathroom. Don't bring a car, parking prices are crazy! Great breakfast to start the day without searching for a restaurant. Location is perfect - clean and safe walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If this is your first trip to NOLA, take the Katrina/City tour. Dixie Tours picks you up at your hotel and gives a 3 hour tour of the city and of the devastation and rebuild efforts, plus the cemetary! Go on-line for a $5 discount per person.

Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virge
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Anniversary trip

This was our second time staying at this hotel. The staff is excellent, the complimentary breakfast has enough choices for even the pickiest eater, and the location is great. It's one block from Bourbon Street, yet you can't hear any of the revelry in your room. Our only complaint would be that both times we booked online and got a room whose view was of a brick wall. There are many charming courtyard views, but I guess you have to call personally to get those rooms, as they were not available to switch to when we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search