$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
255 reviews
Dauphine hotel

Great experience! Location is a two blocks away from Bourbon street. Quiet at night! The staff were... See full review

  • Mlene
  • Sep 18, 2014
Home away from home

Great hotel...amazing beds!!! All the staff was very friendly and helpful. You felt at home.... See full review

  • Fantabulous
  • Aug 31, 2014
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lulu47
Business
Newark,ca
Feb 14, 2014

Perfect stay

Second time we've stayed here. Everything about this place is perfect. We brought along some friends this trip and they were equally pleased. We've stayed at many 4 and 5 star hotels that fall far below this 3 star.. Location in the French Quarter is quiet. They offer an excellent breakfast in a cute cottage. Staff is so friendly and informative. Rooms are comfortable and free internet. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants close by. No need for cabs. Bayonne across the street. Court of two sisters and Nola's are with a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JGBos
Business
Boston
Jan 29, 2014

Great find

We were in New Orleans for a short wedding weekend. This hotel had too many perks for us to enjoy because we were short on time. Free water bottles, snacks, breakfast, and the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feeko
Business
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Jan 27, 2014

GREAT LOCATION

Although I don't have any other hotel to compare it to, our first stay in New Orleans and staying at the Dauphine was great. We were pleased with the location and the (included) breakfast was perfect. We easily walked the entire French Quarter from Frenchmen Street to Canal Street with ease. Only 1 block off Bourbon Street made it easy to make a lap to people watch before heading to bed. Our room balcony was near the parking garage so we got a bit of noise but never enough to bother our sleep or relaxing time. Friendly and informative staff. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

NOLA ... New Orleans Lager and Ale Brewery in the Garden/Irish Channel District. Free tours and beer on Friday at 2:00. Take the trolley from the French Quarter to the Garden District and get off at Washington Street. It's about a 1 1/2 mile walk towards the river and tour the Lafitte cemetery along the way. Trolley cost $3 for the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manders82
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 12, 2014

Location, Location, Location!!!!

My husband and I stayed in the room with another couple we were traveling with. There was plenty of room to accomodate all of us. Clean and comfortable, this was on par with any modern hotel. Don't get me wrong, it isn't the Waldorf-Astoria by any means, but it had a bed and a bathroom (all we needed, seriously) as well as a pool, gym, breakfast lounge, and bar. The location was PRIME! I have a bad knee, so with it was perfect that I didn't have to walk too far to get anywhere. And if my knee swelled, no biggie, we were close enough I could walk back to prop up my leg and meet the group later. I highly recommend. The ONLY complaint I have is that the bar smelled like a litter box. Literally, the stench of cat urine. However, it did not affect the rest of the hotel or rooms. It was only in the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelin' Dee
Business
Arlington, Wa.
Dec 14, 2013

Fabulous Boutique Hotel in Perfect Location

Our best hotel experience in years! Breakfast (exceptional and included) in a room with weathered wood and old brick walls that used to be Audubon's studio; drinks in a small bar which used to be a brothel and with old licenses framed for viewing;a well stocked paperback library one was encouraged to borrow from (or take!); delightful room with French doors leading to a small balcony overlooking a wrought-iron enhanced patio and pool.Terrific staff with great local recommendations. BEST EVER!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightly shows at Preservation Hall, where old-timers play authentic New Orleans jazz in a room with benches, a few chairs (room holds less than 50), no bar.....just wonderful up-close-and-personal JAZZ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outlaw Josey Wales
Business
West Milford, NJ
Nov 24, 2013

Close Enough...

Close enough to the action of Bourbon St. but far enough away in a quiet neighborhood. Within walking distance of the entire French Quarter. Super friendly and helpful staff. Wish the room had a small refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Domenica and Irene's are the best. Avoid SoBous' (poor service) and Galatoire's (snooty).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lucazalu
Business
Campbell, CA
Nov 20, 2013

good for new orleans!!

the hotel was good and a lot better than other in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BWG1
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Nov 17, 2013

Great location, friendly staff

Staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants and giving directions to sights. Room was clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was great, with fresh fruit (including strawberries), hard boiled eggs & sausage, oatmeal, yogurt, and good coffee. Interior courtyard and small swimming pool were pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sholi super wife
Business
houston, tx
Oct 23, 2013

Nice getaway

The service was good. It was a great location. A block from Bourbon Street. The free breakfast was good. The complaints I had was it was advertised there was free Wifi, however the Wifi was not available bc the company was working on the network. Also it was a little noisy for not being on Bourbon Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. ALB
Business
H-Town
Oct 2, 2013

Great Time!!!!

Great experience with hubby. We are going back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top