$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 28, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
260 reviews
Awesome overnight stay

We stayed at this hotel as a half way stop on the way to San Antonio. What a great stay! The staff... See full review

  • Peg.870
  • Jan 15, 2015
Awesome overnight stay

We stayed at this hotel as a half way stop on the way to San Antonio. What a great stay! The staff... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 15, 2015
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the highlander 59
Edmond, OK
Nov 24, 2012

Classy Hotel, conveniently situated

Clean, comfortable room, modern amenities and conveniently situated in the French quarter. This was our fourth trip to New Orleans and the Dauphine Hotel was so much better than our previous experiences with other hotels in the area. Very helpful, friendly staff who went the extra mile to advise us on tourism options available to us. Good breakfast in nice surroundings. Parking available onsite with pleasant valet staff. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peg.870
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Awesome overnight stay

We stayed at this hotel as a half way stop on the way to San Antonio. What a great stay! The staff was friendly and helpful! We received a free drink at the bar connected to the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very good! It included a wide variety of items. The location is excellent - short walk to Bourbon St. We had a lovely evening and a nice break from our long trip. The hotel is also quite reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Awesome overnight stay

We stayed at this hotel as a half way stop on the way to San Antonio. What a great stay! The staff was friendly and helpful! We received a free drink at the bar connected to the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very good! It included a wide variety of items. The location is excellent - short walk to Bourbon St. We had a lovely evening and a nice break from our long trip. The hotel is also quite reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gail M.
Business
Mackinaw
Jan 6, 2015

awesome hotel

The rooms were great, the breakfast was great and the hotel staff were awesome. Nice location just a couple blocks off of Bourbon. Also a nice bar attached to the hotel. Would stay there again if we ever returned to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennifer B.
Business
Fosters
Dec 23, 2014

First Saints game

We had a really great time overall. Lisa in the on site bar was fantastic. There wasn't enough parking onsite so we were instructed to park at another, open, parking lot. That was a disaster. We paid $80 and only got one nights parking because the machine got the times wrong. We called the number provided at the kiosk and we were told to put more money in another machine. I just wish the hotel had a better understanding if where and how much it costs to park if their parking is full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Tony Morans Italian restaurant. It's on Bourbon St and a short walk from the hotel. I never go to NOLA without dinner there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachele from Missouri
Business
Missouri
Nov 19, 2014

Great Hotel Stay

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for its optimal location, though it was quite pricey for what it had to offer. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. It's a quaint and charming place with its little nooks and crannies. I would recommend it to others as long as the price doesn't scare you off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couple exploring the fren
Business
Fort Wayne, In
Oct 22, 2014

Celebrating 30 year anniversary

We had a rough start. The people at the desk were not prepared and actually changed shifts while we were standing there. Everything was corrected and our two days went very smooth. The location is great when e needed anything. Its a small place and a little dated but they try very hard to get it right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Forget the car and use your legs in the French Quarter. If you need a ride in the quarter use the bike taxis. If you want to go outside use a taxi. You will save money and enjoy yourself much more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanawilltravel
Business
Washington
Oct 21, 2014

sisters getaway

The staff was great, couldn't have been better! The room was comfortable, But could have been cleaner. The location was good and not a bad walk from most places in the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss The Court of Two Sisters restaurant! Fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanawilltravel
Business
Washington
Oct 9, 2014

getaway

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool was nice, the bed was comfortable. It is an older hotel and the carpet could have been cleaner and was not vacuumed well. It is in walking distance of Jackson Square, Cafe duMonde, the River Walk. We didn't have to leave town as early as checkout and they were great about locking our luggage with the valet so that we could enjoy the city till we had to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can, enjoy a meal at the Court of Two Sisters!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mlene
Business
Carson, California
Sep 18, 2014

Dauphine hotel

Great experience! Location is a two blocks away from Bourbon street. Quiet at night! The staff were all vwry friendly and my husband &I were thrilled with the service we received from the staff! Continental breakfast was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joan Farmer
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 17, 2014

Great Family Vacation

Location great. Nice to be in the French Quarter near restaurants etc. Everything within walking distance. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Room average but always kept clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Frenchman Street for great music. Three Muses especially good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top