$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Dauphine Orleans Hotel

3 stars
View map of 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
267 reviews
Couple's Weekend Getaway

Location location location! The hotel was perfect. Close to Canal and the other side of The Quarter... See full review

  • Elisabeth B.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great for business or pleasure!

lovely little boutique hotel with big hotel amenities such as a hot breakfast and a free cocktail... See full review

  • Michael O.
  • Mar 9, 2015
A hospitable, historic French Quarter inn that’s heavy on amenities

Past and present convene at this historic hotel, which dates to the 1700s.  The hotel was once host to John James Audubon as he painted his famous bird series. It was later a bordello. Today, the Dauphine revels in its storied history and offers a comfortable contemporary hotel with lots of Southern hospitality. Guests can stay in the cottages across Dauphine from the main hotel, which are the original structures.

Highlights
  • Saltwater courtyard pool
  • Free continental breakfast and afternoon tea
  • Jacuzzi tubs
Rooms

The Dauphine's 111 rooms are as varied as the hotel's history. The 14 rooms and suites in the Hermann House Courtyard -- once the home of a wealthy merchant -- sport Jacuzzi tubs. The Carriage House was once a French Quarter townhouse and now offers nine unique courtyard rooms, each outfitted with 19th century antiques. Bathrooms in some suites can be quite lavish with opulently draped whirlpool tubs. Every room offers free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, safe, iron and ironing board.  Complimentary continental breakfast, morning newspaper and afternoon tea are nice extras. Some suites include stone fireplaces.

Features

May Bailey's Place, was once a bordello in the red-light district of Storyville. It is now the hotel's intimate bar, complete with a red light outside and "bordello" guest suite upstairs. Visitors are welcome to take books from the inn's library back home.  A recently updated fitness center helps visitors work off the excesses of a visit to New Orleans. Free morning breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereal and a make your own waffles station. There is valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (13 miles)


Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Arts District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups up to 60
  • The 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms cater to small meetings and executive retreats
Policies and fees
  • The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is a non-smoking property. All sleeping rooms and balconies are designated non-smoking. Smoking in a non-smoking room will incur a cleanup fee of $200 each time smoking is detected in the room. Smoking will only be allowed outside in our patio and courtyard areas and in May Baily's Bar.
  • All guests are required to be at least 21 years of age to register for a room. As we check IDs, any one younger than 21 years of age will not be allowed to check in.
  • Parking rate is $34 plus taxes per night for standard vehicles and $38 plus taxes per night for oversized vehicles. Parking rates come with 12% tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dauphine Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Dauphine Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
Our exquisite 111 room French Quarter hotel embodies the essence of Old New Orleans. Listen closely and you can hear the mesmerizing sounds of jazz carried by breezes from the Mississippi River through your open windows. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access * complimentary in-room bottled water
Hermann House Courtyard
The 14 rooms of the Hermann House Courtyard occupy the home of an early 19th century merchant who directed that the structure be built of nothing but the best country bricks and cypress. All 14 Hermann House Courtyard rooms feature a Jacuzzi tub and shower. All suites have large Jacuzzi tubs and marble bathrooms. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access
Carriage House Courtyard Rooms
The 9 Carriage House Courtyard rooms include a unique combination of rooms and suites located in the 18th century Carriage House that was once part of a French Quarter townhouse. Each room is unique and richly appointed with period antiques. All rooms overlook or surround the lush landscape of the Carriage House Courtyard. In every room, you will find: * Cable TV * Hair Dryer * Bathrobes * Irons and Ironing boards * Coffee Maker * Valuables Vault * complimentary wireless internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
Complimentary continental breakfast. Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00am. Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 11:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RIck teacher
Dallas
Aug 6, 2012

Great French Quater Hotel

One block off Burbon Street. This is the perfect Hotel for staying in the French Quater. This is my third stay at the Dauphine and we will definitely be going back. Great rooms, a very good complimentary breakfast, and central to visiting many of the French Quater's sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuluDear
Business
Worthington
Apr 13, 2015

Great staff

The location was perfect for my daughter and me. We went during Mardi Gras and it was so convenient, but not so much in the middle of things that it was loud. The room was big, the staff was gracious and kind all the time and the breakfast, though nothing to especially write home about, was tasty and more than just bread and coffee. This hotel is a little older and has some character. We loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanessa W
Business
N/A
Apr 8, 2015

Beautiful City

Loved our stay! Hotel was small but great. Walking distance to any where. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elisabeth B.
Business
Port Aransas
Apr 6, 2015

Couple's Weekend Getaway

Location location location! The hotel was perfect. Close to Canal and the other side of The Quarter as well. Very comfortable beds and everything we needed for a three night stay. We had a room in the main house. We didn't have a problem with noise. We came in late every night off Bourbon St. though so if there was noise, we slept right through it! The room was clean as well. I don't remember having problems with the wifi. The only thing I would advise guests of is the parking. They do have a garage with valet parking which we used. I did a lot of research before booking the hotel so I knew that is was about $40 per day + tip. If you didn't already know that, I could see how you may be surprised with a bill at the end of your trip. All in all, a wonderful place to stay, just steps from Bourbon! Everyone was so nice and welcoming every time we went back to the hotel! It was a nice quiet haven from the party in the Quarter. I've been to New Orleans several times and will stay here again and again! Love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael O.
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Great for business or pleasure!

lovely little boutique hotel with big hotel amenities such as a hot breakfast and a free cocktail during our stay! we were able to walk to the French Quarter and to all the hot spots that were recommended for us to eat and drink!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NO Traveler
Business
Milwaukee
Feb 4, 2015

Great stay

Near French Quarter/Bourbon St action but far enough away to not deal with all the noise all night. Also convenient to other areas of New Orleans and staff went above and beyond to help (early check-in, Wi-Fi connection issues, etc.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peg.870
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Awesome overnight stay

We stayed at this hotel as a half way stop on the way to San Antonio. What a great stay! The staff was friendly and helpful! We received a free drink at the bar connected to the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very good! It included a wide variety of items. The location is excellent - short walk to Bourbon St. We had a lovely evening and a nice break from our long trip. The hotel is also quite reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Awesome overnight stay

We stayed at this hotel as a half way stop on the way to San Antonio. What a great stay! The staff was friendly and helpful! We received a free drink at the bar connected to the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very good! It included a wide variety of items. The location is excellent - short walk to Bourbon St. We had a lovely evening and a nice break from our long trip. The hotel is also quite reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gail M.
Business
Mackinaw
Jan 6, 2015

awesome hotel

The rooms were great, the breakfast was great and the hotel staff were awesome. Nice location just a couple blocks off of Bourbon. Also a nice bar attached to the hotel. Would stay there again if we ever returned to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennifer B.
Business
Fosters
Dec 23, 2014

First Saints game

We had a really great time overall. Lisa in the on site bar was fantastic. There wasn't enough parking onsite so we were instructed to park at another, open, parking lot. That was a disaster. We paid $80 and only got one nights parking because the machine got the times wrong. We called the number provided at the kiosk and we were told to put more money in another machine. I just wish the hotel had a better understanding if where and how much it costs to park if their parking is full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Tony Morans Italian restaurant. It's on Bourbon St and a short walk from the hotel. I never go to NOLA without dinner there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachele from Missouri
Business
Missouri
Nov 19, 2014

Great Hotel Stay

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for its optimal location, though it was quite pricey for what it had to offer. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. It's a quaint and charming place with its little nooks and crannies. I would recommend it to others as long as the price doesn't scare you off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top