$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
318 reviews
Great Hotel

Hotel is great! Great location, room was comfortable, all the extras were great. The staff could... See full review

  • Irwin R. Fletcher
  • Oct 10, 2014
4 night vacation

Excellent location at corner of Canal & Bourbon Streets! Could walk in the French Quarter & take... See full review

  • AddySG
  • Sep 27, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, Internet access (fees apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is $38 USD plus tax. Self-parking - on own and fees vary.
  • Internet access fee is $16.95 USD per 24-hour period.
  • This hotel does not allow coolers in rooms.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 318
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lolo58
Business
Stanton, CA
Oct 8, 2014

Relaxing

The hotel is conveniently located with entrances on Bourbon Street and Canal Street. Airport shuttle service is a deal at $38 round trip. Hotel was quiet and clean. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mardi Gras Fun
Business
New York
Feb 14, 2013

Mardi Gras

Desk staff lack that extra effort that you would expect from a Crowne Plaza hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mscontractor
Business
North Carolina
Nov 26, 2012

First Visit to New Orleans

Crowne Plaze New Orleans is located at an excellent location on Canal St between Burbon St (party street) and Royal St (antique shopping). Most tourist attractions are within walking distance, and you'd appreciate it when you are looking for a bathroom. I spent 4 nights at this hotel, I arrived late on Wed night, a little bit upset because the room was too cold and I had to wait till maintenance to show up to adjust thermostat since the sensor was located behind wall panel to be opened with a screw-driver. It took over two days for the room to warm up. Otherwise hotel service and amenities were wonderful. The manager left a holiday greeting voicemail, maid service was efficient and thorough (I left the room late following day, came back after lunch in two hours and the room was made up already). Large closet space, modern and comfortable beds and sheets, I slept soundly. I wish they have a refrigerator though so I could store some emergency orange juice to quench the early morning thirst from drinking too much. Hotel has six elevators so you don't wait long for a car. New Orleans was a super crazy town, everybody partied loud on the street but the only noise I got was from my neighbors dancing and singing in the hallway, GO Saints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moblsu
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 19, 2012

NO FREE PARKING

Search results to produce this hotel included "Free Parking", but once I arrived at the hotel I found that the only parking available was Valet. Once I got into the hotel, they upgraded my room to a suite, which was huge. It was a very nice experience, other than the wait required for the valet...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street just out the window...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DGAGE
Business
FLORIDA
Jul 12, 2012

Could Be Better

I wouldn't stay here again. Bourbon St is right on the corner, but the price and very very limited amenities was not exceptional. They do not change the sheets or bedding comforters regularly unless you happen to be there when housekeeping arrives and tell them too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbeee
Business
Ontario, Canada
Dec 27, 2011

Good Location

The hotel was right around the corner from the action and lots of restaurants and bars. Close to a drug store and liquor store...everything we needed was within walking distance..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oyster house is right around the corner...:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Starshine
Business
Texas
Oct 10, 2011

Amazing

I have stayed in many New Orleans Hotels and by far the Astor Crown Plaza was my most pleasant stay. The room was spacious yet cozy and the staff were friendly and always willing to help with even the smallest request. With the location on the corner of Bourbon and Canal I was able to walk anywhere in the French Quarter. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends and I will be staying here on my next visit to the Crescent City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 10, 2011

Cheesy rooms and sketchey service.

Booked the hotel because [...] it was the closest to New Orleans center, that is probably true, but this was a mistake, their website say they just finished a 11.000.000 renovation, but they did not spend a penny of that in my room.Making things worse, I would come back in the afternoon and the room would not yet be serviced, housekeeping will not come back later.WiFi is $10 per day.Room service have good food - BUT NOT DRINKS..! they will serve a glass of vine but no mixed drink.There is a downstairs bar, which close at 10pm.Everything said and done, we left early and checked into another hotel for less money and far better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BinaryDemon
Business
Flemington, NJ
Jan 5, 2011

Amazing location, great service.

Nice location for those interested in partying on Bourbon St. The rest of the French Quarter and Casino are an easy walk. Hotel staff were friendly and efficent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of entertainment within walking distance- Museums, Aquarium, Casino, and Walking tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama Ness
Business
New York, NY
Jun 6, 2010

Third Time Was Not the Charm

The Astor truly does sit at the gateway to the French Quarter, which is the reason I decided to stay a third time. The service, however, was not as I recall. Porters did not offer to help with bags and at 8 a.m. on the first morning of my stay, the maid entered my room unannounced and opened my closet door. Needless to say, I refused to have my room cleaned for the remainder of the trip. Overall, however, hotel is quite beautiful, and nicely maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top