$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
315 reviews
4 night vacation

Excellent location at corner of Canal & Bourbon Streets! Could walk in the French Quarter & take... See full review

  • AddySG
  • Sep 27, 2014
Only place to stay

Location doesn't get better - right at the entrance of Bourbon St, but it faces Canal so I never... See full review

  • Couple n' dog
  • Sep 9, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, Internet access (fees apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.
Policies and fees
  • Internet access fee is $16.95 USD per 24-hour period.
  • This hotel does not allow coolers in rooms.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 315
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AddySG
Clinton IN
Sep 27, 2014

4 night vacation

Excellent location at corner of Canal & Bourbon Streets! Could walk in the French Quarter & take the streetcars on Canal St. Concierges very helpful. Picked up at the hotel for tours. Restaurant in the hotel was excellent-Bourbon House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Or take the streetcar to Magazine street for great small shops & to the Riverwalk for outlet shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FSC92
San Francisco, CA
Sep 20, 2014

Great location, Great price, Missing Amenities

Great location central to the garden district, french quarter, bourbon st, etc. The room was very reasonably priced. Some of the staff was very nice but we asked for towels 3 times and eventually just went to the front desk. I wish the bar at the hotel was open later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmartiz
Texas
Sep 18, 2014

Great location for bourbon st.

I stayed with a couple of friends for my birthday. The lobby was nice, the room was clean and staff was nice. I know this is dumb but I was so glad to see an actual door for the restroom for more privacy. I stayed in other hotel in New Orleans which had some weird doors which I personally didn't like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravellerJK
Dallas, TX
Sep 15, 2014

Great weekend getaway

Great location and access to everything we wanted to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brandy Mixed Up
Chicago
Sep 2, 2014

Bachlorette headache

This hotel is not one that I will go to again. The area was nice and the hotel room was clean, but the customer service was awful. I showed up for check in and they asked for my last name, but never even asked for ID. They asked for my credit card that I wanted to put down any incidentals for. The whole time she kept talking to someone else, a co worker or other guests. In which at least 3 different people came down and said their cards had been deactivated. She gave me my room number and I went to the room with my 3 other guests and everything was fine. The next day we went walking for about 8 hours and came back wanting a nap. We get to the room and all the cards had been deactivated. I went downstairs to find out what happened and she said she needed to talk to Brandy, who was staying in my room supposedly. We had no one named Brandy in my reservation nor was my name Brandy. She said that's not possible because that was Brandy's room number, but it shows she never showed up for check in, even though I was supposedly in her room. The person helping asked one manager for help, but she was helping 3 other people. Then she asked for another managers help because she couldn't figure out how my information was under someone else's name. That manager also had 3 other people to help. I started to panic wondering if my card was charged for a no show, for either Brandy or myself, and if our stuff was even still in the room since it had been deactivated. They would not answer my questions. They just kept talking to themselves and not letting me know where my stuff was or if my card had been charged. The woman who checked me in the night before literally was talking to another co worker about me being upset and yelling about her, right in front of me so I could hear her and I told her yes, I am upset since you had put me in someone else's room and I was locked out. They finally managed to figure it out. Told me I was charged, but that would be refunded, I have not seen the refund yet. Then I had to wait outside the room for 15 minutes until the manager could unlock our room. When we walked in, one bed was made. The other looked like it was about to be made, but everything was on the floor and housekeeping left it. Then the last night we stayed, the fire alarm in our room's battery went out at about 1 am so the notice alarm went off every so often throughout the night. I tried calling down to the front desk, however no one picked up the phone. Everything else was nice facilities, but the hour long ordeal and the customer service was not worth it. If I go again will definitely find another hotel that checks IDs and alarm systems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeyQuick
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 22, 2014

Water logged..

Great lobby, that leads into a bourbon bar, very upscale feeling on the edge of Bourbon. Most of the elevators worked but were slow, the room's bathroom smelled like mildew which I can't stand.. but the room itself was clean and had a couple seats and good beds. The view was out a small porthole which felt like a cruise ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

LAFITTE'S BLACKSMITH SHOP BAR, New Orleans, LA... oldest bar in the US o A

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristin BR
Louisiana
Jun 10, 2014

Will NEVER go back!!!

It was horrible! We checked in on Friday, and were given our room. When we got there, the inside latch was done (how, I don't know), so we couldn't get in. When we told them, they acted like we were lying. They sent someone and realized they'd have to give us another room. The next room was 79 degrees! They told us it was because it had not been on, and needed about 15 min to cool down. We left for lunch, and returned 7 hours later....still 79 degrees! So we told them, and they sent someone. He worked on it for almost 2 hours, and said he'd be back. By the time he came back and told us we would have to switch rooms again, it was midnight. The 3rd room they gave us had cockroaches! When we told them, they didn't apologize....they just laughed and said how resilient roaches were! The fourth room was smaller and not what we paid for, but by then it was 1 AM and we had children with us. The manager have us some free breakfasts, 2 movies, and $75 in room service. However, we couldn't order the movies bc the remote wouldn't work. We had to ask 3 times, and wait over 2 hours before they brought us a remote that would work. Then we when for the bill, they tried charging us 2 extra spots for parking and wanted to argue with me! The manager at that time was Irelon. Not at ALL friendly or apologetic!!! They refused to accommodate us in any other way! We were all so disappointed! I plan on telling everyone to NOT stay at the Crowne Plaza! I have no idea how it is ranked a 4 star hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dw615
Seattle, WA
Jun 2, 2014

Great location, needs a little more attention to detail

Location is great if you want to be right on Bourbon. The Hotel Desk staff was great! The overall cleanliness of our room was not

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Nurse '08
Michigan
Apr 14, 2014

Quick Stay

This is in a great location (right off of Bourbon street in French Quarter). It is an older building, but well kept. Clean and no issues. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woodschris
neworleans
Feb 21, 2014

gateway

Ac stoped 3 times they only came.twice. they where slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around conor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top