$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
329 reviews
Great Hotel

Hotel is great! Great location, room was comfortable, all the extras were great. The staff could... See full review

  • Irwin R. Fletcher
  • Oct 10, 2014
4 night vacation

Excellent location at corner of Canal & Bourbon Streets! Could walk in the French Quarter & take... See full review

  • AddySG
  • Sep 27, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, Internet access (fees apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is $38 USD plus tax. Self-parking - on own and fees vary.
  • Internet access fee is $16.95 USD per 24-hour period.
  • This hotel does not allow coolers in rooms.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (329)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple n' dog
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 9, 2014

Only place to stay

Location doesn't get better - right at the entrance of Bourbon St, but it faces Canal so I never heard any street noise. Surprisingly high class inside for the price. I have stayed in half dozen other hotels in NOLA (Blake, Sheraton, Modern, O'Keefe...) and this beats them all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny DD
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 8, 2014

Great Trip

The hotel was awesome! Great location and a very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nichole S.
Business
Southern
Sep 8, 2014

Beds

Beds were some of the worst I have slept in; the sheets felt like paper. I would except that from a Holiday Inn, but not the famous Crowne Plaza. Location was great! Room service...not so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickel121
Business
Pompano Beach, Florida
Sep 8, 2014

Long Weekend Get Away

Staff friendly. We were able to check in when we got there at 10am. Perfect location for everything you want to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking tour in Garden District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kyle1980
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 3, 2014

My go to hotel in NOLA

Stayed at the hotel from Thursday to Tuesday over Labor Day weekend. I stay here every time I come to NOLA which is once a year. The location is great and you can walk out the side door to the beginning of Bourbon Street. There are several fast food and sit down restaurants very close. Easy access to the streetcars and walking distance to pretty much anything. Would be nice to have a mini fridge in the room but other than that I love this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brandy Mixed Up
Business
Chicago
Sep 2, 2014

Bachlorette headache

This hotel is not one that I will go to again. The area was nice and the hotel room was clean, but the customer service was awful. I showed up for check in and they asked for my last name, but never even asked for ID. They asked for my credit card that I wanted to put down any incidentals for. The whole time she kept talking to someone else, a co worker or other guests. In which at least 3 different people came down and said their cards had been deactivated. She gave me my room number and I went to the room with my 3 other guests and everything was fine. The next day we went walking for about 8 hours and came back wanting a nap. We get to the room and all the cards had been deactivated. I went downstairs to find out what happened and she said she needed to talk to Brandy, who was staying in my room supposedly. We had no one named Brandy in my reservation nor was my name Brandy. She said that's not possible because that was Brandy's room number, but it shows she never showed up for check in, even though I was supposedly in her room. The person helping asked one manager for help, but she was helping 3 other people. Then she asked for another managers help because she couldn't figure out how my information was under someone else's name. That manager also had 3 other people to help. I started to panic wondering if my card was charged for a no show, for either Brandy or myself, and if our stuff was even still in the room since it had been deactivated. They would not answer my questions. They just kept talking to themselves and not letting me know where my stuff was or if my card had been charged. The woman who checked me in the night before literally was talking to another co worker about me being upset and yelling about her, right in front of me so I could hear her and I told her yes, I am upset since you had put me in someone else's room and I was locked out. They finally managed to figure it out. Told me I was charged, but that would be refunded, I have not seen the refund yet. Then I had to wait outside the room for 15 minutes until the manager could unlock our room. When we walked in, one bed was made. The other looked like it was about to be made, but everything was on the floor and housekeeping left it. Then the last night we stayed, the fire alarm in our room's battery went out at about 1 am so the notice alarm went off every so often throughout the night. I tried calling down to the front desk, however no one picked up the phone. Everything else was nice facilities, but the hour long ordeal and the customer service was not worth it. If I go again will definitely find another hotel that checks IDs and alarm systems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick loowho
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 18, 2014

NOLA Trip

Good location. Nice staff. Room could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Searcy
Business
Texas
Aug 17, 2014

Family Vacation

Have stayed at this hotel several times, great location to all attractions, nice,comfortable rooms, good food, staff go above and beyond to help guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelmomma
Business
Mobile, AL, USA
Aug 2, 2014

Short trip to new orleans

My family and i visited new orleans. We pull up and the valet has a taxi pull up next to the drivers side and i was stuck in my car for fifteen minutes. It is a non smoking facitlity, the have a balcony on the second floor so you can smoke, but after you go drinking and come back to the hotel at 3 am the balcony is locked and the only way to smoke is going through the front door, where you are harrassed by people while you are trying to get your last nicotene fix before bed. I was not impressed with the bathrooms or the room itself. It was super hard to close our door. It kept getting stuck to the floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right off bourbon street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hot Hotty
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jul 25, 2014

Disappointing

No microwave or refrigerator in the room. Rooms were dated. Rooms dimly lit. I paid for a king sized bed but was placed in a room with 2 beds instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

use the trolley day pass

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top