$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
View map of 739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
351 out of 351
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dont stay at the Crowne Plaza
Business
LA, CA
Apr 5, 2010

Avoid if possible

Door did not lock to room Overflow was filthy Shower did not work at all 'Valet' parking at over $30 per day involved getting on a bus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a tour of the sity

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Aug 6, 2011

Good Location, But lacking

The location of the hotel was great! The room was nice but small if you are in the older part. The bathroom was real small. Parking is $31 a day. The air condition was broke one night but they had it fixed the next morning prety quick. The Concierge [...]was very helpful and nice with tours and suggestions. The resturant attached to the hotel Buorbon Seafood house closed for breakfast before there posted time almost everyday. We ate dinner there once and they told us they dropped our food on the floor and it would be a little longer; but offered no complimentary desert discount or anything we waited an hour for the food. Overall nice place but don't expect to much just because its a Crowne Plaza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Willie Mae's Scotch House for Lunch or Early Dinner only open 9-5 and not the best neighborhoods but only a $8 cab ride and they will call you a cab when you leave. Truly one of the best meals in New Orleans and reasonably priced. I can't say enough about it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dislike
Business
Lafayette, LA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

stay was ok!!!!!

The room was nice, but the bedroom floor was dirty and the blower did not work. Wasn't happy with the bartender, didn't seem to want to wait on us, so we left and went a bar near by the Red Fish Grill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dite
Business
New Orleans
Feb 16, 2011

Hotel [...] Review

My room was not cleaned from the last guest. On the way out, I told the front desk to please have the room cleaned for when I returned in the evening. When I returned at 8:30 pm, the room had not been cleaned. I again informed the front desk. They were sincerly apologetic, gave me a basket of juices and snacks to try to make it up to me. You can judge for yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 1, 2011

Not great, but certainly OK

This hotel was just OK. The reason it gets an "OK" from me is that it represents itself as a 4 star property. It is definitely a solid 3 star, but it is really a stretch to call it a 4 star. I was in an Executive Club King room. It was large enough for two without feeling cramped. However, the bathroom was dated and there was damage to both the tub finish and the caulking around the sink area. A 4 star property would have this taken care of. On my second night, the grate came off of the Air Conditioning housing unit and slammed into the mirror frightening both of us at 2am. When we reported it the next morning, we expected someone to come and take a look. That did not happen and the grate remained on the floor for the remainder of the stay. A 4 star property would have taken care of this immediately and we would have at least heard from the manager. Throughout my stay we encountered friendly and willing staff. However, they were under-trained in hotel customer service. While I appreciate cultural norms (this was New Orleans after all), I do not appreciate being called "baby, honey, sugar, and darlin'" by the hotel staff. In addition, the front desk and room service lines repeatedly rang without answer. When I finally got through to room service, the nice young man was a second language learner and was completely baffled by the words I was speaking. I had to ask for a manager so I could place my order. The young man was eager to please, but not trained to take a room service order. Again, a 4 star hotel does not allow this to happen. On the bed when I checked in was a little bag with linen spray, one set of ear plugs, and one eye mask. This seemed a little gimicky to me. A 4 star hotel would have provided environment buffers like these on demand and in a quantity suitable for the entire room. On the plus side, the delivery of the room service was lighting fast with friendly people coming to your door to set up the table. My order was not cooked as requested and they quickly corrected the issue. I don't expect perfection just good service. Mistakes happen and the room service folks fixed it. Well done! Housekeeping was also exemplary. The hotel was clean in general and SAFE which is really important. The location was perfect and walkable to many attractions. Our room was quiet even though it was on the corner of Burbon and Canal. Overall, I would stay here again, but only at a discounted rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Jan 4, 2010

Good hotel, but could be better

This hotel was in my opinion in the best location possible for getting a feel for both the party side of the city as well as the dining/shopping side. It's the last hotel on bourbon street, so you can see where all the partying starts and go that way, or cross canal street and go shopping instead. Everything on the bottom floor is beautiful (check-in & concierge area, bar, restauraunt), but when I got to my room, I was really surprised at how small it was. It is about half the size of a typical room at a large chain hotel. The room itself could have been a little cleaner; there was sand in our sink from the people who were there before us. The next morning, we were awoken by the housekeeping people laughing and talking very loudly for about an hour in the hallway. Besides that, I thought it was a very nice hotel. It would have been rated higher by me if at least some of the housekeeping issues were taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HISTORY IN THE BUFF
Business
NEWPORT BEACH, CA
Oct 28, 2009

MIXED FEELINGS

IT HAD BEEN QUITE AWHILE SINCE I HAD VISITED N.O. SO I READ MANY REVIEWS ABOUT THE VARIOUS HOTELS IN THE FRENCH QUARTER. I LOVE HISTORY AND THE QUARTER IS PACKED WITH TONS OF IT. THE ASTOR IS LOCATED RIGHT ON THE CORNER OF BOURBON AND CANAL SO THERE IS NO BETTER LOCATION WHEN YOU WANT TO BE IN THE HEART OF THE ACTION. BE PREPARED, HOWEVER, TO LISTEN TO THE HEARTBEAT ALL NIGHT LONG, AND I MEAN ALL NIGHT. I THOUGHT THERE WOULD BE A ORDINANCE OR SOMETHING TO KICK IN AT ABOUT 2 A.M. LIKE IN OTHER CITIES. NOT SO. THIS PLACE DOES NOT QUIET DOWN UNTIL DAWN. THE FURNISHINGS ARE A BIT DATED. THE BED IS NOT AS ADVERTISED. I WAS UNCOMFORTABLE WITH THE MATTRESS. STAFF, LOCATION AND CLEANLINESS ALL FIRST RATE. ON A SUNDAY MORNING I WAS ABLE TO TOUR QUITE A BIT OF THE FRENCH QUARTER IN ABOUT TWO HOURS ON FOOT. I COULD NOT PUT MY CAMERA AWAY AS THERE IS SO MUCH TO PHOTOGRAPH. THE KILLER LOCATION PROVIDES ACCESS TO SO MUCH YOU WASTE MONEY WITH A CAR RENTAL. PARKING IS A HASSLE AND THOSE WHO DO RENT CARS FIND THEMSELVES LEAVING THE CAR BEHIND AND WALKING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lag1
Business
Chicago
Jun 26, 2014

Good location, great staff

Air did not work, carpet was in need of change, staff was great, location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tinetine
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 25, 2014

Good location, Not the best amenities

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a business trip. My phone in the room didn't work and the walls were paper thin you could hear everything. The room was clean and the location was great, but I had wished there had been a bit more for the amount I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hot in NOLA
Business
New Orleans
Jun 23, 2014

Falls a bit short of expectations

We liked the location of this hotel which is on the corner of Canal and Bourbon street, on the west boarder of the French Quarter. When we arrived at the front desk there was only one other hotel guest in front of us who were already having a conversation with two of the hotel receptionists. We waited several minutes while they carried on in what appeared to be a conversation about where to go to see a show. At no time did either of the receptionists make eye contact with us or acknowledge our arrival to welcome us or assure us that they would be with us shortly! When a third receptionist arrived, I thought we would finally be checked in, but to my dismay, she too made no eye contact! I finally approached her and asked if we could get checked in and she looked up as if surprised to see I was there. We were also disappointed with the salt water swimming pool which looks much larger in the photo provided on the website. It was really small, so much so, that we didn't even bother. The biggest disappointment was however our room experience. We arrived late around eight after a long drive through horriblble traffic. We were hungry and tired and after checking in went directly out for dinner. It was oppressively hot in New Orleans in June, so when we finished eating we were looking forward to returning to our cool, air conditioned room. Unfortunately, when we opened the door to our room, we immediately realized that the room was warm. Thinking that all I needed to do was to turn down the thermostat, I attempted to do so, only to realize that the AC unit was not working. We called the operator and shortly later a maintenance man arrived and got the unit working after trouble shooting it. Great! All set, no big deal, right? Well, maybe not. The next morning we left the hotel to walk around the French Quarter, have lunch and see the sights. Again, it was unbearably hot with temps in the low 90's. After three hours we couldn't take the heat any longer and decided to return to our room to cool down and relax. What disappointment to enter our room and find it hot inside! Our AC unit was not working again! A maintenance man arrived again and spent well over an hour trouble shooting the unit, leaving and returning three times in the process. He finally determined that the unit needed to have the motor replaced and that we needed to be moved to another room. At no time did the front desk or anyone from management contact us to convey any concern for our troubles or to offer an apology for the inconvenience. A hotel employee showed up at our door with the keys to the new room, but appeared annoyed when we requested a Bell Hop to assist us with moving our luggage. Our new room was smaller than the original room and when we pulled back the curtain we found a brick wall for our "view"! At least the AC unit worked, lol!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid Burbon street ( unless you are seeking strip clubs)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top