$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
472 reviews
Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great... See full review

  • GRTT
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi (fees may apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

  • The pool and fitness centre will be closed from 6-10 August 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (472)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
472 out of 472
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Petersburg, FL
Aug 6, 2011

Good Location, But lacking

The location of the hotel was great! The room was nice but small if you are in the older part. The bathroom was real small. Parking is $31 a day. The air condition was broke one night but they had it fixed the next morning prety quick. The Concierge [...]was very helpful and nice with tours and suggestions. The resturant attached to the hotel Buorbon Seafood house closed for breakfast before there posted time almost everyday. We ate dinner there once and they told us they dropped our food on the floor and it would be a little longer; but offered no complimentary desert discount or anything we waited an hour for the food. Overall nice place but don't expect to much just because its a Crowne Plaza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Willie Mae's Scotch House for Lunch or Early Dinner only open 9-5 and not the best neighborhoods but only a $8 cab ride and they will call you a cab when you leave. Truly one of the best meals in New Orleans and reasonably priced. I can't say enough about it.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston Texas
Oct 25, 2010

Good location!

Nice hotel, great Location but expensive valet, and they took too long and we had to walk 8 blocks in the rain to get our car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mardi Gras Fun
New York
Feb 14, 2013

Mardi Gras

Desk staff lack that extra effort that you would expect from a Crowne Plaza hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ajennings
raleigh, nc
Oct 1, 2010

great Bourbon Street location

Upon checking in, I was told that the computers were down and it would be about 5 minutes, however, I was told this in the manner one that would use when speaking to a small child. I was put in a handicapped room, so everytime the shower was used the bathroom floor flooded with water b/c there was no slope to drain the water appropriatley. The hair dryer was dead, which was reported on day 1 of stay, still not fixed upon checking out after 3 days. Great location, however very nasty outside first thing in the morning as it is on Bourbon Street. Lots of street preformers/homeless/panhandlers are waiting just outside hotel to ask for money, or in our case, try and pickpocket you while saying "I know where you got those shoes" **beware anyone telling you this in NOLA. Needs security to keep guests from being hassled, expecially when it takes 20 minutes to get your car from valet (@32.00 a day which wasn't disclosed until checkout!)All in all, if you are going to NOLA to enjoy Bourbon St, its a great location, just a few stumbles down from about 100+ bars/clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Howl at the Moon, a dueling piano bar is a few blocks down Bourbon St. Oceana is a great place for local seafood any time of day.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
baton rouge, la.
Oct 12, 2010

Nice hotel, parking is a JOKE!

very nice hotel and great location but parking was a total joke!! i valet parked upon arrival expecting a parking fee which i knew would have to be pd at check-out...the only problem i had was after paying $93 for parking you have to wait on a shuttle bus to pick you up to take you to your car!! after loading all of your luggage on to this shuttle bus you are then driven a few blocks away to a $10 a day parking lot to retrieve your car!!! the hotel fails to tell you this upon arrival of course!! i was expecting my car to be in a covered garage at hotel only to find it was blocks away in a much cheaper parking lot with cars upon cars crammed inside! i wasn't the only person livid about this either! but you can bet it was a lesson learned!!! watch out for this scam!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HISTORY IN THE BUFF
Business
NEWPORT BEACH, CA
Oct 28, 2009

MIXED FEELINGS

IT HAD BEEN QUITE AWHILE SINCE I HAD VISITED N.O. SO I READ MANY REVIEWS ABOUT THE VARIOUS HOTELS IN THE FRENCH QUARTER. I LOVE HISTORY AND THE QUARTER IS PACKED WITH TONS OF IT. THE ASTOR IS LOCATED RIGHT ON THE CORNER OF BOURBON AND CANAL SO THERE IS NO BETTER LOCATION WHEN YOU WANT TO BE IN THE HEART OF THE ACTION. BE PREPARED, HOWEVER, TO LISTEN TO THE HEARTBEAT ALL NIGHT LONG, AND I MEAN ALL NIGHT. I THOUGHT THERE WOULD BE A ORDINANCE OR SOMETHING TO KICK IN AT ABOUT 2 A.M. LIKE IN OTHER CITIES. NOT SO. THIS PLACE DOES NOT QUIET DOWN UNTIL DAWN. THE FURNISHINGS ARE A BIT DATED. THE BED IS NOT AS ADVERTISED. I WAS UNCOMFORTABLE WITH THE MATTRESS. STAFF, LOCATION AND CLEANLINESS ALL FIRST RATE. ON A SUNDAY MORNING I WAS ABLE TO TOUR QUITE A BIT OF THE FRENCH QUARTER IN ABOUT TWO HOURS ON FOOT. I COULD NOT PUT MY CAMERA AWAY AS THERE IS SO MUCH TO PHOTOGRAPH. THE KILLER LOCATION PROVIDES ACCESS TO SO MUCH YOU WASTE MONEY WITH A CAR RENTAL. PARKING IS A HASSLE AND THOSE WHO DO RENT CARS FIND THEMSELVES LEAVING THE CAR BEHIND AND WALKING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
None
Jul 28, 2010

Great Stay

I didn't realize that the hotel we reserved was on canal street, which was awesome! The valet staff were the best and always helpful. The hotel lobby was beautiful. However, the room was what I least expected. The rooms were less modern. There were stains on the white bedding. Our window was facing the back of other buildings (bummer). But overall, I couldn't complain because we were hardly in our room. You could walk from the hotel to just about anywhere in the French Quarter. The New Orleaneans were wonderful people. I definitely was glad to support there wonderful city, and hope to make it back there in the near future. Let the Good Times Roll!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 3, 2010

Great location

We expected the hotel to be a 5 star or at least a solid 4, but it wasn't. The first room they put us in was filthy. The floors had crumbs and chunks of food on the floor and the couch had stains on it. Also, the window above the bed had nothing on it to keep the morning sun out. We waited nearly an hour for the technician to come so we could prove to them that there was no shade. Finally they came and saw for themselves and then they put us in a new room that was cleaner and did have a shade over the window. We really didn't get an apology or a feeling that the hotel was sorry they had rented such a trashy room. They almost seemed bothered by our situation. The $200 we spent was not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
cleveland
May 19, 2010

Crowne Plaza Hotel ASTOR

be prepared for a party outside the hotel every night - relatively quiet, depending on where your room is, but would think about bringing earphones. hotel otherwise nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
cleveland
May 19, 2010

Crowne Plaza Hotel ASTOR

be prepared for a party outside the hotel every night - relatively quiet, depending on where your room is, but would think about bringing earphones. hotel otherwise nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top