$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
305 reviews
Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great... See full review

  • GRTT
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, Internet access (fees apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.
Policies and fees
Internet access fee is $16.95 USD per 24-hour period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (305)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worktotravel
Houston
Apr 28, 2014

Could I get a smile

Check in staff was extremely rude. Not a single smile. They were moving at snail speed and god forbid you asked for help. All we got was a bad attitude. If you don't like your job then you should get another one. We had a problem with our reservation. It was confirmed but they needed "the paperwork" because confirmation number and email is not enough. They made us wait 2 hrs at check in ( we arrived at 1130pm). We didn't get in a room until after 1 am. And apparently you are not allowed to talk to a manager because " they can't help you". Worst service ever which is too bad because the location was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
darmarisa
New Jersey
May 13, 2013

Disappointimg

Attended a wedding in New Orleans. Beds were not comfortable, bedding were stiff, felt like we were in a tunnel, the coffee pot was in the bathroom which was strange and halls were like mazes. Staff was very very nice. Couldn't sleep because of all the noise even though they supplied us with ear plugs.Would not return if I had the opportunity to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JaWM
Louisiana
Dec 13, 2013

Daughters College Graduation

The hotel was centrally located on Canal street which was the prime reason for choosing the Crowne Plaza. The curb parking was taken so we drove around the block several times waiting for the valet to open up a spot for us to park for the valet service. The front desk was efficient and expedited our check-in. The room was as we requested-king non-smoking. The room itself had dated furnishings but the bed was very comfortable. The concerns: mold in the bathroom, fixture in tub was difficult to regulate, shower head was dirty with mold and calcified water and the plumbing fixtures rattled all night. Should of known when the ear plugs were part of the comfort items provided. check-out was swift. Will we stay here again-probable not. The same room rates are offered at other hotels on Canal street with garage parking and updated rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kvth
new york
Jun 8, 2014

No A/C in June!

It was a fine hotel, good location and we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, since we were in new orleans. but for 5 of the 7 nights we stayed the A/C was broken...often hotter inside than in the 90 degree outside...and there was no offer for compensation, nor seemingly any urgency on their part to fix it. Wish we'd stayed somewhere else...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Mar 10, 2011

Cheesy rooms and sketchey service.

Booked the hotel because [...] it was the closest to New Orleans center, that is probably true, but this was a mistake, their website say they just finished a 11.000.000 renovation, but they did not spend a penny of that in my room.Making things worse, I would come back in the afternoon and the room would not yet be serviced, housekeeping will not come back later.WiFi is $10 per day.Room service have good food - BUT NOT DRINKS..! they will serve a glass of vine but no mixed drink.There is a downstairs bar, which close at 10pm.Everything said and done, we left early and checked into another hotel for less money and far better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sodusmom
Benton Harbor, MI
May 12, 2014

Needs Improvement

The first full day required a call at 7pm to housekeeping to have our room cleaned. Thought maybe they just missed it. Next day they did get there earlier...5pm. Third day was a repeat of 5pm. Used glasses were left. Ice bucket was not emptied. All they did was change the towels and make the beds. Never got new sheets the entire time. No coffee available in the lobby. Breakfast was terribly expensive. Staff never asked about our stay when we checked out. No thank you for coming. Nothing. I will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Henrietta, TX
Aug 1, 2008

Good not great

The Crown Plaza Astor, was comfortable but has some issues. for a four star hotel, you would expect the towels to be softer, and the in-room movie system to work. Also the air conditioning is on a motion sensor so if your not moving it automatically turns itself off. But the location is great if you wanna be close to Bourbon street and the French Quarter in a luxury atmoshere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's all right there.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BigNock
Thibodaux, LA
Apr 22, 2009

Could not relax

Stayed their with my wife and another couple. We enjoyed N.O. very much, but was not able to get much rest. Very nosiy. Very bad mattress. We were changed to another room @ 2am, after not being able to sleep, which was much cleaner, quieter, and the bed was much more comfortable. The next night we were woken up to the fire alarm about 2:45 am. Another disturbed night's sleep. When we checked out of the hotel and went to claim our car that we had valet parked, I was told that I had to take a shuttle to the valet lot to get my own car. I then had to go back to the hotel to pick up my wife and our friends. Fortunately, I am farmiliar to N.O. and was able to find my way back. Of course, the hotel dd not tell me tat this would happen when we checked in. Of course, they did charge me the full parking rate for the 2 nights that we stayed at the hotel. I have traveed all over the world and something like this has never happened to me before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
memphis, tn
Nov 4, 2010

so much to see and do in one location

the first thing i looked for in the hotel room was a refrigerator, there wasn't one, also somebody had written some sort of dirty note on the room do not disturb sign and it was not changed out when we arrived for our stay. The room itself and everything else was o.k.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed all the nearby shops, you can browse one after another, I also enjoyed the set up shopping area in the lobby of the hotel that the ladies had there, that was great I purchased a couple of things right there.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Jun 20, 2011

Something to be desired.....

At first, I was very impressed with the hotel, except, of course, for the parking. Getting into the hotel at checkin for valet was a 45 minute wait. Check-in was easy and the room is nice. The location is great!! Right on the Corner of Bourbon and Canal gave it lots of ease to explore both bourbon or canal or even jump the st. charles streetcar. Now for the bad stuff. The t.v. had a HORRIBLE picture. Big, Nice, flatscreen tv with fuzz all over it!! Go figure. The air conditioner couldn't keep up. We had it set on 65 and the drapes closed and it NEVER got below 68 in the room and that was at 4 am. We ended up buying a box fan for the room to help out. I would probably go back to this hotel but I would choose a better time of year. NOT June, but probably April or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great little restaurant 1 block up on Iberville street called Storyville. I would recommend either the Shrimp Poboy or the Roastbeef and Gravy PoBoy. Both were great!!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search