$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
472 reviews
Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great... See full review

  • GRTT
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi (fees may apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

  • The pool and fitness centre will be closed from 6-10 August 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (472)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
472 out of 472
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 2, 2007

Poor service

The Astor Crowne Plaza has a great location and is a pretty hotel. Unfortunately, the very poor service outweighs the good things about this hotel. Check in time is 4pm which is fairly late. It took 1 hour of waiting in the valet line to park the car! Then the lines to check in were very long. They only had a few people working. By the time we finally got to check in, our room request was unavailable and the staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful. Checkout time is noon. But the maids tried to come clean our room at 9am. And again the line to check out was ridiculously long. Checkout took at least 45 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristin BR
Louisiana
Jun 10, 2014

Will NEVER go back!!!

It was horrible! We checked in on Friday, and were given our room. When we got there, the inside latch was done (how, I don't know), so we couldn't get in. When we told them, they acted like we were lying. They sent someone and realized they'd have to give us another room. The next room was 79 degrees! They told us it was because it had not been on, and needed about 15 min to cool down. We left for lunch, and returned 7 hours later....still 79 degrees! So we told them, and they sent someone. He worked on it for almost 2 hours, and said he'd be back. By the time he came back and told us we would have to switch rooms again, it was midnight. The 3rd room they gave us had cockroaches! When we told them, they didn't apologize....they just laughed and said how resilient roaches were! The fourth room was smaller and not what we paid for, but by then it was 1 AM and we had children with us. The manager have us some free breakfasts, 2 movies, and $75 in room service. However, we couldn't order the movies bc the remote wouldn't work. We had to ask 3 times, and wait over 2 hours before they brought us a remote that would work. Then we when for the bill, they tried charging us 2 extra spots for parking and wanted to argue with me! The manager at that time was Irelon. Not at ALL friendly or apologetic!!! They refused to accommodate us in any other way! We were all so disappointed! I plan on telling everyone to NOT stay at the Crowne Plaza! I have no idea how it is ranked a 4 star hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 19, 2011

They charged me twice!

Great location if you want to party on Bourbon street[...] the hotel charged me again when I checked in - and only offered an apology. I have to wait a week to get my $ refunded.The elevator in the hotel didnt even work, and the ice machine is a hell of a walk away from the rooms.I would never stay again..Oh and the pool closes early - 9pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travels when I can
Los Angeles
Jul 1, 2014

1st visit for a wedding

Pool was broken the first two days we were there and water wasn't working the third day! No water. That was the day of the wedding we were going to which was inconvenient but I don't know it was their fault and they told me they were working on it and it did get fixed. There was no compensation or apology or acknowledgement. Walked into several hotels in the area and they all seemed nicer. However, the location is great for French quarter fun. The stay was what I considered 2 or 3 stars because of the lack of regard or surprise over the issues that occurred. I would have preferred feeling like I was being taken care of instead of feeling like I was out if luck if the hotel didn't have water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Felix's

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
memphis, tn
Nov 4, 2010

so much to see and do in one location

the first thing i looked for in the hotel room was a refrigerator, there wasn't one, also somebody had written some sort of dirty note on the room do not disturb sign and it was not changed out when we arrived for our stay. The room itself and everything else was o.k.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed all the nearby shops, you can browse one after another, I also enjoyed the set up shopping area in the lobby of the hotel that the ladies had there, that was great I purchased a couple of things right there.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Henrietta, TX
Aug 1, 2008

Good not great

The Crown Plaza Astor, was comfortable but has some issues. for a four star hotel, you would expect the towels to be softer, and the in-room movie system to work. Also the air conditioning is on a motion sensor so if your not moving it automatically turns itself off. But the location is great if you wanna be close to Bourbon street and the French Quarter in a luxury atmoshere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's all right there.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
memphis, tn
Nov 4, 2010

so much to see and do in one location

the first thing i looked for in the hotel room was a refrigerator, there wasn't one, also somebody had written some sort of dirty note on the room do not disturb sign and it was not changed out when we arrived for our stay. The room itself and everything else was o.k.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed all the nearby shops, you can browse one after another, I also enjoyed the set up shopping area in the lobby of the hotel that the ladies had there, that was great I purchased a couple of things right there.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Mar 10, 2011

Cheesy rooms and sketchey service.

Booked the hotel because [...] it was the closest to New Orleans center, that is probably true, but this was a mistake, their website say they just finished a 11.000.000 renovation, but they did not spend a penny of that in my room.Making things worse, I would come back in the afternoon and the room would not yet be serviced, housekeeping will not come back later.WiFi is $10 per day.Room service have good food - BUT NOT DRINKS..! they will serve a glass of vine but no mixed drink.There is a downstairs bar, which close at 10pm.Everything said and done, we left early and checked into another hotel for less money and far better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Jun 20, 2011

Something to be desired.....

At first, I was very impressed with the hotel, except, of course, for the parking. Getting into the hotel at checkin for valet was a 45 minute wait. Check-in was easy and the room is nice. The location is great!! Right on the Corner of Bourbon and Canal gave it lots of ease to explore both bourbon or canal or even jump the st. charles streetcar. Now for the bad stuff. The t.v. had a HORRIBLE picture. Big, Nice, flatscreen tv with fuzz all over it!! Go figure. The air conditioner couldn't keep up. We had it set on 65 and the drapes closed and it NEVER got below 68 in the room and that was at 4 am. We ended up buying a box fan for the room to help out. I would probably go back to this hotel but I would choose a better time of year. NOT June, but probably April or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great little restaurant 1 block up on Iberville street called Storyville. I would recommend either the Shrimp Poboy or the Roastbeef and Gravy PoBoy. Both were great!!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BigNock
Thibodaux, LA
Apr 22, 2009

Could not relax

Stayed their with my wife and another couple. We enjoyed N.O. very much, but was not able to get much rest. Very nosiy. Very bad mattress. We were changed to another room @ 2am, after not being able to sleep, which was much cleaner, quieter, and the bed was much more comfortable. The next night we were woken up to the fire alarm about 2:45 am. Another disturbed night's sleep. When we checked out of the hotel and went to claim our car that we had valet parked, I was told that I had to take a shuttle to the valet lot to get my own car. I then had to go back to the hotel to pick up my wife and our friends. Fortunately, I am farmiliar to N.O. and was able to find my way back. Of course, the hotel dd not tell me tat this would happen when we checked in. Of course, they did charge me the full parking rate for the 2 nights that we stayed at the hotel. I have traveed all over the world and something like this has never happened to me before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top