$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
318 reviews
Great Hotel

Hotel is great! Great location, room was comfortable, all the extras were great. The staff could... See full review

  • Irwin R. Fletcher
  • Oct 10, 2014
4 night vacation

Excellent location at corner of Canal & Bourbon Streets! Could walk in the French Quarter & take... See full review

  • AddySG
  • Sep 27, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, Internet access (fees apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is $38 USD plus tax. Self-parking - on own and fees vary.
  • Internet access fee is $16.95 USD per 24-hour period.
  • This hotel does not allow coolers in rooms.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mscontractor
North Carolina
Nov 26, 2012

First Visit to New Orleans

Crowne Plaze New Orleans is located at an excellent location on Canal St between Burbon St (party street) and Royal St (antique shopping). Most tourist attractions are within walking distance, and you'd appreciate it when you are looking for a bathroom. I spent 4 nights at this hotel, I arrived late on Wed night, a little bit upset because the room was too cold and I had to wait till maintenance to show up to adjust thermostat since the sensor was located behind wall panel to be opened with a screw-driver. It took over two days for the room to warm up. Otherwise hotel service and amenities were wonderful. The manager left a holiday greeting voicemail, maid service was efficient and thorough (I left the room late following day, came back after lunch in two hours and the room was made up already). Large closet space, modern and comfortable beds and sheets, I slept soundly. I wish they have a refrigerator though so I could store some emergency orange juice to quench the early morning thirst from drinking too much. Hotel has six elevators so you don't wait long for a car. New Orleans was a super crazy town, everybody partied loud on the street but the only noise I got was from my neighbors dancing and singing in the hallway, GO Saints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Phebee
Business
Franklin, NH, USA
Apr 10, 2012

anniversary getaway

The hotel lobby was the only nice thing about this hotel! The staff was not friendly. My room did not get cleaned for 2 days! There was nothing complementary, not even coffee! Would visit the city again, but would never stay at the Crown Plaza!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Served breakfast every day until 1pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DGAGE
Business
FLORIDA
Jul 12, 2012

Could Be Better

I wouldn't stay here again. Bourbon St is right on the corner, but the price and very very limited amenities was not exceptional. They do not change the sheets or bedding comforters regularly unless you happen to be there when housekeeping arrives and tell them too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Punchandpie
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 21, 2013

Buzz Kill

We decided to do a quick road trip to pour in the happiness. Our dream died the moment we stepped into the room. Apparently the previous guest had a great time because vomit was all over the restroom. We got an upgrade to a Jr. Suite. That was great until six in the morning when they started to rip the roof above us for a remolding job. We rolled to another room bags in hand and under our eyes. The third room was quiet, clean, but rundown. This was far from a four star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do all of your shopping early. Most shops start to lock up around five.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 19, 2011

They charged me twice!

Great location if you want to party on Bourbon street[...] the hotel charged me again when I checked in - and only offered an apology. I have to wait a week to get my $ refunded.The elevator in the hotel didnt even work, and the ice machine is a hell of a walk away from the rooms.I would never stay again..Oh and the pool closes early - 9pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 2, 2007

Poor service

The Astor Crowne Plaza has a great location and is a pretty hotel. Unfortunately, the very poor service outweighs the good things about this hotel. Check in time is 4pm which is fairly late. It took 1 hour of waiting in the valet line to park the car! Then the lines to check in were very long. They only had a few people working. By the time we finally got to check in, our room request was unavailable and the staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful. Checkout time is noon. But the maids tried to come clean our room at 9am. And again the line to check out was ridiculously long. Checkout took at least 45 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shyan Paul
Business
New orleans, LA
Jan 1, 2011

surrealistic NIGHTMARE for $520/newyear

we went for a new year stay in Crowne Plaza hotel from dec 31 till jan, 02, 2011. The problem is.. no, the problemS ARE these: 1) Valet parking. It was total disrespect and nightmare. We woke up at 5:00am in Houston, TX to drive earlier to N.Orleans. And when we did, we spend more than TWO HOURS (!!!) in line to valet guys :) Wow! That's pretty much of a record. The first time we came to valets, they told us that there's a line we need to take, making a round around a block. So we did. But the problem IS simple: valet guys were accepting a number of cars that were intruding the line! :)) So me, my daughter of 2,5 years and wife after more than 7 hours by car had to wait some 30-40 minutes more in the line because valets just let some drivers in fancy cars in for parking without any waiting in the line! That's just awesome! THAT's what Crowne calls service. 2) Luggage delivery "from the hotel entrance to the room". THEY have the luggage trolleys and luggage boys but they DONT DO their job! we came inside the hotel with: - 2 HUGE travel luggage cases. (trust me, heavy ones - with things for 2months long trip around usa) - 1 BIG bag that my wife placed on top of a stroller (no, there's no place for bags, it's just a try to get all the things to the room) - laptop bag/photo case - and yes a stroller And NOBODY. N O B O D Y of the staff gave a try to ask: WOULD I like any help :) I tried to ask some guy with luggage trolley to help but he just rushed towards entrance to meet some other guests :) 3) Room service. In 3:50 am (!!!!!!) i had to wake up because of... ALARM CLOCK RINGING. room service does not check alarm clocks! So thank them all so much for not letting me sleep for my money. 4) Wake up call the offer is: if u order wake up call and it's not there - u get living for FREE! And what if i DID NOT order a wake up call and got it?! I DID GET WAKE UP CALL THE SAME VERY NIGHT WHEN THE ALARM CLOCK WOKE ME UP! i JUST WANT TO SLEEP WHEN I WANT TO SLEEP! Is it that hard to let me and my family SLEEEEEEEP?! 5) Concierge who is hospitable and welcoming to the hotel guests Congrats. They have none! I dont really know the guy's name, but when i told everything i wrote above to the front desk manager, he listened all this and his replies were: (read this attentively, that's the top of the mastership of working with hotel guests): a) "It's new year's eve sir, so it's quite a mess, that's why nobody helped you with luggage, valet has a line and letting non-lined-cars in, and alarm clock + wake up calls ring". When i asked the guy "Dont you charge more for new year's night, right because it's a mess and there're so many guests" - he said "YES". I asked him WHY THE HELL should i care about the hotel's problems if i paid all the price and just want a good service for the money? - but silence was a reply to me. b) "Concerning the valet parking problem you should go to valet parking manager and describe it all to him" YES, that's right. It's me (the guest who pays money) who is to be walking around all managers and describing the hell happening in their hotel, not the front desk manager who had already heard ALL the description of the problems. Then the front desk manager asked ME (!!!) : "Okay sir now that you told me all this - WHAT SHOULD I DO WITH THIS?" - and i understood that i really am wrong with the choice of the hotel. When the STAFF asks GUESTS what to do when the hotel is one big bunch of a mess and a guest informs the staff about specific troubles - it's the end of the world. It's NOT a quality hotel. 6) ROOM CLEANING. they have NONE! ^)) I waited till 8 pm. But till 8 pm (!!!) NOBODY came in to clean out trash bins, check the towels, blankets-pillows etc stuff. Are you sure this is a hotel, not just a "rent-an-apartment" offer? so the total is: It is TRULY UNGODLY AWFUL :) We're checking out tomorrow and help us god to never ever get in one of their hotels again :))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

quite close to the river and Jackson square. Big shopping center and French quarter are in a 2-minutes walk distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Key largo fl
Dec 12, 2010

cancellation

I think that it is ridiculous that you cannot cancel because of a family emergency and never plan to use you organization ever again. I have for many trip and were planning to use it for our trip to Hawaii next year but someone else will get to benefit from us not you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristin BR
Business
Louisiana
Jun 10, 2014

Will NEVER go back!!!

It was horrible! We checked in on Friday, and were given our room. When we got there, the inside latch was done (how, I don't know), so we couldn't get in. When we told them, they acted like we were lying. They sent someone and realized they'd have to give us another room. The next room was 79 degrees! They told us it was because it had not been on, and needed about 15 min to cool down. We left for lunch, and returned 7 hours later....still 79 degrees! So we told them, and they sent someone. He worked on it for almost 2 hours, and said he'd be back. By the time he came back and told us we would have to switch rooms again, it was midnight. The 3rd room they gave us had cockroaches! When we told them, they didn't apologize....they just laughed and said how resilient roaches were! The fourth room was smaller and not what we paid for, but by then it was 1 AM and we had children with us. The manager have us some free breakfasts, 2 movies, and $75 in room service. However, we couldn't order the movies bc the remote wouldn't work. We had to ask 3 times, and wait over 2 hours before they brought us a remote that would work. Then we when for the bill, they tried charging us 2 extra spots for parking and wanted to argue with me! The manager at that time was Irelon. Not at ALL friendly or apologetic!!! They refused to accommodate us in any other way! We were all so disappointed! I plan on telling everyone to NOT stay at the Crowne Plaza! I have no idea how it is ranked a 4 star hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D Renee
Business
Gulf Breeze, Fl
Jun 10, 2014

Was very disappointed with this Crowne!!!!

The valet staff was the most polite at the hotel. The air conditioners in the room were not working well. We had to move rooms. The front desk staff was rude!! The management was not helpful. I chose the Astor Crowne Plaza for a mother daughter weekend and could not believe the poor service and condition of the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone accustomed to staying at a nice hotel with great service. The only plus was the location but in New Orleans there are plenty of nice hotels with great locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palace Cafe is a few steps away from the front door of the hotel. The food and service there was fantastic. Make plans to have jazz brunch on Sunday!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travels when I can
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 1, 2014

1st visit for a wedding

Pool was broken the first two days we were there and water wasn't working the third day! No water. That was the day of the wedding we were going to which was inconvenient but I don't know it was their fault and they told me they were working on it and it did get fixed. There was no compensation or apology or acknowledgement. Walked into several hotels in the area and they all seemed nicer. However, the location is great for French quarter fun. The stay was what I considered 2 or 3 stars because of the lack of regard or surprise over the issues that occurred. I would have preferred feeling like I was being taken care of instead of feeling like I was out if luck if the hotel didn't have water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Felix's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top