$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
468 reviews
Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great... See full review

  • GRTT
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi (fees may apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (468)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
468 out of 468
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charmed Mom
Baton Rouge, La
Oct 25, 2010

Rockstar Birthday Weekend!

The check-in was speedy and very polite staff. The room was immaculate, they even left a bottle of linen spray on the edge of the bed with earplugs and an eye mask! Housekeeping was excellent, kept 7 women stocked with fresh towels and such lol... I highly recommend CP-NO to anyone traveling to The Big Easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Since we were there for my birthday we asked about popular clubs on Bourbon St, and were turned on to Bourbon Cowboy, they have 4 bars on Bourbon, we went to the one in the middle of Bourbon St. When I say that we had a blast dancing and being given the rockstar treatment, we closed down the bar! Awesome dance music, MC was fabulous, beers during the day are 3-for-1!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CNO
Worcester, MA
Feb 21, 2010

Fantastic.Will use when return to NOLA.

We went to celebrate Margi Gras. Location was perfect. Hotel was clean, service was great. The riff raff was kept out of the hotel. Will definitely use this hotel when returning to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aggs
Lafayette,LA
Feb 8, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Gracious hosting staff. Oyster Bar was fantastic! Location was perfect for walking on Bourbon Street & French Quarters or to Canal Place or to the Riverwalk. We had guests with us from Norway who really loved their New Orleans experience thanks to the staff and accommodations of the Crowne Plaza Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks away down Bourbon is the The N O Jazz Legends Park where we heard great jazz & Swing music. 1 block further on the corner at The Famous Door, we heard great rock! All within minutes of the hotel!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BigMomma
Vidalia, La
Jun 21, 2010

Excellent stay & weekend

I loved everything about his BEAUTIFUL hotel!! The staff were so friendly, it was Father Day weekend and everyone of the hotel staff you passed would say "Happy Fathers Day". It had been about 8 years since we last stayed in NO. My husband & I just wanted to get away for the weekend. Thank you for making our trip a memorable one. We had so much fun and the location was was great! We walked everywhere.We WILL be back very soon. Yall were EXCELLENT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Crowne Plaza Hotel ASTOR-NEW ORLEANS has one of the best restaurant around. The Bourbon House was fantastic.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mscontractor
North Carolina
Nov 26, 2012

First Visit to New Orleans

Crowne Plaze New Orleans is located at an excellent location on Canal St between Burbon St (party street) and Royal St (antique shopping). Most tourist attractions are within walking distance, and you'd appreciate it when you are looking for a bathroom. I spent 4 nights at this hotel, I arrived late on Wed night, a little bit upset because the room was too cold and I had to wait till maintenance to show up to adjust thermostat since the sensor was located behind wall panel to be opened with a screw-driver. It took over two days for the room to warm up. Otherwise hotel service and amenities were wonderful. The manager left a holiday greeting voicemail, maid service was efficient and thorough (I left the room late following day, came back after lunch in two hours and the room was made up already). Large closet space, modern and comfortable beds and sheets, I slept soundly. I wish they have a refrigerator though so I could store some emergency orange juice to quench the early morning thirst from drinking too much. Hotel has six elevators so you don't wait long for a car. New Orleans was a super crazy town, everybody partied loud on the street but the only noise I got was from my neighbors dancing and singing in the hallway, GO Saints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pert
Mobile, Alabama
Aug 23, 2011

Great location

This hotel will be my pick of choice from now on. It is located right where I want to be. If you visit Bourbon Street this is the place for you at a great price. Our stay was very comforting. Two thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YD
Mississippi
Apr 19, 2010

great place to stay

Great place to stay and have access to all of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MSSZ
North Carolina
Aug 23, 2010

Centrally located for the ultimate exper

Hotel manager and staff very helpful and polite. We were able to walk to River Walk, WWII Museum, Jackson Square, French Market and football game. Wonderful experience and props to concierge MS.T, the hotel manager and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BCF
Nashville, TN
Nov 15, 2010

Perfect

Great location, room was clean, noise from Bourbon Street was minimal. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Walton Beach Florida
Apr 14, 2010

Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor New Orleans

Only negative was coffee maker ... had the wrong coffee packets and we had no trash can. Other than that it was great. I would definitely stay there again and I come to New Orleans many times a year and have stayed at a lot of the hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

French Quarter Fest

Back to menu Return to top