$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
309 reviews
Only place to stay

Location doesn't get better - right at the entrance of Bourbon St, but it faces Canal so I never... See full review

  • Couple n' dog
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great Location & Upscale for Crowne!@!

This location is right next to Bourbon Street and Canal where everything is at. Trolley's are out... See full review

  • krestkove
  • Sep 9, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, Internet access (fees apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.
Policies and fees
Internet access fee is $16.95 USD per 24-hour period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (309)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
309 out of 309
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lilyannmay
West palm beach florida
Mar 18, 2013

Close to everything we wanted!

Very accommodating staff. We were able to check in early( 2 pm instead of 4 pm) and check out late ( 2 pm instead of 11 am) to fit our flight schedule . Their restaurant had some awesome food.everywhere we wanted to see and visit is just either a few blocks away or right down the alley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paint me a Birmingham
Mississippi
May 6, 2014

Just ok

Average room. The only thing worth noting was the bathroom. The tub had mold in the grout. And the tub seemed dirty, in general. Another silly, but annoying thing was the toilet paper roll was so far from the toilet, and they didn't get the new roll started, so I was struggling to reach it and get it started (and I have long arms!). Good location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annual Tripster
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Annual Trip

We take this trip each year at the same time. We stay at a different hotel each time. Really did not see the bang for the buck here especially compared to the Hotel MonteLeone. Staff, highlight of hotel, restaurant in lobby unable to charge meals to room. The overall experience to me, just average not 4or4.5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dislike
Lafayette, LA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

stay was ok!!!!!

The room was nice, but the bedroom floor was dirty and the blower did not work. Wasn't happy with the bartender, didn't seem to want to wait on us, so we left and went a bar near by the Red Fish Grill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Couple's gateway
Miami, FL
Sep 27, 2010

Excellent!

The hotel staff were friendly. Rooms were clean everytime we returned from our tours. The concierge was awesome!! Gave us the best suggestions of where to go, where to eat and what to do. We walked and learned the city like if we were natives of New Orleans. All I can say is ...WHO DAT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oceana on Conti and off Bourbon was very good. The Market Cafe on Decanti and near the French Market was really good. The best bread pudding ever!! Went back twice for the bread pudding. Research what you want to do before going to New Orleans. In four days we were able to do a swam tour, garden district tour, ghost tour, walk all of French Quarter, Garden District, Magazine Street, and Frenchman Street area where the locals go to listen to good jazz band.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George's bday
Biloxi, MS, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Bday in the big easy

Location, staff, room, service, efficient, all were great, even on Sat things were very smooth, the Plaza is the Crown of New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Valet it's perfect, safe and very quick

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Above Average

We were put in the wrong room the first night (queen bed instead of king). A quick discussion with the front desk the next morning saw us moved into the correct room and our wifi ($9.99/night) comped for the duration of our stay. The rooms were very clean and new. Every staff member we spoke to (front desk, valet, and phone operator) was very friendly. The location is a perfect balance between the French Quarter and downtown. There were unsavory characters around the outside of the hotel but its New Orleans. There are lots of unsavory characters everywhere, but isn't that what we all came to see? Regardless we always felt comfortable inside the hotel. We had trouble with noisy hotel neighbors one night. There was a rowdy group of 10-15 people that came back around 4am and mingled in the hall until we called the front desk at 5am. I think security did a good job of breaking them up. Overall an excellent stay. FYI: Valet parking (vehicles stored eight blocks away) is $32.00/night. Room wifi is average and $9.99/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama YoYo
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Just the two of us trip

The hotel was very nice. It was on the corner of Canal and Bourbon, which was close to everything. We were able to view the downtown area right from our room. My only complaint was the cost of parking. We had to pay $31 a day and the room was costly. However the stay was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gumbo Pot was a 20min walk from the hotel. The food was delicious and affordable. Also, the cost of the trolley was resonable. It only cost $1.25 and .25 for a transfer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaJy
San Francisco, CA
Jul 12, 2009

Great location, but you'll pay more...

You can't get much better than this in terms of location, but be prepared to pay for ALL the extras. It cost $32 bucks to park your car at an uncovered lot 8 blocks away which you will be shuttled to at the end of your stay. The bell service is understaffed and not very helpful as well, so you'll most likely be toting all of your luggage yourself onto the shuttle. Also the WiFi costs $6 if you plan on using it. Now that you know that drawbacks to expect up front, let it be known that the rooms and lobby are beautiful and the location is supreme with a side entrance opening right up to Bourbon St, the heArt of the night life in new Orleans. We enjoyed our stay in this hotel immensely despite all of the additional costs and hassles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to get an always freshly made beignet at cafe du Monde! It's well worth the wait and the line will go much faster than you'll think!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gregd4
Oklahoma, USA
Jan 9, 2012

not exactly what I was expecting

I booked a smocking king room and I got a non-smoking double. Other than that it was a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BAR166
Atlanta, GA
Jun 12, 2011

Quality Hotel with a Great Location

Great service and quiet setting in the hotel. Access to Bourbon Street right outside and lots of great places to eat, drink, party and gamble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Talk with the concierge. He provided excellent alternatives to restaurants (Lunch & dinner, casual and formal), sightseeing, and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search