$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
278 reviews
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Great Location

Very nice stay . Room was clean ,the staff was nice and polite . I will always stay here when am... See full review

  • Yellow camero
  • Aug 19, 2013
Fine dining, lavish rooms and Southern hospitality at this Big Easy gem

Standing tall and majestic, the Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter is a luxurious hotel that is conveniently located close to many of the treasures located throughout this historic city. For business travelers, the hotel boasts 32,000 square feet of space for events as well as a business center and free Wi-Fi in the lobby. Also located on the premises is Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant and Seafood Bar, where travelers are able to enjoy some fantastic local seafood. For swimmers, a beautiful saltwater pool is a great place to exercise or relax.

Reasons to stay
  • Close proximity to entertainment, shops, dining and recreation
  • Elegant, sophisticated decor, yet comfortable and welcoming
  • Saltwater pool on rooftop
  • Valet parking (fees apply)
Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter rooms

When staying at the Crown Plaza New Orleans French Quarter, guests receive complimentary items such as lavender linen spray and eye masks, designed to help them relax and get a good night's rest. There are 693 guest rooms and 33 suites. Standard room amenities include things such as flat screen TVs, in-room safes and free daily delivery of USA Today. Suites include a bedroom and generally also have pull out sofas and dining tables.

Things to do nearby
  • Bourbon Street (0.0 mi/0.0 km)
  • Shops at Canal Place (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Saenger Theater (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Jackson Square and Preservation Hall (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Aquarium of the Americas (0.8 mi/1.4 km)


    Policies and Fees
    • Valet parking fee is $34 USD plus tax per 24-hour period.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Amenities

    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Executive level
    Ice machine
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Children's activities
    Golf
    Tennis
    Dining
    Coffee maker in room
    Lounge
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Maid service
    Concierge desk
    ATM/Cash machine
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Porters
    FAX
    Overhead projector
    Parking
    Parking
    Valet parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities
    Room
    Satellite TV
    DVD player
    Safe
    Desk with lamp
    Free newspaper
    Hairdryer in room
    Cribs available
    In room movies
    Temperature control
    Computer in Room
    Ironing board
    Bath tub

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    29.9535 -90.0694
    Nearby airports
    New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
    Area description
    Downtown, downtown

    Nearby points of interest

    • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
    • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
    • Storyville: 0.5 mi
    • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
    • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
    • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
    • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
    • Storyville: 0.5 mi
    • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
    • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
    • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
    • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
    • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
    • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
    • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
    • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
    • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
    • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
    • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
    • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
    • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
    • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
    • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
    • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
    • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
    • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
    • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    04:00 PM
    Check-out:
    11:00 AM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (278)

    Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Overall score

    4 / 5
    278 out of 278
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4.3
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.7
    Value:
    4

    91% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    5
    Lilyannmay
    West palm beach florida
    Mar 18, 2013

    Close to everything we wanted!

    Very accommodating staff. We were able to check in early( 2 pm instead of 4 pm) and check out late ( 2 pm instead of 11 am) to fit our flight schedule . Their restaurant had some awesome food.everywhere we wanted to see and visit is just either a few blocks away or right down the alley.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    OFallon, IL
    Jun 15, 2009

    Bourbon Street week-end

    Great service from everyone from the front desk staff to housekeeping.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    Hotel is on the corner of Canal and Bourbon, close to everything in the French Quarter

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    Gulfport, MS
    Apr 28, 2007

    Great Location

    Wonderful hotel, great staff and perfect location. Only complaint is the parking, it is very expensive and it is a very long wait for the valet to bring your car back. I would advise anyone staying at this hotel to find other parking arrangements.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    Everything you need and want is located within walking distance. Arrange parking.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    nursk1211
    baton rouge, la
    Feb 27, 2014

    ..

    we enjoyed our stay at the astor crown plaza even though we we not in a room much

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Mama YoYo
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Sep 28, 2011

    Just the two of us trip

    The hotel was very nice. It was on the corner of Canal and Bourbon, which was close to everything. We were able to view the downtown area right from our room. My only complaint was the cost of parking. We had to pay $31 a day and the room was costly. However the stay was nice.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    The Gumbo Pot was a 20min walk from the hotel. The food was delicious and affordable. Also, the cost of the trolley was resonable. It only cost $1.25 and .25 for a transfer.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    Waterbury CT
    Nov 29, 2009

    Avoid during Bayou Classic

    The overall experience was great, the staff was very friends and always asked if we needed anything, the only negative is not towards the hotel but I would have to say to avoid staying in the French Quarter during the Bayou Classic, the hallways were very noisy with drunk people and so was the lobby. At times it was even hard to get in and out of the hotel because of everybody blocking the entrance but like I said this is not directed at the hotel, just the location during certain events.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Markijoe
    Fort Wayne, IN, USA
    Apr 9, 2012

    As Close to Bourbon Street Without Being On It !!!!

    We were very pleased with our hotel selection. Convenient to everything we went to do. The Riverwalk, Bourbon Street, nice restaurants, street car transportation (makes the Garden District and Zoo easily accessible), great seafood ( I ate oysters on half shell everyday !!). We would stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    Gotta do Bourbon Street at night ! Great live music, drinks, food and an overall carnival of all types. Don't do this with children !

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Sanba
    Chicago
    Feb 5, 2011

    Great Hotel, Great Value!

    This hotel is the best value I have encountered and an absolutely perfect French Quarter location. It is at the outer edge of Bourbon Street, so you are steps from the action but get none of the noise. We requested a high floor (14 floors total), which probably helped. The lobby is lovely and the whole hotel is extremely clean. There is a business center offering 3 computers with internet for guests. Rooms are large and very clean. Great workout room and indoor pool. I was expecting a budget hotel but this far surpassed our expectations. Staff was also really wonderful, accommodating and helpful. My only criticism is that we waited 35 minutes to get our car out of hotel parking on Sunday morning. The hotel's parking is by valet only.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Take the trolley rather than cabs if you plan to visit other areas. It stops right in front of the hotel, comes very frequently (never waited more than 10 minutes), and is only $1.25. Plus you experience a lot more of the city and residents. Also, if you are looking for a wonderful down-homey local breakfast, away from the French Quarter tourist traps, take the trolley about 1 mile straight up Canal Street to Betsy's Pancake House (you could even walk it if you're in the mood). We stopped there while picking up our rental car and had a fantastic breakfast. Highly recommend it if you are looking for some local flavor.

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Susie Q.
    Orlando, Florida
    Jan 22, 2013

    Perfect! (Almost...)

    Two complaints: Parking is a huge problem. There is nowhere to park and valet parking at the hotel is very expensive as it is in any big city. There is no refirigerator in the room. Otherwise, this was a PERFECT location in a perfectly lovely hotel. Comfy bed with nice linens, lovely staff, wonderful views of the city, and street access to Canal and Bourbon Streets. On the same block as Felix's and Acme Oyster bars, this spot is within a short walk of any number of high-end or yummy dive restaurants. The hotel restuarant is Bourbon House....a beautiful place offering all of the dishes for which New Orleans is known along with wonderful cocktails. Speaking of cocktails, the downstairs bar is a terrific place to just get comfy and knock back a few. Big squishy chairs and amazing service brought us there each night of our stay. We aso spent some time on the 3rd floor balcony pool which was very private with great views of the Bourbon Street fun. I have been to New Orleans many, many times and this was my very favorite place to stay!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Aug 20, 2007

    GREAT

    WONDERFUL HOTEL STAY ON THING WAS THE 9.99 FEE FOR THE INTERNET IN THE ROOM OTHER THEN THAT IS WAS GREAT

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    RIGHT ON BURBON STREET

    Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

    Reviewer score

    4
    Sunny Bee
    St Paul, MN, USA
    Jan 2, 2012

    Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel review

    We had a great time in New Orleans over New Years Eve. It was crazy and fun and the hotel was in a perfect location. They did a nice job of managing the holiday visitors and security was good. The concierge was expecially helpful. Good linens and they gave us feather pillows upon request!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Patrick O'Briens was a great choice for drinks, food and fun!

    Back to menu Return to top