$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
325 reviews
Great Hotel

Hotel is great! Great location, room was comfortable, all the extras were great. The staff could... See full review

  • Irwin R. Fletcher
  • Oct 10, 2014
4 night vacation

Excellent location at corner of Canal & Bourbon Streets! Could walk in the French Quarter & take... See full review

  • AddySG
  • Sep 27, 2014
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. Come experience "Southern Hospitality" at "The Place to Meet" in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in "The Big Easy" and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 3-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say "Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll" at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louis1958
Utica, NY
Nov 12, 2012

Great Location and Great Staff

We chose this hotel because of location and price. It was worth the money being in the middle of the French quarter. The staff was also extremely helpful and flexible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JaWM
Business
Louisiana
Dec 13, 2013

Daughters College Graduation

The hotel was centrally located on Canal street which was the prime reason for choosing the Crowne Plaza. The curb parking was taken so we drove around the block several times waiting for the valet to open up a spot for us to park for the valet service. The front desk was efficient and expedited our check-in. The room was as we requested-king non-smoking. The room itself had dated furnishings but the bed was very comfortable. The concerns: mold in the bathroom, fixture in tub was difficult to regulate, shower head was dirty with mold and calcified water and the plumbing fixtures rattled all night. Should of known when the ear plugs were part of the comfort items provided. check-out was swift. Will we stay here again-probable not. The same room rates are offered at other hotels on Canal street with garage parking and updated rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSSS SSSS
Business
IOWA
Dec 5, 2013

FIRST TIME IN NWE ORLEANS

THE ORGINAL ROOMS ARE VERY OLD AND SMALL. STAY IN NEWER ROOMS AND ENJOY YOUR STAY. THIS WAY 1ST TIME IN NEW ORLEANS AND WE WERE IN THE CENTER OF ALL THAT WAS GOING ON. WE HAVE ENOUGH KNOWLEDGE NOW TO EVEN MORE ENJOY OUR NEXT STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave voodo fest
Business
Livonia, MI
Nov 5, 2013

Great location needs ipad docking stations

Great location great staff concierge was very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arin Winter
Business
Greenville, NC
Sep 3, 2013

Nice Hotel but parking is expensive

Overall hotel experience was great. Only complaint is that the only way to park is to have valet do it for you, and it's $31/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe du Monde is only about half a mile away. Go for the Beignets and Cafe au Lait!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yellow camero
Business
New orleans
Aug 19, 2013

Great Location

Very nice stay . Room was clean ,the staff was nice and polite . I will always stay here when am visiting New Orleans .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceania grill just a few blocks from the hotel .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twilsonb
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jul 29, 2013

Great Location

This hotel is in a great location, right on Bourbon Street but facing Canal Street, so you are near the action without most of the noise. The hotel looks nice from the outside and has a nice lobby area. The rooms were well suited and priced pretty good for the location. We walked everywhere we wanted in the French Quarter from the hotel. Room service was relatively fast and pretty good and is 24 hours, a bonus. The pool is on the 3rd (actually 5th if you count) floor and is outside and was nice, a bit small but nevertheless a way to cool off in the afternoon sun. We found the staff pleasant and helpful in all situations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the corner of Canal and Royal to catch a cab, much faster than in front of the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buddtx
Business
Texas
Jul 3, 2013

Not bad but

Location was great, staff was great , room average. All in all a three star hotel due to the fact of the hidden parking fee. 27.50 a night and each time I needed my car it was a 30 to 45 minute wait to get it, so I just used a cab service. Checking out of the hotel it was an hour and a half wait to get my car or I could be part of the herd who got on a bus and was shuttled to my car. 30 min wait for that. They don't have parking so your vehicle is in one of several garages in the area. It was a sixty dollar add charge to my room for parking for a two night stay and I couldn't even get to my vehicle. I feel that the site i book the hotel from should have presented that up front. In closing great location but check on parking when staying in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYer in Montreal
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jun 4, 2013

Great Location, Great Style

This hotel has amazing style and is located right in the French Quarter with access to Canal St. Rooms were huge, the decor was classic and the rooms were affordable...a must stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right next to Bourbon Street!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doctor Dave
Business
New Orleans,LA
May 20, 2013

Graduation Weekend

Centrally located for Tulane Graduation. Canal St has a high traffic volume but the valet service goes above and beyond to respond to your call. Staff is very courteous and helpful. We were on the second floor and the road noise was loud. An upper floor would reduce the noise.Beds were very comfortable. Food and beverages were excellent and consistent with New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
darmarisa
Business
New Jersey
May 13, 2013

Disappointimg

Attended a wedding in New Orleans. Beds were not comfortable, bedding were stiff, felt like we were in a tunnel, the coffee pot was in the bathroom which was strange and halls were like mazes. Staff was very very nice. Couldn't sleep because of all the noise even though they supplied us with ear plugs.Would not return if I had the opportunity to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top