$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
View map of 739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
swedegian
Business
St. Louis
Jul 22, 2014

Fun w/e

There were 5 couples in our group staying here. 3 of the 5 were given a room with 2 queen beds instead of the 1 king that had been reserved but staff happily & immediately remedied the situation once brought to their attention. The beds were extremely comfortable. We greatly appreciated the valet service and holding our bags both before check-in and after check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Another Conference
Business
LA, California
Jul 12, 2014

No serious complaints

Room was alright. Comfortable bed but near impossible to sleep next to the elevators and with the buildings old plumbing that sounded as if it was struggling all night long. Reception and lobby staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. I would stay here again if I could find a good deal on the nightly price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travels when I can
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 1, 2014

1st visit for a wedding

Pool was broken the first two days we were there and water wasn't working the third day! No water. That was the day of the wedding we were going to which was inconvenient but I don't know it was their fault and they told me they were working on it and it did get fixed. There was no compensation or apology or acknowledgement. Walked into several hotels in the area and they all seemed nicer. However, the location is great for French quarter fun. The stay was what I considered 2 or 3 stars because of the lack of regard or surprise over the issues that occurred. I would have preferred feeling like I was being taken care of instead of feeling like I was out if luck if the hotel didn't have water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Felix's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lag1
Business
Chicago
Jun 26, 2014

Good location, great staff

Air did not work, carpet was in need of change, staff was great, location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBinJax
Business
Jax
Jun 26, 2014

Excellent place to stay

The hotel is right on the corner of Canal and Bourbon, the party is right around the corner! The only thing I was not impressed with was the coffee, so what else can I say? The room was excellently furnished, clean and very well maintained. The staff were more than courteous and went out of their way to assure everything was properly taken care of and in good order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon St!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tinetine
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 25, 2014

Good location, Not the best amenities

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a business trip. My phone in the room didn't work and the walls were paper thin you could hear everything. The room was clean and the location was great, but I had wished there had been a bit more for the amount I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hot in NOLA
Business
New Orleans
Jun 23, 2014

Falls a bit short of expectations

We liked the location of this hotel which is on the corner of Canal and Bourbon street, on the west boarder of the French Quarter. When we arrived at the front desk there was only one other hotel guest in front of us who were already having a conversation with two of the hotel receptionists. We waited several minutes while they carried on in what appeared to be a conversation about where to go to see a show. At no time did either of the receptionists make eye contact with us or acknowledge our arrival to welcome us or assure us that they would be with us shortly! When a third receptionist arrived, I thought we would finally be checked in, but to my dismay, she too made no eye contact! I finally approached her and asked if we could get checked in and she looked up as if surprised to see I was there. We were also disappointed with the salt water swimming pool which looks much larger in the photo provided on the website. It was really small, so much so, that we didn't even bother. The biggest disappointment was however our room experience. We arrived late around eight after a long drive through horriblble traffic. We were hungry and tired and after checking in went directly out for dinner. It was oppressively hot in New Orleans in June, so when we finished eating we were looking forward to returning to our cool, air conditioned room. Unfortunately, when we opened the door to our room, we immediately realized that the room was warm. Thinking that all I needed to do was to turn down the thermostat, I attempted to do so, only to realize that the AC unit was not working. We called the operator and shortly later a maintenance man arrived and got the unit working after trouble shooting it. Great! All set, no big deal, right? Well, maybe not. The next morning we left the hotel to walk around the French Quarter, have lunch and see the sights. Again, it was unbearably hot with temps in the low 90's. After three hours we couldn't take the heat any longer and decided to return to our room to cool down and relax. What disappointment to enter our room and find it hot inside! Our AC unit was not working again! A maintenance man arrived again and spent well over an hour trouble shooting the unit, leaving and returning three times in the process. He finally determined that the unit needed to have the motor replaced and that we needed to be moved to another room. At no time did the front desk or anyone from management contact us to convey any concern for our troubles or to offer an apology for the inconvenience. A hotel employee showed up at our door with the keys to the new room, but appeared annoyed when we requested a Bell Hop to assist us with moving our luggage. Our new room was smaller than the original room and when we pulled back the curtain we found a brick wall for our "view"! At least the AC unit worked, lol!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid Burbon street ( unless you are seeking strip clubs)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GRTT
Business
Prairieville LA
Jun 11, 2014

Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street is Red Fish Grill. Delicious!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristin BR
Business
Louisiana
Jun 10, 2014

Will NEVER go back!!!

It was horrible! We checked in on Friday, and were given our room. When we got there, the inside latch was done (how, I don't know), so we couldn't get in. When we told them, they acted like we were lying. They sent someone and realized they'd have to give us another room. The next room was 79 degrees! They told us it was because it had not been on, and needed about 15 min to cool down. We left for lunch, and returned 7 hours later....still 79 degrees! So we told them, and they sent someone. He worked on it for almost 2 hours, and said he'd be back. By the time he came back and told us we would have to switch rooms again, it was midnight. The 3rd room they gave us had cockroaches! When we told them, they didn't apologize....they just laughed and said how resilient roaches were! The fourth room was smaller and not what we paid for, but by then it was 1 AM and we had children with us. The manager have us some free breakfasts, 2 movies, and $75 in room service. However, we couldn't order the movies bc the remote wouldn't work. We had to ask 3 times, and wait over 2 hours before they brought us a remote that would work. Then we when for the bill, they tried charging us 2 extra spots for parking and wanted to argue with me! The manager at that time was Irelon. Not at ALL friendly or apologetic!!! They refused to accommodate us in any other way! We were all so disappointed! I plan on telling everyone to NOT stay at the Crowne Plaza! I have no idea how it is ranked a 4 star hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D Renee
Business
Gulf Breeze, Fl
Jun 10, 2014

Was very disappointed with this Crowne!!!!

The valet staff was the most polite at the hotel. The air conditioners in the room were not working well. We had to move rooms. The front desk staff was rude!! The management was not helpful. I chose the Astor Crowne Plaza for a mother daughter weekend and could not believe the poor service and condition of the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone accustomed to staying at a nice hotel with great service. The only plus was the location but in New Orleans there are plenty of nice hotels with great locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palace Cafe is a few steps away from the front door of the hotel. The food and service there was fantastic. Make plans to have jazz brunch on Sunday!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top