$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
View map of 739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
365 out of 365
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mscontractor
North Carolina
Nov 26, 2012

First Visit to New Orleans

Crowne Plaze New Orleans is located at an excellent location on Canal St between Burbon St (party street) and Royal St (antique shopping). Most tourist attractions are within walking distance, and you'd appreciate it when you are looking for a bathroom. I spent 4 nights at this hotel, I arrived late on Wed night, a little bit upset because the room was too cold and I had to wait till maintenance to show up to adjust thermostat since the sensor was located behind wall panel to be opened with a screw-driver. It took over two days for the room to warm up. Otherwise hotel service and amenities were wonderful. The manager left a holiday greeting voicemail, maid service was efficient and thorough (I left the room late following day, came back after lunch in two hours and the room was made up already). Large closet space, modern and comfortable beds and sheets, I slept soundly. I wish they have a refrigerator though so I could store some emergency orange juice to quench the early morning thirst from drinking too much. Hotel has six elevators so you don't wait long for a car. New Orleans was a super crazy town, everybody partied loud on the street but the only noise I got was from my neighbors dancing and singing in the hallway, GO Saints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ajennings
Business
raleigh, nc
Oct 1, 2010

great Bourbon Street location

Upon checking in, I was told that the computers were down and it would be about 5 minutes, however, I was told this in the manner one that would use when speaking to a small child. I was put in a handicapped room, so everytime the shower was used the bathroom floor flooded with water b/c there was no slope to drain the water appropriatley. The hair dryer was dead, which was reported on day 1 of stay, still not fixed upon checking out after 3 days. Great location, however very nasty outside first thing in the morning as it is on Bourbon Street. Lots of street preformers/homeless/panhandlers are waiting just outside hotel to ask for money, or in our case, try and pickpocket you while saying "I know where you got those shoes" **beware anyone telling you this in NOLA. Needs security to keep guests from being hassled, expecially when it takes 20 minutes to get your car from valet (@32.00 a day which wasn't disclosed until checkout!)All in all, if you are going to NOLA to enjoy Bourbon St, its a great location, just a few stumbles down from about 100+ bars/clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Howl at the Moon, a dueling piano bar is a few blocks down Bourbon St. Oceana is a great place for local seafood any time of day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 3, 2010

Great location

We expected the hotel to be a 5 star or at least a solid 4, but it wasn't. The first room they put us in was filthy. The floors had crumbs and chunks of food on the floor and the couch had stains on it. Also, the window above the bed had nothing on it to keep the morning sun out. We waited nearly an hour for the technician to come so we could prove to them that there was no shade. Finally they came and saw for themselves and then they put us in a new room that was cleaner and did have a shade over the window. We really didn't get an apology or a feeling that the hotel was sorry they had rented such a trashy room. They almost seemed bothered by our situation. The $200 we spent was not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
None
Jul 28, 2010

Great Stay

I didn't realize that the hotel we reserved was on canal street, which was awesome! The valet staff were the best and always helpful. The hotel lobby was beautiful. However, the room was what I least expected. The rooms were less modern. There were stains on the white bedding. Our window was facing the back of other buildings (bummer). But overall, I couldn't complain because we were hardly in our room. You could walk from the hotel to just about anywhere in the French Quarter. The New Orleaneans were wonderful people. I definitely was glad to support there wonderful city, and hope to make it back there in the near future. Let the Good Times Roll!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama Ness
Business
New York, NY
Jun 6, 2010

Third Time Was Not the Charm

The Astor truly does sit at the gateway to the French Quarter, which is the reason I decided to stay a third time. The service, however, was not as I recall. Porters did not offer to help with bags and at 8 a.m. on the first morning of my stay, the maid entered my room unannounced and opened my closet door. Needless to say, I refused to have my room cleaned for the remainder of the trip. Overall, however, hotel is quite beautiful, and nicely maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland
May 19, 2010

Crowne Plaza Hotel ASTOR

be prepared for a party outside the hotel every night - relatively quiet, depending on where your room is, but would think about bringing earphones. hotel otherwise nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dont stay at the Crowne Plaza
Business
LA, CA
Apr 5, 2010

Avoid if possible

Door did not lock to room Overflow was filthy Shower did not work at all 'Valet' parking at over $30 per day involved getting on a bus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a tour of the sity

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Aug 6, 2011

Good Location, But lacking

The location of the hotel was great! The room was nice but small if you are in the older part. The bathroom was real small. Parking is $31 a day. The air condition was broke one night but they had it fixed the next morning prety quick. The Concierge [...]was very helpful and nice with tours and suggestions. The resturant attached to the hotel Buorbon Seafood house closed for breakfast before there posted time almost everyday. We ate dinner there once and they told us they dropped our food on the floor and it would be a little longer; but offered no complimentary desert discount or anything we waited an hour for the food. Overall nice place but don't expect to much just because its a Crowne Plaza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Willie Mae's Scotch House for Lunch or Early Dinner only open 9-5 and not the best neighborhoods but only a $8 cab ride and they will call you a cab when you leave. Truly one of the best meals in New Orleans and reasonably priced. I can't say enough about it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dislike
Business
Lafayette, LA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

stay was ok!!!!!

The room was nice, but the bedroom floor was dirty and the blower did not work. Wasn't happy with the bartender, didn't seem to want to wait on us, so we left and went a bar near by the Red Fish Grill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lag1
Business
Chicago
Jun 26, 2014

Good location, great staff

Air did not work, carpet was in need of change, staff was great, location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tinetine
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 25, 2014

Good location, Not the best amenities

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a business trip. My phone in the room didn't work and the walls were paper thin you could hear everything. The room was clean and the location was great, but I had wished there had been a bit more for the amount I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top