Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
325 reviews
Great Hotel

Hotel is great! Great location, room was comfortable, all the extras were great. The staff could... See full review

  • Irwin R. Fletcher
  • Oct 10, 2014
4 night vacation

Excellent location at corner of Canal & Bourbon Streets! Could walk in the French Quarter & take... See full review

  • AddySG
  • Sep 27, 2014
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. Come experience "Southern Hospitality" at "The Place to Meet" in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in "The Big Easy" and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 3-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say "Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll" at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dw615
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 2, 2014

Great location, needs a little more attention to detail

Location is great if you want to be right on Bourbon. The Hotel Desk staff was great! The overall cleanliness of our room was not

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sodusmom
Business
Benton Harbor, MI
May 12, 2014

Needs Improvement

The first full day required a call at 7pm to housekeeping to have our room cleaned. Thought maybe they just missed it. Next day they did get there earlier...5pm. Third day was a repeat of 5pm. Used glasses were left. Ice bucket was not emptied. All they did was change the towels and make the beds. Never got new sheets the entire time. No coffee available in the lobby. Breakfast was terribly expensive. Staff never asked about our stay when we checked out. No thank you for coming. Nothing. I will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paint me a Birmingham
Business
Mississippi
May 6, 2014

Just ok

Average room. The only thing worth noting was the bathroom. The tub had mold in the grout. And the tub seemed dirty, in general. Another silly, but annoying thing was the toilet paper roll was so far from the toilet, and they didn't get the new roll started, so I was struggling to reach it and get it started (and I have long arms!). Good location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grammy41
Business
Bossier City, LA
Apr 28, 2014

Super Stay!

My husband and I stayed at the Crown Plaza for 2 nights and wished we had time to stay longer. Our room was very nice and loved the speed of the elevators as we were on the 14th floor with a nice view of everything. The only thing I would have changed would be the mattress as it was hard and the bedding could have been updated with a lightweight down comforter with down pillows. But we didn't loose sleep. The location was perfect for getting around downtown & in the quarter. The Bourbon House Restaurant's service and food were great, which is connected to the hotel. We definitely will re-visit this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worktotravel
Business
Houston
Apr 28, 2014

Could I get a smile

Check in staff was extremely rude. Not a single smile. They were moving at snail speed and god forbid you asked for help. All we got was a bad attitude. If you don't like your job then you should get another one. We had a problem with our reservation. It was confirmed but they needed "the paperwork" because confirmation number and email is not enough. They made us wait 2 hrs at check in ( we arrived at 1130pm). We didn't get in a room until after 1 am. And apparently you are not allowed to talk to a manager because " they can't help you". Worst service ever which is too bad because the location was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S LADY
Business
NEW JERSEY
Apr 22, 2014

4 NIGHTS 5 DAYS

THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND COUTEOUS I ASKES TO BE IN A ROOM THAT WAS AWAY FROM THE ELEVATOR AND QUIET. MONIQUE MADE SURE WE GOT THAT ROOM. WE WOULD DEFINATELY STAY AT THE CROWN PLAZA WHEN WE GO BACK TO NEW ORLEANS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THE RED FISH ON BOURBON ST HAS THE BEST FRIED OYSTERS EVER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travels the us
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 16, 2014

Good stay

Overall a good stay and good location. Near Bourbon St and the Canal St streetcar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Nurse '08
Business
Michigan
Apr 14, 2014

Quick Stay

This is in a great location (right off of Bourbon street in French Quarter). It is an older building, but well kept. Clean and no issues. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
84v65
Business
Williston ND
Apr 14, 2014

Right next to everything

Very nice hotel very nice staff would recommend it to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the pharoa
Business
cairo. egypt
Apr 4, 2014

a good choice

perfect location, good restaurants, clean and safe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Landy's seafood restaurant Yammmmmy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top