$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
304 reviews
Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great... See full review

  • GRTT
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi (fees may apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (304)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louis1958
Utica, NY
Nov 12, 2012

Great Location and Great Staff

We chose this hotel because of location and price. It was worth the money being in the middle of the French quarter. The staff was also extremely helpful and flexible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grewgirl4
Midwest
Mar 13, 2014

Hotel Nice, But Could Upgrade Their Front Desk Service

First, the hotel is in a fantastic location, and the streetcar stops right in front of the hotel., making it very convenientt and inexpensive to get around. Room was clean, and the shower was very good. Had in-room coffee service, ironing capabilities, a blow-dryer, and a functional tv. There was a nice bar and separate restaurant downstairs, although the bar closed early at 11 p.m. Some drawbacks: There was no ice on the 13th floor the entire 4-1/2 days there despite calling to report the machine malfunction. Also, the front desk was so slow. It took forever to check-in, and it was obvious people were not happy. There should have been more employees working the front desk. Overall, it was a pleasant experience, and again, the location was really an advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working on the Bucket Lis
Michigan
Mar 13, 2014

Weekend getaway.

We tried to call the hotel numerous times before we arrived to request that our rooms (traveled with friends) be located close together. No one would ever call us back. When we arrived the front desk employees were rude and not helpful. When calling the front desk, they would transfer us to another number and no one would ever answer the phone. It seems that the hotel needs more employees. But the location was perfect. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mardi Gras lover
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 3, 2014

Mardi Gras perfect

We went for Mardi Gras weekend and the location is ideal and great for being in the heart of New Orleans during Mardi Gras. The hotel was well staffed with security to make sure only paying guest were in the hotel. However, the other staff was less than good. On Friday during the peak check in time there were 2 people working the front counter while 4 others sat in the back and did nothing. Also parking for this hotel is a NIGHTMARE!! We arrived late because of traffic and were told we couldn't valet park because the parade was coming which we understood and expected. What we didn't expect was to be told the wrong address for the parking garage they use. We finally found some parking near the hotel and boy do I wish we had just left the car there and paid the price. I moved the car Saturday morning just for peace of mind to their valet. Sunday when trying to retrieve our car well before check out time I was told they were not bring cars to the hotel because of traffic and we had 2 options. We could wait an hour for a shuttle to take us or we could walk what they called 3 blocks. We choose to walk but it wasn't 3 blocks it was more like 8 blocks! We will return to this hotel but we will never use their valet parking again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nursk1211
baton rouge, la
Feb 27, 2014

..

we enjoyed our stay at the astor crown plaza even though we we not in a room much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GREG AL
MCKINNEY TEXAS
Feb 26, 2014

MARDI GRAS SUPERIOR LOCATION

THE LOCATION OF THIS HOTEL TO BOURBON STREET AND CANAL STREET CAN NOT GET ANY BETTER. UPON ENTERRING THIS HOTEL YOU ARE GREETED BY A LOOK OF OPULANCE. THEN THE TRUE CONDITION OF THE HOTEL IS REFELCTED IN THE ROOMS. THE CARPET WAS TORN AND FRAYED AT THE BATHROOM DOOR. THE CURTAIN DRAPERY DRAW PULL WAS BROKEN AND LAYING IN THE WINDOW SILL, THE A/C & HEATER PANEL HAD COME AWAY FROM THE WALL. THERE IS A LARGE CHIP IN THE BATHROOM SINK - A DIME SIZE PIECE OF PORCELAIN MISSING. THE UPHOLSTERY FURNITURE IS WORN AND DATED. THERE IS A LEAK SOMEWHERE IN THE DRESSING AREA AND THE CARPET WAS SATURATED AND RUINED A PIECE OF OUR LUGGAGE. THE BEDS WERE HARD AND THE PILLOWS WERE FOAM NOT DOWN - THIS WAS NOT LIKE THE WESTINS "HEAVENLY BEDDING" WE ARE USED TO. OF THE 3 NIGHTS WE WERE THERE WE DID NOT HAVE HOT WATER 2 OF THE NIGHTS AND 2 OF THE MORNINGS - MAINTENENCE WAS ADVISED. UPON ENTERRING OUR ROOM LATE ONE NIGHT PART OF THE LOCKING MECHANISM FELL OFF OUR DOOR AND WOULD NOT ALLOW THE DOOR TO BE SHUT OR LOCKED - MAINTENANCE WAS ADVISED AND CAME WITHIN 10 MINUTES. WE WERE INFORMED THE LOCK WAS INSTALLED WRONG AND WAS NOTHING WE DID. WE TIPPED THE MAINTENANCE MAN. OF THE 3 MORNINGS WE WERE THERE WE ONLY REQUIRED ROOM CLEANING AND NEW TOWELS 1 DAY. ON THE DAY WE NEEDED ASSISTANCE WITH ROOM CLEANING WE RETUENED TO OUR ROOM AT 2:30 IN THE AFTERNOON TO FIND THAT OUR ROOM WAS NOT CLEANED. WE REQUESTED NEW TOWELS WHICH LAUNDRY BROUGHT UP - NONE THE LESS, WE NEVER HAD ROOM CLEANING DURING OUR ENTIRE STAY. THE SAYING YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR DOES NOT APPLY TO THIS HOTEL - SINCE ROOMS GO FOR OVER $400 A NIGHT YOU DON'T GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. WE ARE EASY GOING AND DON'T TRY TO MAKE MANY WAVES BUT THIS HOTEL SERIOUSLY NEEDS TO GET THEIR ACT TOGETHER WHEN IT COMES TO THEIR ROOMS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woodschris
neworleans
Feb 21, 2014

gateway

Ac stoped 3 times they only came.twice. they where slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around conor

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fudu
New Orleans
Jan 15, 2014

Not that special!

I have stayed in hotels from the very bottom of the scale to the top. This was a nice hotel, clean and quiet but for the price paid, it wasn't special. Our room wasn't even cleaned until late afternoon each day even though we left very early every morning. Would come back in the early afternoon to rest and get ready for the evening and the room was still undone. Doubt that I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SM1228
Little Rock
Jan 2, 2014

Upset with service

Room was okay, but the beds were rock hard. Bathroom sink didn't work and it took four times contacting the front desk to get the sink working. The room and experience didn't feel 4 star or like a Crown Plaza hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JaWM
Louisiana
Dec 13, 2013

Daughters College Graduation

The hotel was centrally located on Canal street which was the prime reason for choosing the Crowne Plaza. The curb parking was taken so we drove around the block several times waiting for the valet to open up a spot for us to park for the valet service. The front desk was efficient and expedited our check-in. The room was as we requested-king non-smoking. The room itself had dated furnishings but the bed was very comfortable. The concerns: mold in the bathroom, fixture in tub was difficult to regulate, shower head was dirty with mold and calcified water and the plumbing fixtures rattled all night. Should of known when the ear plugs were part of the comfort items provided. check-out was swift. Will we stay here again-probable not. The same room rates are offered at other hotels on Canal street with garage parking and updated rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSSS SSSS
IOWA
Dec 5, 2013

FIRST TIME IN NWE ORLEANS

THE ORGINAL ROOMS ARE VERY OLD AND SMALL. STAY IN NEWER ROOMS AND ENJOY YOUR STAY. THIS WAY 1ST TIME IN NEW ORLEANS AND WE WERE IN THE CENTER OF ALL THAT WAS GOING ON. WE HAVE ENOUGH KNOWLEDGE NOW TO EVEN MORE ENJOY OUR NEXT STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search