$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
468 reviews
Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great... See full review

  • GRTT
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi (fees may apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (468)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
468 out of 468
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louis1958
Utica, NY
Nov 12, 2012

Great Location and Great Staff

We chose this hotel because of location and price. It was worth the money being in the middle of the French quarter. The staff was also extremely helpful and flexible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SM1228
Little Rock
Jan 2, 2014

Upset with service

Room was okay, but the beds were rock hard. Bathroom sink didn't work and it took four times contacting the front desk to get the sink working. The room and experience didn't feel 4 star or like a Crown Plaza hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JaWM
Louisiana
Dec 13, 2013

Daughters College Graduation

The hotel was centrally located on Canal street which was the prime reason for choosing the Crowne Plaza. The curb parking was taken so we drove around the block several times waiting for the valet to open up a spot for us to park for the valet service. The front desk was efficient and expedited our check-in. The room was as we requested-king non-smoking. The room itself had dated furnishings but the bed was very comfortable. The concerns: mold in the bathroom, fixture in tub was difficult to regulate, shower head was dirty with mold and calcified water and the plumbing fixtures rattled all night. Should of known when the ear plugs were part of the comfort items provided. check-out was swift. Will we stay here again-probable not. The same room rates are offered at other hotels on Canal street with garage parking and updated rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSSS SSSS
IOWA
Dec 5, 2013

FIRST TIME IN NWE ORLEANS

THE ORGINAL ROOMS ARE VERY OLD AND SMALL. STAY IN NEWER ROOMS AND ENJOY YOUR STAY. THIS WAY 1ST TIME IN NEW ORLEANS AND WE WERE IN THE CENTER OF ALL THAT WAS GOING ON. WE HAVE ENOUGH KNOWLEDGE NOW TO EVEN MORE ENJOY OUR NEXT STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave voodo fest
Livonia, MI
Nov 5, 2013

Great location needs ipad docking stations

Great location great staff concierge was very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arin Winter
Greenville, NC
Sep 3, 2013

Nice Hotel but parking is expensive

Overall hotel experience was great. Only complaint is that the only way to park is to have valet do it for you, and it's $31/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe du Monde is only about half a mile away. Go for the Beignets and Cafe au Lait!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yellow camero
New orleans
Aug 19, 2013

Great Location

Very nice stay . Room was clean ,the staff was nice and polite . I will always stay here when am visiting New Orleans .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceania grill just a few blocks from the hotel .

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twilsonb
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jul 29, 2013

Great Location

This hotel is in a great location, right on Bourbon Street but facing Canal Street, so you are near the action without most of the noise. The hotel looks nice from the outside and has a nice lobby area. The rooms were well suited and priced pretty good for the location. We walked everywhere we wanted in the French Quarter from the hotel. Room service was relatively fast and pretty good and is 24 hours, a bonus. The pool is on the 3rd (actually 5th if you count) floor and is outside and was nice, a bit small but nevertheless a way to cool off in the afternoon sun. We found the staff pleasant and helpful in all situations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the corner of Canal and Royal to catch a cab, much faster than in front of the hotel!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buddtx
Texas
Jul 3, 2013

Not bad but

Location was great, staff was great , room average. All in all a three star hotel due to the fact of the hidden parking fee. 27.50 a night and each time I needed my car it was a 30 to 45 minute wait to get it, so I just used a cab service. Checking out of the hotel it was an hour and a half wait to get my car or I could be part of the herd who got on a bus and was shuttled to my car. 30 min wait for that. They don't have parking so your vehicle is in one of several garages in the area. It was a sixty dollar add charge to my room for parking for a two night stay and I couldn't even get to my vehicle. I feel that the site i book the hotel from should have presented that up front. In closing great location but check on parking when staying in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYer in Montreal
New York, NY, USA
Jun 4, 2013

Great Location, Great Style

This hotel has amazing style and is located right in the French Quarter with access to Canal St. Rooms were huge, the decor was classic and the rooms were affordable...a must stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right next to Bourbon Street!!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doctor Dave
New Orleans,LA
May 20, 2013

Graduation Weekend

Centrally located for Tulane Graduation. Canal St has a high traffic volume but the valet service goes above and beyond to respond to your call. Staff is very courteous and helpful. We were on the second floor and the road noise was loud. An upper floor would reduce the noise.Beds were very comfortable. Food and beverages were excellent and consistent with New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top