$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
318 reviews
Great Hotel

Hotel is great! Great location, room was comfortable, all the extras were great. The staff could... See full review

  • Irwin R. Fletcher
  • Oct 10, 2014
4 night vacation

Excellent location at corner of Canal & Bourbon Streets! Could walk in the French Quarter & take... See full review

  • AddySG
  • Sep 27, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, Internet access (fees apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is $38 USD plus tax. Self-parking - on own and fees vary.
  • Internet access fee is $16.95 USD per 24-hour period.
  • This hotel does not allow coolers in rooms.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louis1958
Utica, NY
Nov 12, 2012

Great Location and Great Staff

We chose this hotel because of location and price. It was worth the money being in the middle of the French quarter. The staff was also extremely helpful and flexible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D Renee
Business
Gulf Breeze, Fl
Jun 10, 2014

Was very disappointed with this Crowne!!!!

The valet staff was the most polite at the hotel. The air conditioners in the room were not working well. We had to move rooms. The front desk staff was rude!! The management was not helpful. I chose the Astor Crowne Plaza for a mother daughter weekend and could not believe the poor service and condition of the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone accustomed to staying at a nice hotel with great service. The only plus was the location but in New Orleans there are plenty of nice hotels with great locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palace Cafe is a few steps away from the front door of the hotel. The food and service there was fantastic. Make plans to have jazz brunch on Sunday!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kvth
Business
new york
Jun 8, 2014

No A/C in June!

It was a fine hotel, good location and we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, since we were in new orleans. but for 5 of the 7 nights we stayed the A/C was broken...often hotter inside than in the 90 degree outside...and there was no offer for compensation, nor seemingly any urgency on their part to fix it. Wish we'd stayed somewhere else...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hottlava
Business
Columbus, Oh
Jun 3, 2014

great location

Air conditioning went out overnight, they worked fast to get it restored and offered a discount on our nights stay,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dw615
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 2, 2014

Great location, needs a little more attention to detail

Location is great if you want to be right on Bourbon. The Hotel Desk staff was great! The overall cleanliness of our room was not

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sodusmom
Business
Benton Harbor, MI
May 12, 2014

Needs Improvement

The first full day required a call at 7pm to housekeeping to have our room cleaned. Thought maybe they just missed it. Next day they did get there earlier...5pm. Third day was a repeat of 5pm. Used glasses were left. Ice bucket was not emptied. All they did was change the towels and make the beds. Never got new sheets the entire time. No coffee available in the lobby. Breakfast was terribly expensive. Staff never asked about our stay when we checked out. No thank you for coming. Nothing. I will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paint me a Birmingham
Business
Mississippi
May 6, 2014

Just ok

Average room. The only thing worth noting was the bathroom. The tub had mold in the grout. And the tub seemed dirty, in general. Another silly, but annoying thing was the toilet paper roll was so far from the toilet, and they didn't get the new roll started, so I was struggling to reach it and get it started (and I have long arms!). Good location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grammy41
Business
Bossier City, LA
Apr 28, 2014

Super Stay!

My husband and I stayed at the Crown Plaza for 2 nights and wished we had time to stay longer. Our room was very nice and loved the speed of the elevators as we were on the 14th floor with a nice view of everything. The only thing I would have changed would be the mattress as it was hard and the bedding could have been updated with a lightweight down comforter with down pillows. But we didn't loose sleep. The location was perfect for getting around downtown & in the quarter. The Bourbon House Restaurant's service and food were great, which is connected to the hotel. We definitely will re-visit this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worktotravel
Business
Houston
Apr 28, 2014

Could I get a smile

Check in staff was extremely rude. Not a single smile. They were moving at snail speed and god forbid you asked for help. All we got was a bad attitude. If you don't like your job then you should get another one. We had a problem with our reservation. It was confirmed but they needed "the paperwork" because confirmation number and email is not enough. They made us wait 2 hrs at check in ( we arrived at 1130pm). We didn't get in a room until after 1 am. And apparently you are not allowed to talk to a manager because " they can't help you". Worst service ever which is too bad because the location was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S LADY
Business
NEW JERSEY
Apr 22, 2014

4 NIGHTS 5 DAYS

THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND COUTEOUS I ASKES TO BE IN A ROOM THAT WAS AWAY FROM THE ELEVATOR AND QUIET. MONIQUE MADE SURE WE GOT THAT ROOM. WE WOULD DEFINATELY STAY AT THE CROWN PLAZA WHEN WE GO BACK TO NEW ORLEANS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THE RED FISH ON BOURBON ST HAS THE BEST FRIED OYSTERS EVER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travels the us
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 16, 2014

Good stay

Overall a good stay and good location. Near Bourbon St and the Canal St streetcar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top