$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
View map of 739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
375 out of 375
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Jun 20, 2011

Something to be desired.....

At first, I was very impressed with the hotel, except, of course, for the parking. Getting into the hotel at checkin for valet was a 45 minute wait. Check-in was easy and the room is nice. The location is great!! Right on the Corner of Bourbon and Canal gave it lots of ease to explore both bourbon or canal or even jump the st. charles streetcar. Now for the bad stuff. The t.v. had a HORRIBLE picture. Big, Nice, flatscreen tv with fuzz all over it!! Go figure. The air conditioner couldn't keep up. We had it set on 65 and the drapes closed and it NEVER got below 68 in the room and that was at 4 am. We ended up buying a box fan for the room to help out. I would probably go back to this hotel but I would choose a better time of year. NOT June, but probably April or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great little restaurant 1 block up on Iberville street called Storyville. I would recommend either the Shrimp Poboy or the Roastbeef and Gravy PoBoy. Both were great!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brandy Mixed Up
Business
Chicago
Sep 2, 2014

Bachlorette headache

This hotel is not one that I will go to again. The area was nice and the hotel room was clean, but the customer service was awful. I showed up for check in and they asked for my last name, but never even asked for ID. They asked for my credit card that I wanted to put down any incidentals for. The whole time she kept talking to someone else, a co worker or other guests. In which at least 3 different people came down and said their cards had been deactivated. She gave me my room number and I went to the room with my 3 other guests and everything was fine. The next day we went walking for about 8 hours and came back wanting a nap. We get to the room and all the cards had been deactivated. I went downstairs to find out what happened and she said she needed to talk to Brandy, who was staying in my room supposedly. We had no one named Brandy in my reservation nor was my name Brandy. She said that's not possible because that was Brandy's room number, but it shows she never showed up for check in, even though I was supposedly in her room. The person helping asked one manager for help, but she was helping 3 other people. Then she asked for another managers help because she couldn't figure out how my information was under someone else's name. That manager also had 3 other people to help. I started to panic wondering if my card was charged for a no show, for either Brandy or myself, and if our stuff was even still in the room since it had been deactivated. They would not answer my questions. They just kept talking to themselves and not letting me know where my stuff was or if my card had been charged. The woman who checked me in the night before literally was talking to another co worker about me being upset and yelling about her, right in front of me so I could hear her and I told her yes, I am upset since you had put me in someone else's room and I was locked out. They finally managed to figure it out. Told me I was charged, but that would be refunded, I have not seen the refund yet. Then I had to wait outside the room for 15 minutes until the manager could unlock our room. When we walked in, one bed was made. The other looked like it was about to be made, but everything was on the floor and housekeeping left it. Then the last night we stayed, the fire alarm in our room's battery went out at about 1 am so the notice alarm went off every so often throughout the night. I tried calling down to the front desk, however no one picked up the phone. Everything else was nice facilities, but the hour long ordeal and the customer service was not worth it. If I go again will definitely find another hotel that checks IDs and alarm systems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Highly upset and disappoi
Business
New Orleans, LA
Oct 28, 2014

upset with the thievery

check in went smooth till we got to our room, one bed wheb we booked a double for 2 adult couples. when I called the desk they said if we wanted to change rooms we woupd have to wait at least half an hour. Told them we would keep the room but file a complaint. They then called rigjt back and switched us to the room originally booked. everything was fine till I got home and realized I left my work jacket on the chair in the room. Have called several times was told nothing was turned in so I must not have left it. I distinctly remember leaving it on the chair. Told them housekeeping took it when they cleaned. Still have not heard back from the manager. whatever you do dont leave anything in the room and expect it back. Thieves and not honest people working here. such a shame for such a nice place with a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
saintsfanva
Business
va
Oct 8, 2014

not worth the money

Location good but that's it. Room is tired and needs lots of TLC. Bed was not very comfortable and bathroom needs a lot of work. A 4 star room at that price you would hope for a mini fridge or a microwave or something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SM1228
Business
Little Rock
Jan 2, 2014

Upset with service

Room was okay, but the beds were rock hard. Bathroom sink didn't work and it took four times contacting the front desk to get the sink working. The room and experience didn't feel 4 star or like a Crown Plaza hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fudu
Business
New Orleans
Jan 15, 2014

Not that special!

I have stayed in hotels from the very bottom of the scale to the top. This was a nice hotel, clean and quiet but for the price paid, it wasn't special. Our room wasn't even cleaned until late afternoon each day even though we left very early every morning. Would come back in the early afternoon to rest and get ready for the evening and the room was still undone. Doubt that I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woodschris
Business
neworleans
Feb 21, 2014

gateway

Ac stoped 3 times they only came.twice. they where slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around conor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GREG AL
Business
MCKINNEY TEXAS
Feb 26, 2014

MARDI GRAS SUPERIOR LOCATION

THE LOCATION OF THIS HOTEL TO BOURBON STREET AND CANAL STREET CAN NOT GET ANY BETTER. UPON ENTERRING THIS HOTEL YOU ARE GREETED BY A LOOK OF OPULANCE. THEN THE TRUE CONDITION OF THE HOTEL IS REFELCTED IN THE ROOMS. THE CARPET WAS TORN AND FRAYED AT THE BATHROOM DOOR. THE CURTAIN DRAPERY DRAW PULL WAS BROKEN AND LAYING IN THE WINDOW SILL, THE A/C & HEATER PANEL HAD COME AWAY FROM THE WALL. THERE IS A LARGE CHIP IN THE BATHROOM SINK - A DIME SIZE PIECE OF PORCELAIN MISSING. THE UPHOLSTERY FURNITURE IS WORN AND DATED. THERE IS A LEAK SOMEWHERE IN THE DRESSING AREA AND THE CARPET WAS SATURATED AND RUINED A PIECE OF OUR LUGGAGE. THE BEDS WERE HARD AND THE PILLOWS WERE FOAM NOT DOWN - THIS WAS NOT LIKE THE WESTINS "HEAVENLY BEDDING" WE ARE USED TO. OF THE 3 NIGHTS WE WERE THERE WE DID NOT HAVE HOT WATER 2 OF THE NIGHTS AND 2 OF THE MORNINGS - MAINTENENCE WAS ADVISED. UPON ENTERRING OUR ROOM LATE ONE NIGHT PART OF THE LOCKING MECHANISM FELL OFF OUR DOOR AND WOULD NOT ALLOW THE DOOR TO BE SHUT OR LOCKED - MAINTENANCE WAS ADVISED AND CAME WITHIN 10 MINUTES. WE WERE INFORMED THE LOCK WAS INSTALLED WRONG AND WAS NOTHING WE DID. WE TIPPED THE MAINTENANCE MAN. OF THE 3 MORNINGS WE WERE THERE WE ONLY REQUIRED ROOM CLEANING AND NEW TOWELS 1 DAY. ON THE DAY WE NEEDED ASSISTANCE WITH ROOM CLEANING WE RETUENED TO OUR ROOM AT 2:30 IN THE AFTERNOON TO FIND THAT OUR ROOM WAS NOT CLEANED. WE REQUESTED NEW TOWELS WHICH LAUNDRY BROUGHT UP - NONE THE LESS, WE NEVER HAD ROOM CLEANING DURING OUR ENTIRE STAY. THE SAYING YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR DOES NOT APPLY TO THIS HOTEL - SINCE ROOMS GO FOR OVER $400 A NIGHT YOU DON'T GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. WE ARE EASY GOING AND DON'T TRY TO MAKE MANY WAVES BUT THIS HOTEL SERIOUSLY NEEDS TO GET THEIR ACT TOGETHER WHEN IT COMES TO THEIR ROOMS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paint me a Birmingham
Business
Mississippi
May 6, 2014

Just ok

Average room. The only thing worth noting was the bathroom. The tub had mold in the grout. And the tub seemed dirty, in general. Another silly, but annoying thing was the toilet paper roll was so far from the toilet, and they didn't get the new roll started, so I was struggling to reach it and get it started (and I have long arms!). Good location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sugarsmile
Business
Spring, TX, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Terrible Parking

The parking is terrible. Getting to the vallet station was about an hour wait on Canal Street. Leaving on Sunday was another hour long production in which they bussed you to the parking lot so you exited the hotel and waiting a long line to get on a bus to get to a lot to wait for your vehicle. The hotel did have great curtains and the room could be made to be pitch black 24/7. It was close to all the action but far enough away that it was quiet (at least on the 11th floor).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top