Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
739 CANAL STREET @ BOURBON, NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
472 reviews
Fantastic weekend in New Orleans, LA !

Everything was the best! Also, hotel was in walking area to the events in New Orleans. Had a great... See full review

  • GRTT
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place in the French Quarter

Very nice, clean , comfortable hotel in the perfect location! See full review

  • bhsickler
  • Apr 4, 2014
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi (fees may apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Key facts
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Neighborhood
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Hints and tips
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

  • The pool and fitness centre will be closed from 6-10 August 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI, SW; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (472)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
472 out of 472
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
baton rouge, la.
Oct 12, 2010

Nice hotel, parking is a JOKE!

very nice hotel and great location but parking was a total joke!! i valet parked upon arrival expecting a parking fee which i knew would have to be pd at check-out...the only problem i had was after paying $93 for parking you have to wait on a shuttle bus to pick you up to take you to your car!! after loading all of your luggage on to this shuttle bus you are then driven a few blocks away to a $10 a day parking lot to retrieve your car!!! the hotel fails to tell you this upon arrival of course!! i was expecting my car to be in a covered garage at hotel only to find it was blocks away in a much cheaper parking lot with cars upon cars crammed inside! i wasn't the only person livid about this either! but you can bet it was a lesson learned!!! watch out for this scam!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
baton rouge, la.
Oct 12, 2010

Nice hotel, parking is a JOKE!

very nice hotel and great location but parking was a total joke!! i valet parked upon arrival expecting a parking fee which i knew would have to be pd at check-out...the only problem i had was after paying $93 for parking you have to wait on a shuttle bus to pick you up to take you to your car!! after loading all of your luggage on to this shuttle bus you are then driven a few blocks away to a $10 a day parking lot to retrieve your car!!! the hotel fails to tell you this upon arrival of course!! i was expecting my car to be in a covered garage at hotel only to find it was blocks away in a much cheaper parking lot with cars upon cars crammed inside! i wasn't the only person livid about this either! but you can bet it was a lesson learned!!! watch out for this scam!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ajennings
raleigh, nc
Oct 1, 2010

great Bourbon Street location

Upon checking in, I was told that the computers were down and it would be about 5 minutes, however, I was told this in the manner one that would use when speaking to a small child. I was put in a handicapped room, so everytime the shower was used the bathroom floor flooded with water b/c there was no slope to drain the water appropriatley. The hair dryer was dead, which was reported on day 1 of stay, still not fixed upon checking out after 3 days. Great location, however very nasty outside first thing in the morning as it is on Bourbon Street. Lots of street preformers/homeless/panhandlers are waiting just outside hotel to ask for money, or in our case, try and pickpocket you while saying "I know where you got those shoes" **beware anyone telling you this in NOLA. Needs security to keep guests from being hassled, expecially when it takes 20 minutes to get your car from valet (@32.00 a day which wasn't disclosed until checkout!)All in all, if you are going to NOLA to enjoy Bourbon St, its a great location, just a few stumbles down from about 100+ bars/clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Howl at the Moon, a dueling piano bar is a few blocks down Bourbon St. Oceana is a great place for local seafood any time of day.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ajennings
raleigh, nc
Oct 1, 2010

great Bourbon Street location

Upon checking in, I was told that the computers were down and it would be about 5 minutes, however, I was told this in the manner one that would use when speaking to a small child. I was put in a handicapped room, so everytime the shower was used the bathroom floor flooded with water b/c there was no slope to drain the water appropriatley. The hair dryer was dead, which was reported on day 1 of stay, still not fixed upon checking out after 3 days. Great location, however very nasty outside first thing in the morning as it is on Bourbon Street. Lots of street preformers/homeless/panhandlers are waiting just outside hotel to ask for money, or in our case, try and pickpocket you while saying "I know where you got those shoes" **beware anyone telling you this in NOLA. Needs security to keep guests from being hassled, expecially when it takes 20 minutes to get your car from valet (@32.00 a day which wasn't disclosed until checkout!)All in all, if you are going to NOLA to enjoy Bourbon St, its a great location, just a few stumbles down from about 100+ bars/clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Howl at the Moon, a dueling piano bar is a few blocks down Bourbon St. Oceana is a great place for local seafood any time of day.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Couple's gateway
Miami, FL
Sep 27, 2010

Excellent!

The hotel staff were friendly. Rooms were clean everytime we returned from our tours. The concierge was awesome!! Gave us the best suggestions of where to go, where to eat and what to do. We walked and learned the city like if we were natives of New Orleans. All I can say is ...WHO DAT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oceana on Conti and off Bourbon was very good. The Market Cafe on Decanti and near the French Market was really good. The best bread pudding ever!! Went back twice for the bread pudding. Research what you want to do before going to New Orleans. In four days we were able to do a swam tour, garden district tour, ghost tour, walk all of French Quarter, Garden District, Magazine Street, and Frenchman Street area where the locals go to listen to good jazz band.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Couple's gateway
Miami, FL
Sep 27, 2010

Excellent!

The hotel staff were friendly. Rooms were clean everytime we returned from our tours. The concierge was awesome!! Gave us the best suggestions of where to go, where to eat and what to do. We walked and learned the city like if we were natives of New Orleans. All I can say is ...WHO DAT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oceana on Conti and off Bourbon was very good. The Market Cafe on Decanti and near the French Market was really good. The best bread pudding ever!! Went back twice for the bread pudding. Research what you want to do before going to New Orleans. In four days we were able to do a swam tour, garden district tour, ghost tour, walk all of French Quarter, Garden District, Magazine Street, and Frenchman Street area where the locals go to listen to good jazz band.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaye, Chicago lover
Asheville, NC
Sep 20, 2010

Great location to enjoy New Orleans

We loved everything about the hotel and our stay. The staff inside the hotel was tremendous. Our only complaint would be the young men outside the front door. They were there to assist with bags, get cabs,etc. and we found that they barely made eye contact with anyone. We got our own cab on two occasions. We would definitely stay again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mena's for lunch!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaye, Chicago lover
Asheville, NC
Sep 20, 2010

Great location to enjoy New Orleans

We loved everything about the hotel and our stay. The staff inside the hotel was tremendous. Our only complaint would be the young men outside the front door. They were there to assist with bags, get cabs,etc. and we found that they barely made eye contact with anyone. We got our own cab on two occasions. We would definitely stay again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mena's for lunch!

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Sep 12, 2010

Excellent Stay

We enjoyed out stay at the Crown plaza. We were there for the weekend and we loved the service, the facilities and the convience of being in the middle of all the action. The street car was right in front of the hotel which made it easy and fun to travel on St. Charles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Sep 12, 2010

Excellent Stay

We enjoyed out stay at the Crown plaza. We were there for the weekend and we loved the service, the facilities and the convience of being in the middle of all the action. The street car was right in front of the hotel which made it easy and fun to travel on St. Charles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top