Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
View map of 739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
367 reviews
Awesome girls long weekend

Hotel location was perfect. Right on the edge of the French Quarters and close enough to the... See full review

  • Candice V.
  • Aug 21, 2015
Fantastic place to stay!

Great hotel in the middle of everything. Highly recommended! See full review

  • Robert W.
  • Aug 15, 2015
Previously the Astor Hotel, the multi-story Crowne Plaza New Orleans French Quarter grew organically from a collection of existing retail buildings and apartments, giving it a blended Crescent City charm. Inside, ironwork stair-rails, exposed brick walls, and mismatched lobby seating continues this feel. Conversely, the modern offerings of an outdoor pool, Internet access (fees apply), and a vast 30,000-feet of event space bring the building up to date. Pay a visit to Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant for the best in local seafood and a cozy Southern welcome.
Location
Where the bustling business of Canal Street meets the revelry of Bourbon Street, the Crown Plaza French Quarter exists square in the center of the party. Walk a few blocks toward the river and you can follow Decatur Street, parallel to the main artery of New Orleans, the Mississippi River. Walk along Decatur to pass Jackson Square and head toward Esplanade to experience the French Quarter. Business visitors may be coming for larger events at the nearby Morial Convention Center, and sports fans will find the Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the Saints football team - not far away.
Highlights
  • 693 rooms
  • 14 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House Restaurant & Oyster Bar
  • Concierge service
  • 24-hour fitness center with room-key access
  • Full-service business center
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi (for IHG Rewards Club members, small charge otherwise)
  • Executive work desks
Fees
  • Parking is $39 USD plus tax.
  • Internet access fee is $16.95 USD per 24-hour period.
  • This hotel does not allow coolers in rooms.
Policies
The Crown Plaza French Quarter Hotel is in a central area, but fares within the city are low enough to make short cab rides an affordable luxury.
When staying during annual events such as Mardi Gras, the Essence Festival or the Sugar Bowl, expect minimum stay requirements for this in-demand location.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0694
Nearby airports
New Orleans Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 12.00, MI; Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Dining

Bourbon House
Located in the Astor Crowne Plaza, Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it's not in season, you won't find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes at New Orleans' premier oyster bar and seafood restaurant. Bourbon Hou
Palace Cafe
This classic New Orleans restaurant, located at the foot of the Franch Quarter, serves contempory Creole food in an upbeat and lively grand cafe. As bearers of the torch keeping Creole cusine alive and vital, Dickie Brennan and the Palace Cafe's culinary
Bourbon House Bar
Bourbon House is also more than just a name. The restaurant offers New Orleans' most extensive and impressive selection of small batch and single barrel bourbons, a delicious Frozen Bourbon Milk Punch, and the one and only New Orleans Bourbon Society.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (367)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABear
Couples
Texas
Jan 5, 2011

Great Location

The Hotel and staff were great. The location at the end of Bourbon St. was a good thing for what we were wanting to do and the The Bourbon House resturant was a must eat at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Harrahs Casino was a short walk down Canal St.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rozbwl
Couples
TYLER,TEXAS
Jan 3, 2011

PERFECT LOCATION

HOTEL WAS ABOVE AVERAGE, AT THE CORNER OF BOURBON AND CANAL. PARKING WAS A BIT HIGH.BUT RIGHT ON THE EDGE OF THE QUARTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

A LOT OF OPTIONS

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
st amant, la
Jan 3, 2011

Nice and clean in a great location

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern California Traveler
Friends
Fullerton, CA
Jan 3, 2011

New Year's Eve in the Big Easy

This classic, but well equipt, hotel offerred us easy access to bourbon street with the ability to have a quiet sanctuary when needed. The staff were polite and knowledgable. I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk from many, many, many restaurants.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alk00
Friends
Garfield, NJ
Jan 2, 2011

Good hotel with excellent location

This hotel is an excellent location close to the French Quarter. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. Couple of small issues are that you have to pay extra for Internet access 9.95 for 24 hr. That is a little high considering most hotels don't charge for this service. If you happen to stay in a room close to the central air-conditioning system you wll constantly hear the noise. Averall this is a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shyan Paul
Family
New orleans, LA
Jan 1, 2011

surrealistic NIGHTMARE for $520/newyear

we went for a new year stay in Crowne Plaza hotel from dec 31 till jan, 02, 2011. The problem is.. no, the problemS ARE these: 1) Valet parking. It was total disrespect and nightmare. We woke up at 5:00am in Houston, TX to drive earlier to N.Orleans. And when we did, we spend more than TWO HOURS (!!!) in line to valet guys :) Wow! That's pretty much of a record. The first time we came to valets, they told us that there's a line we need to take, making a round around a block. So we did. But the problem IS simple: valet guys were accepting a number of cars that were intruding the line! :)) So me, my daughter of 2,5 years and wife after more than 7 hours by car had to wait some 30-40 minutes more in the line because valets just let some drivers in fancy cars in for parking without any waiting in the line! That's just awesome! THAT's what Crowne calls service. 2) Luggage delivery "from the hotel entrance to the room". THEY have the luggage trolleys and luggage boys but they DONT DO their job! we came inside the hotel with: - 2 HUGE travel luggage cases. (trust me, heavy ones - with things for 2months long trip around usa) - 1 BIG bag that my wife placed on top of a stroller (no, there's no place for bags, it's just a try to get all the things to the room) - laptop bag/photo case - and yes a stroller And NOBODY. N O B O D Y of the staff gave a try to ask: WOULD I like any help :) I tried to ask some guy with luggage trolley to help but he just rushed towards entrance to meet some other guests :) 3) Room service. In 3:50 am (!!!!!!) i had to wake up because of... ALARM CLOCK RINGING. room service does not check alarm clocks! So thank them all so much for not letting me sleep for my money. 4) Wake up call the offer is: if u order wake up call and it's not there - u get living for FREE! And what if i DID NOT order a wake up call and got it?! I DID GET WAKE UP CALL THE SAME VERY NIGHT WHEN THE ALARM CLOCK WOKE ME UP! i JUST WANT TO SLEEP WHEN I WANT TO SLEEP! Is it that hard to let me and my family SLEEEEEEEP?! 5) Concierge who is hospitable and welcoming to the hotel guests Congrats. They have none! I dont really know the guy's name, but when i told everything i wrote above to the front desk manager, he listened all this and his replies were: (read this attentively, that's the top of the mastership of working with hotel guests): a) "It's new year's eve sir, so it's quite a mess, that's why nobody helped you with luggage, valet has a line and letting non-lined-cars in, and alarm clock + wake up calls ring". When i asked the guy "Dont you charge more for new year's night, right because it's a mess and there're so many guests" - he said "YES". I asked him WHY THE HELL should i care about the hotel's problems if i paid all the price and just want a good service for the money? - but silence was a reply to me. b) "Concerning the valet parking problem you should go to valet parking manager and describe it all to him" YES, that's right. It's me (the guest who pays money) who is to be walking around all managers and describing the hell happening in their hotel, not the front desk manager who had already heard ALL the description of the problems. Then the front desk manager asked ME (!!!) : "Okay sir now that you told me all this - WHAT SHOULD I DO WITH THIS?" - and i understood that i really am wrong with the choice of the hotel. When the STAFF asks GUESTS what to do when the hotel is one big bunch of a mess and a guest informs the staff about specific troubles - it's the end of the world. It's NOT a quality hotel. 6) ROOM CLEANING. they have NONE! ^)) I waited till 8 pm. But till 8 pm (!!!) NOBODY came in to clean out trash bins, check the towels, blankets-pillows etc stuff. Are you sure this is a hotel, not just a "rent-an-apartment" offer? so the total is: It is TRULY UNGODLY AWFUL :) We're checking out tomorrow and help us god to never ever get in one of their hotels again :))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

quite close to the river and Jackson square. Big shopping center and French quarter are in a 2-minutes walk distance.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York
Dec 13, 2010

New Orleans trip

Excellent service and accomodations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Key largo fl
Dec 12, 2010

cancellation

I think that it is ridiculous that you cannot cancel because of a family emergency and never plan to use you organization ever again. I have for many trip and were planning to use it for our trip to Hawaii next year but someone else will get to benefit from us not you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLAII
Couples
Phila Pa and Elkton Maryland
Dec 5, 2010

Trip to New Orleans!!!!

the hotel was beautiful and were surprised was decorated for Christmas already!!!!! Location to Bourbon street awesome which is why we selected it pics are are exactly what it is!!!!! Highly recommend!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
spanish fort
Nov 28, 2010

good to go...

the Hotel was properly and the employees where very polite and helpfully. The Restaurant was also good but the Cafe as well the cafe Latte could be better...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect location for folks who wants to become acquainted with the night life and do not want to walk that much...also you can reach the harbor and other stuff really fast.

Back to menu Return to top