$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
View map of 739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
365 out of 365
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louis1958
Utica, NY
Nov 12, 2012

Great Location and Great Staff

We chose this hotel because of location and price. It was worth the money being in the middle of the French quarter. The staff was also extremely helpful and flexible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shyan Paul
Business
New orleans, LA
Jan 1, 2011

surrealistic NIGHTMARE for $520/newyear

we went for a new year stay in Crowne Plaza hotel from dec 31 till jan, 02, 2011. The problem is.. no, the problemS ARE these: 1) Valet parking. It was total disrespect and nightmare. We woke up at 5:00am in Houston, TX to drive earlier to N.Orleans. And when we did, we spend more than TWO HOURS (!!!) in line to valet guys :) Wow! That's pretty much of a record. The first time we came to valets, they told us that there's a line we need to take, making a round around a block. So we did. But the problem IS simple: valet guys were accepting a number of cars that were intruding the line! :)) So me, my daughter of 2,5 years and wife after more than 7 hours by car had to wait some 30-40 minutes more in the line because valets just let some drivers in fancy cars in for parking without any waiting in the line! That's just awesome! THAT's what Crowne calls service. 2) Luggage delivery "from the hotel entrance to the room". THEY have the luggage trolleys and luggage boys but they DONT DO their job! we came inside the hotel with: - 2 HUGE travel luggage cases. (trust me, heavy ones - with things for 2months long trip around usa) - 1 BIG bag that my wife placed on top of a stroller (no, there's no place for bags, it's just a try to get all the things to the room) - laptop bag/photo case - and yes a stroller And NOBODY. N O B O D Y of the staff gave a try to ask: WOULD I like any help :) I tried to ask some guy with luggage trolley to help but he just rushed towards entrance to meet some other guests :) 3) Room service. In 3:50 am (!!!!!!) i had to wake up because of... ALARM CLOCK RINGING. room service does not check alarm clocks! So thank them all so much for not letting me sleep for my money. 4) Wake up call the offer is: if u order wake up call and it's not there - u get living for FREE! And what if i DID NOT order a wake up call and got it?! I DID GET WAKE UP CALL THE SAME VERY NIGHT WHEN THE ALARM CLOCK WOKE ME UP! i JUST WANT TO SLEEP WHEN I WANT TO SLEEP! Is it that hard to let me and my family SLEEEEEEEP?! 5) Concierge who is hospitable and welcoming to the hotel guests Congrats. They have none! I dont really know the guy's name, but when i told everything i wrote above to the front desk manager, he listened all this and his replies were: (read this attentively, that's the top of the mastership of working with hotel guests): a) "It's new year's eve sir, so it's quite a mess, that's why nobody helped you with luggage, valet has a line and letting non-lined-cars in, and alarm clock + wake up calls ring". When i asked the guy "Dont you charge more for new year's night, right because it's a mess and there're so many guests" - he said "YES". I asked him WHY THE HELL should i care about the hotel's problems if i paid all the price and just want a good service for the money? - but silence was a reply to me. b) "Concerning the valet parking problem you should go to valet parking manager and describe it all to him" YES, that's right. It's me (the guest who pays money) who is to be walking around all managers and describing the hell happening in their hotel, not the front desk manager who had already heard ALL the description of the problems. Then the front desk manager asked ME (!!!) : "Okay sir now that you told me all this - WHAT SHOULD I DO WITH THIS?" - and i understood that i really am wrong with the choice of the hotel. When the STAFF asks GUESTS what to do when the hotel is one big bunch of a mess and a guest informs the staff about specific troubles - it's the end of the world. It's NOT a quality hotel. 6) ROOM CLEANING. they have NONE! ^)) I waited till 8 pm. But till 8 pm (!!!) NOBODY came in to clean out trash bins, check the towels, blankets-pillows etc stuff. Are you sure this is a hotel, not just a "rent-an-apartment" offer? so the total is: It is TRULY UNGODLY AWFUL :) We're checking out tomorrow and help us god to never ever get in one of their hotels again :))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

quite close to the river and Jackson square. Big shopping center and French quarter are in a 2-minutes walk distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 13, 2010

New Orleans trip

Excellent service and accomodations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Key largo fl
Dec 12, 2010

cancellation

I think that it is ridiculous that you cannot cancel because of a family emergency and never plan to use you organization ever again. I have for many trip and were planning to use it for our trip to Hawaii next year but someone else will get to benefit from us not you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLAII
Business
Phila Pa and Elkton Maryland
Dec 5, 2010

Trip to New Orleans!!!!

the hotel was beautiful and were surprised was decorated for Christmas already!!!!! Location to Bourbon street awesome which is why we selected it pics are are exactly what it is!!!!! Highly recommend!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
spanish fort
Nov 28, 2010

good to go...

the Hotel was properly and the employees where very polite and helpfully. The Restaurant was also good but the Cafe as well the cafe Latte could be better...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect location for folks who wants to become acquainted with the night life and do not want to walk that much...also you can reach the harbor and other stuff really fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BCF
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 15, 2010

Perfect

Great location, room was clean, noise from Bourbon Street was minimal. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
French Quarter Celebrant
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 15, 2010

Great accomodations at a great price

Was in New Orleans Friday afternoon through Sunday afternoon in November for a friends wedding. Our party consisted of two couples (splitting a room to save some $$$) and was looking for a hotel in the French Quarter. The Astor Crowne plaza had the cheapest rates. Also of note, of similarly priced hotels, it was the only one that appeared to offer queen beds rather than full. We got a room with two queen beds and it was beautiful. The room was quite large, the beds were very comfortable, had central A/C, etc. We spent the entire weekend in the French Quarter, and the Crowne Plaza's location at the corner of bourbon and canal was perfect for our group of 20-somethings. The only drawback is that the hotel doesn't offer free wi-fi. Instead, there is a small charge per 24 hours of internet access. I did find out, however, only after paying the charge, that there is free wi-fi accessible in the lobby. Otherwise, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the touristy restaurants on Decatur St. and check out some of the more authentic cafes and restaurants between Bourbon and Decatur (e.g. Pierre Masperos on Royal).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Above Average

We were put in the wrong room the first night (queen bed instead of king). A quick discussion with the front desk the next morning saw us moved into the correct room and our wifi ($9.99/night) comped for the duration of our stay. The rooms were very clean and new. Every staff member we spoke to (front desk, valet, and phone operator) was very friendly. The location is a perfect balance between the French Quarter and downtown. There were unsavory characters around the outside of the hotel but its New Orleans. There are lots of unsavory characters everywhere, but isn't that what we all came to see? Regardless we always felt comfortable inside the hotel. We had trouble with noisy hotel neighbors one night. There was a rowdy group of 10-15 people that came back around 4am and mingled in the hall until we called the front desk at 5am. I think security did a good job of breaking them up. Overall an excellent stay. FYI: Valet parking (vehicles stored eight blocks away) is $32.00/night. Room wifi is average and $9.99/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
memphis, tn
Nov 4, 2010

so much to see and do in one location

the first thing i looked for in the hotel room was a refrigerator, there wasn't one, also somebody had written some sort of dirty note on the room do not disturb sign and it was not changed out when we arrived for our stay. The room itself and everything else was o.k.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed all the nearby shops, you can browse one after another, I also enjoyed the set up shopping area in the lobby of the hotel that the ladies had there, that was great I purchased a couple of things right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston Texas
Oct 25, 2010

Good location!

Nice hotel, great Location but expensive valet, and they took too long and we had to walk 8 blocks in the rain to get our car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top