$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 23, 2015

Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

4 stars
View map of 739 Canal St. @ Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Apr 30, 2011

great location, excellent service

great location for all French Quarter restaurants and places of interest. the concierge, [...] was simply fabulous: attentive, full of information about making our trip one of our best. check with [...] before you venture out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

many fabulous EXPENSIVE restaurants, one very inexpensive and wonderful: PortoCall on Esplanade....check it out.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Apr 30, 2011

great location, excellent service

great location for all French Quarter restaurants and places of interest. the concierge, [...] was simply fabulous: attentive, full of information about making our trip one of our best. check with [...] before you venture out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

many fabulous EXPENSIVE restaurants, one very inexpensive and wonderful: PortoCall on Esplanade....check it out.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kemah, TX
Apr 27, 2011

Excellent Hotel.

I repeat, great hotel, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Apr 24, 2011

Overall good

Awesome location just around the corner from Bourbon Street. The rooms were nice and clean. Staff was helpful, except with one situation; A member of our party needed a key and they wouldn't give one because her name wasn't on the room, so don't forget your key. I do understand the security measure, but she had all the information on the room, just no id with my name on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweet Rae
Business
Philly
Apr 24, 2011

Super hotel, awesome location

We picked this hotel for the great rates and awesome location. It's right on Bourbon Street, so you're in the middle of the action. But the room was very clean and quiet, updated bed and bathroom. The staff was polite. We will stay here on our next trip for sure. Wish we could stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a drink and sit in the shade in Jackson Square. There is live music everywhere, so you can just soak it up

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 23, 2011

Very nice, great location

This hotel has recently undergone renovations. Everything was clean and beautiful. If you plan on going to Bourbon Street I would definitely recommend this hotel, as it is a quick, safe, well-lit walk back to the hotel. Also a great location for exploring the French Quarter. We were also able to easily access the trolley and street car from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a Haunted History Tour. I took the Voodoo tour and found it to be informational and entertaining. It is $20 for a two hour walking tour.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 18, 2011

Great hotel - perfect location!

Great hotel for experiencing everything New Orleans has to offer. Although it's on the corner of Bourbon and Canal, the room was very quiet. The complimentary blindfold and earplugs were a nice touch, but didn't need them.The hotel is a nice combination of historic building with the modern comforts you'd expect from a brand like Crowne Plaza.We spent several hours researching hotels in the French Quarter...the reviews on [...]did not lie - this hotel exceeded our expectations.+ Nice rooftop pool+ Amazing hotel gym (one of the best I've ever seen)The staff were extremely helpful and made our stay extremely enjoyable.Great value for the rate too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Head down to Frenchmen street at the other end of the French Quarter to see some awesome live music.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mar
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 12, 2011

Great Location for the price.

Hotel was attractive, very clean and an exceptionally convenient location. You can easily walk to any spot in the French Quarter or the Riverwalk or take a short trolley ride to the Garden District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Terrific restaurants that I would highly recommend include the Red Fish Grille or the Bourbon House are within 100 feet of the hotel.

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 1, 2011

Not great, but certainly OK

This hotel was just OK. The reason it gets an "OK" from me is that it represents itself as a 4 star property. It is definitely a solid 3 star, but it is really a stretch to call it a 4 star. I was in an Executive Club King room. It was large enough for two without feeling cramped. However, the bathroom was dated and there was damage to both the tub finish and the caulking around the sink area. A 4 star property would have this taken care of. On my second night, the grate came off of the Air Conditioning housing unit and slammed into the mirror frightening both of us at 2am. When we reported it the next morning, we expected someone to come and take a look. That did not happen and the grate remained on the floor for the remainder of the stay. A 4 star property would have taken care of this immediately and we would have at least heard from the manager. Throughout my stay we encountered friendly and willing staff. However, they were under-trained in hotel customer service. While I appreciate cultural norms (this was New Orleans after all), I do not appreciate being called "baby, honey, sugar, and darlin'" by the hotel staff. In addition, the front desk and room service lines repeatedly rang without answer. When I finally got through to room service, the nice young man was a second language learner and was completely baffled by the words I was speaking. I had to ask for a manager so I could place my order. The young man was eager to please, but not trained to take a room service order. Again, a 4 star hotel does not allow this to happen. On the bed when I checked in was a little bag with linen spray, one set of ear plugs, and one eye mask. This seemed a little gimicky to me. A 4 star hotel would have provided environment buffers like these on demand and in a quantity suitable for the entire room. On the plus side, the delivery of the room service was lighting fast with friendly people coming to your door to set up the table. My order was not cooked as requested and they quickly corrected the issue. I don't expect perfection just good service. Mistakes happen and the room service folks fixed it. Well done! Housekeeping was also exemplary. The hotel was clean in general and SAFE which is really important. The location was perfect and walkable to many attractions. Our room was quiet even though it was on the corner of Burbon and Canal. Overall, I would stay here again, but only at a discounted rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza NEW ORLEANS FRENCH QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big Bear, CA
Mar 30, 2011

Astor Crowne Plaza

Great experience. Great views. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top